We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding rooms, great value, good service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   50 Atlantic Ave, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 58 hotels in Long Beach
Kansas City, MO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding rooms, great value, good service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I was nervous about this property due to the name, Rodeway, I have seen some Rodeway Inns that I would not stay in. But their website was impressive and so were the pictures, so I took a gamble, and I am glad I did! This property was great. Its been totally remodeled about 2 years ago. The rooms were excellent, I would compare the rooms with a new Holiday Inn Expresss or even a newer Fairfield Inn. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We arrived at 11 AM, 4 hours before check-in, no problem our room was ready and within minutes we were in our room.

On the down side, if you are driving the parking area is small and tight, the lobby is tiny, and you get up your breakfast at the lobby and take it back to your room since there is no place to sit in the lobby. Also the breakfast selection was very limited. Still, an excellent value, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: From what I could tell all the rooms are good, we had a 2nd floor room just above the main street ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    39
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
33
12
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

For a Rodeway Inn this was an excellent value! Very clean & updated hotel. It's quiet & close to many, many restaurants (within walking). Also within walking distance to the aquarium & convention center. The staff is very friendly. It is a pretty small property with not a whole lot of parking so if you have multiple vehicles for one room you may have to park one offsite. There isn't much to the free breakfast though so plan on other arrangements for breakfast. There are also no coffee makers in the rooms, which I would have liked, but there are refrigerators & microwaves in every room, which I love.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Wyoming
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I didn't know that Rodeway Inn's came with this nice of rooms. The hotel is an older property but well and lovingly remodeled and maintained. It is clearly a " locals" secret as almost all of the cars in the parking lot during my stay had California plates. It was a good walk to the convention center, but taxi to or from was $5 so you still saved considerable money over the hotels near the center.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Recently my great friends visited Long Beach and they wouldn't stop raving about how beautiful the town was. Unfortunately for them, they stayed at a motel that was rubbish. It was so awful that they changed accommodations the next night. They moved to the Rodeway Inn because it was near the town centre. During my stay at the Rodeway, we were pleased. The hotel was quite lovely and good fun! The lady that worked in the front gave wonderful recommendations of nearby places to eat. This inn is literally just minutes from downtown, which was convenient for my wife and me. This hotel went above and beyond with location, staff and comfort. I can most definitely say that I will come back again. Cheers to Rodeway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makara, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We spent the weekend here on our way down to San Diego and was very happy that we had stayed here at the Rodeway Inn. This property in Long Beach was small, but had really clean and comfortable rooms. The bed was very comfortable and the free internet was quite handy. Our room had a flat panel television as well as modern, up to date furnishings. We went to a market up the street to buy some snacks and sundry and had used the small refrigerator and microwave in the room. The small amenities in the bathroom were quite nice as well. Overall, this property was quite nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is a great value for the price. We stayed here the night before participating in the Long Beach Half Marathon. It's perfect for that. The location is within walking distance of the Expo and the start and finish line. I was told it had been recently renovated and it was indeed clean, nice and comfortable with a friendly staff. Plus, the price was very reasonable. Only one thing to warn you about: there is a limited amount of parking and if you don't get there at the right time you have to pay $10 to park down the street. But its a minor inconvenience for all the other benefits.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here 4 nights while attending a conference in Long Beach - close to the convention center but 1/3 less cost than the conference rate at the big motels. I don't need a swimming pool, and I didn't need a parking space because I had my folding bicycle instead of a car! Great location with the protected bike lanes to go back and forth to the convention center. I will say that the bed was quite too soft for my taste, but I like a very very firm mattress. Staff were friendly and helpful. Thank you for a good visit.

Room Tip: There is no pool, but TripAdvisor won't let me unselect the pool rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 50 Atlantic Ave, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Long Beach
Rodeway Inn Long Beach
Long Beach Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.