We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here out of necessity” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SeaPort Marina Hotel

Save Saved
You added SeaPort Marina Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SeaPort Marina Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 E. Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90803   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stayed here out of necessity”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is very run down. The room smelled terrible and one of the mattresses was very uncomfortable. They told us at the front desk we would have a "chest height" refrigerator in our room but instead we found a tiny chest with a freezer that could barely hold ice cubes. We stayed at this hotel as part of a program our friends were running. I will say that they had a nice, clean pool. I don't know how they have stayed in business so long.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaPort90803, Director of Sales at SeaPort Marina Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your review as we are very appreciative to hear feedback from our guests. We do apologize if there was any miscommuniation in regards to the size of our refrigerators. We have only ever had one size which are mini refrigerators, so we will make sure our front desk communicates this clearly to all guests. If you would like to contact our Sales Department directly to inform us of your room number, this will help us resolve any issue in regards to the mattress. Compared to other hotels in Long Beach, we do have some of the lowest rates, and are in an excellent location, this is usually why we do so well groups, visitors, and anyone else looking for a low rate while staying in walking distance of shopping centers, beaches, and the marina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    13
    13
    39
See reviews for
18
9
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Worst hotel ever. Bed was made for midgets, cockroaches in the room. No Screen door at all. Told by front desk that they would fix it, never did in our two day stay here. Only stayed to attend a funeral. Room smelled a horrible smell. Can't use toilet without banging your knee or head on door. Not clean. Would not recommend to anyone at all!

Room Tip: spend more money for a safe,clean comfortable room. This is extremely run down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaPort90803, Director of Sales at SeaPort Marina Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hello Iris, thank you for your review, I researched your stay and it looks like you were in one of our Moderate Deluxe Rooms. Your room did have a King Bed, and normal size door frames, but I do see that our bathroom door can swing too close to the toilet. We had decided to update some of our rooms with a modern look, that's why our bed frame and mattress are close to the ground. There is a new screen door for this room, and I will follow up with housekeeping in regards to the room being clean, as this is one of our most requested rooms. Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused. In the future, if you ever decide to give us another chance, we do have other room types available where beds are placed higher from the ground, and bathrooms with bathtubs. We are improving one day at a time, as we now offer FREE wireless in our lobby, FREE coffee for all guests, and now have a business center. Thank you again for your review, we always appreciate comments and suggestions as we strive for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washoe City, Nevada, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! My husband and I were eaten alive my fleas and/or bed bugs! We checked out at midnight rather than staying the night because were were being bitten so badly. We walked out of their restauant covered in bugs! They were all over our clothes. Discusting! This place is falling apart and infested with who knows what! It should be condemed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaPort90803, Director of Sales at SeaPort Marina Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Hi Pamela, just wanted to follow up in regards to your review. As mentioned before, you did have a dog in your room, and unfortunately your husband was bitten by fleas, not bed bugs according your email. We did waive your pet fee, and do apologize if this was not enough compensation. The room you occupied was shampooed the day before, and we normally do not allow pets to occupy our Executive Building, but made an exception because you wanted to be near our pet friendly lawn. In regards to our restaurant, I will pass on your concerns to our F&B Director, as you had not mentioned this in your previous email, or made any complaints during your stay with us. We take comments like this very serious, as we have never received any complaints in regards to our restaurant, and are up to date on all health and food safety inspections.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I stopped for an unexpected overnight. Just driving through, we didn't expect much and that's what we got. Furniture was trying hard to look modern, but against a backdrop of old carpeting, dirty walls and holey blankets it didn't quite work. Hard mattress and pillows. People partying in their cars in the parking lot. I didn't feel safe. Promised breakfast consisted of coffee and toast. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaPort90803, Director of Sales at SeaPort Marina Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We are very apologetic about your experience during your short stay with us. We would very interested in knowing your room number, as our staff has been working diligently on renovating our rooms from top to bottom. We have security on property from 10pm to 6am, so we will be following up with our security in regards to your claim about the parking lot, after all, we want our guests to feel comfortable and safe during their stay. In regards to our complimentary light continental breakfast, we do apologize if there was any mis-communication and will make sure our front desk informs our guests what to expect. Thank you again for your review, we always appreciate comments to help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Sadly, this place is in one of the most lovely and shopping/bus accessible areas of Long Beach. However, it's scheduled for demolition (who knows when?) and it's not certain which came first--the idea to get rid of it or its downfall. It used to be a lovely hotel and was sold a couple of times. Now, it's home to cockroaches, bunny-no-goods hanging in the parking lot and offering illicit substances and themselves, and homeless voucher recipients and folks who can't get the bucks together for a home. Granted they have to live somewhere, but if you're coming in for a vacation and have been duped by the ads, you won't be happy. Our friends sure weren't, so we saw for ourselves. There are lots of nice places to stay, mostly in the downtown area and Seal Beach. Go there instead.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaPort90803, Manager at SeaPort Marina Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
We are very apologetic for your uncomfortable stay with us here at SeaPort Marina Hotel. We are updating our hotel one piece at a time, but because we are an 11-acre property it may take some time. In regards to working with a City of Long Beach program, we actually discontinued it over a year ago. We do have extended stay guests, but they pay $1150.00 per month, and are usually only here for a couple of months until they find an apartment. So far this year, we have updated our lobby floor, in the process of painting the exterior walls of the hotel, and inputted a new dance floor in our Empire Ballroom. Hopefully you will give us another chance in the future when we are further along the renovation process. Thank you again for your review, we are always open to comments and suggestions as we are always striving for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My wife & i were invited to a friends dinner she was having at a nearby 2nd street restaurant. We decided to stay at SeaPort primarily due to the location. Check in went smooth enough & the room was adequate for a nights rest. After getting back from dinner, my wife and i decided to go out to the balcony one last time before bed. When my wife closed the sliding door she was horrified to find out it had locked from the inside. Stranded on a second story balcony with no cellphone and half-naked ready for bed, i tried the door again. Locked shut. Immediate cries for assistance was futile, aside from the 20-somethings partying a couple doors down the hall, nobody was coming to the rescue. It was near 1 am, i decided to jump...
I had all intentions of landing on my feet and i did, followed immediately by my behind. OUCH. Let me remind you that i was barefoot with nothing but boxers on to cushion the fall. It hurt awful. I limped about a half mile to the lobby to have the clerk give me a "MasterKey". When i arrived back to my room the key did not work...back to the lobby i went. Another key was given to me along with a security escort. Still no joy. All this time my wife is on the balcony on the verge of hysteria. Finally after an hour and a half a maintenance guy opens the door & i let the wife in.
Our misadventure was relayed to management via an email my wife sent the following day. After six weeks i have not had a return message or phone call from Seaport. I did recieve my bill though....i will dispute the charge & will update through T.A how it plays out. Unfortunately, considering how i have been treated so far, my expectations are low. Rant Over.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaPort90803, Director of Sales at SeaPort Marina Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
I am so sorry for this unfortunate situation you were placed in, and would really like apologize for the lack of communication on our part. Our management team is in communication with our security and maintenance department to help ensure this doesn't happen again. During your time with us, we had just received new keys for our hotel, which unfortunately did not work as well as we had hoped. Upon reading your review, I would like to inform you that we have ordered new keys, which should now help prevent one of the issues you experienced with us. If you would like to discuss your stay with us in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact our Operations Department. Once again, we are very apologetic, and hopefully you'll give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

BEWARE!!! Please take this seriously - NOT suitable for families; they provide you with a flash light in case lights go out, sliding glass door doesn't lock, rooms & swimming pool are filthy and the grounds and do not look like their photo - the entire place looks and feels like a forgotten cemetary! Trust me, stay somewhere else.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaPort90803, Director of Sales at SeaPort Marina Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
We are very apologetic for your uncomfortable stay here with us at the SeaPort Marina Hotel. As you may know, all guests did receive a notice stating that Southern California Edison was scheduling a power outtage, so management considered any inconvenience to all guests by distributing flashlights. Luckily the power never went out, and was just a false alarm. In regards to the property itself, we are doing minor renovations, and do plan to continue to improve our 11-acre property which was built in 1963. Thank you again for your review, we are always open to comments and suggestions, as we are always striving for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SeaPort Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaPort Marina Hotel

Address: 6400 E. Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90803
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — SeaPort Marina Hotel 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your SeaPort Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaport Marina Long Beach
Hotel Seaport Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SeaPort Marina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.