We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could have been worse” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SeaPort Marina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SeaPort Marina Hotel to your Saves list
SeaPort Marina Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 E. Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90803   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Detroit
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“could have been worse”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I stopped for an unexpected overnight. Just driving through, we didn't expect much and that's what we got. Furniture was trying hard to look modern, but against a backdrop of old carpeting, dirty walls and holey blankets it didn't quite work. Hard mattress and pillows. People partying in their cars in the parking lot. I didn't feel safe. Promised breakfast consisted of coffee and toast. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaPort90803, Director of Sales at SeaPort Marina Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We are very apologetic about your experience during your short stay with us. We would very interested in knowing your room number, as our staff has been working diligently on renovating our rooms from top to bottom. We have security on property from 10pm to 6am, so we will be following up with our security in regards to your claim about the parking lot, after all, we want our guests to feel comfortable and safe during their stay. In regards to our complimentary light continental breakfast, we do apologize if there was any mis-communication and will make sure our front desk informs our guests what to expect. Thank you again for your review, we always appreciate comments to help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    14
    15
    42
See reviews for
22
11
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Sadly, this place is in one of the most lovely and shopping/bus accessible areas of Long Beach. However, it's scheduled for demolition (who knows when?) and it's not certain which came first--the idea to get rid of it or its downfall. It used to be a lovely hotel and was sold a couple of times. Now, it's home to cockroaches, bunny-no-goods hanging in the parking lot and offering illicit substances and themselves, and homeless voucher recipients and folks who can't get the bucks together for a home. Granted they have to live somewhere, but if you're coming in for a vacation and have been duped by the ads, you won't be happy. Our friends sure weren't, so we saw for ourselves. There are lots of nice places to stay, mostly in the downtown area and Seal Beach. Go there instead.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaPort90803, Manager at SeaPort Marina Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
We are very apologetic for your uncomfortable stay with us here at SeaPort Marina Hotel. We are updating our hotel one piece at a time, but because we are an 11-acre property it may take some time. In regards to working with a City of Long Beach program, we actually discontinued it over a year ago. We do have extended stay guests, but they pay $1150.00 per month, and are usually only here for a couple of months until they find an apartment. So far this year, we have updated our lobby floor, in the process of painting the exterior walls of the hotel, and inputted a new dance floor in our Empire Ballroom. Hopefully you will give us another chance in the future when we are further along the renovation process. Thank you again for your review, we are always open to comments and suggestions as we are always striving for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My wife & i were invited to a friends dinner she was having at a nearby 2nd street restaurant. We decided to stay at SeaPort primarily due to the location. Check in went smooth enough & the room was adequate for a nights rest. After getting back from dinner, my wife and i decided to go out to the balcony one last time before bed. When my wife closed the sliding door she was horrified to find out it had locked from the inside. Stranded on a second story balcony with no cellphone and half-naked ready for bed, i tried the door again. Locked shut. Immediate cries for assistance was futile, aside from the 20-somethings partying a couple doors down the hall, nobody was coming to the rescue. It was near 1 am, i decided to jump...
I had all intentions of landing on my feet and i did, followed immediately by my behind. OUCH. Let me remind you that i was barefoot with nothing but boxers on to cushion the fall. It hurt awful. I limped about a half mile to the lobby to have the clerk give me a "MasterKey". When i arrived back to my room the key did not work...back to the lobby i went. Another key was given to me along with a security escort. Still no joy. All this time my wife is on the balcony on the verge of hysteria. Finally after an hour and a half a maintenance guy opens the door & i let the wife in.
Our misadventure was relayed to management via an email my wife sent the following day. After six weeks i have not had a return message or phone call from Seaport. I did recieve my bill though....i will dispute the charge & will update through T.A how it plays out. Unfortunately, considering how i have been treated so far, my expectations are low. Rant Over.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaPort90803, Director of Sales at SeaPort Marina Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
I am so sorry for this unfortunate situation you were placed in, and would really like apologize for the lack of communication on our part. Our management team is in communication with our security and maintenance department to help ensure this doesn't happen again. During your time with us, we had just received new keys for our hotel, which unfortunately did not work as well as we had hoped. Upon reading your review, I would like to inform you that we have ordered new keys, which should now help prevent one of the issues you experienced with us. If you would like to discuss your stay with us in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact our Operations Department. Once again, we are very apologetic, and hopefully you'll give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

BEWARE!!! Please take this seriously - NOT suitable for families; they provide you with a flash light in case lights go out, sliding glass door doesn't lock, rooms & swimming pool are filthy and the grounds and do not look like their photo - the entire place looks and feels like a forgotten cemetary! Trust me, stay somewhere else.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaPort90803, Director of Sales at SeaPort Marina Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
We are very apologetic for your uncomfortable stay here with us at the SeaPort Marina Hotel. As you may know, all guests did receive a notice stating that Southern California Edison was scheduling a power outtage, so management considered any inconvenience to all guests by distributing flashlights. Luckily the power never went out, and was just a false alarm. In regards to the property itself, we are doing minor renovations, and do plan to continue to improve our 11-acre property which was built in 1963. Thank you again for your review, we are always open to comments and suggestions, as we are always striving for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The hotel's people are hospitable, courteous, friendly, professional...a living example of how people should be in ALL hotels no matter where you travel away from home...independently owned or corporate. Lanette or Maza at the front desk, the VERY NICE people in housekeeping, Angela in Management, the lobby restaurant and its food, service and people...stop in and stay. The location is 100%! Dennis E. Wassill, Calgary, AB CANADA...Room # 329 July 22nd to 28th, 2011

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal T, Manager at SeaPort Marina Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2014
I can't tell you how much it means to hear you loved your stay with us so much! I apologize for the belated response, and I realize you posted this quite some time ago but know that your feedback still means the world to us. I hope that if you ever find yourself returning to the Long Beach area that you'll always consider staying with us again!

Much appreciated,
Angela R., Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. We visit Long Beach every other month and this is the hotel we choose. It is clean and the staff is wonderful! It has the best location of any others, its across the street from the ocean, health food grocery store, lots of restaurants, its safe and everything is in walking distance. They also allow pets (our dog travels with us) at a reasonable price. For the location the rooms are reasonable priced. We love this place!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

When you first drive into this place you see an empty parking lot and once you walk into the place it looks a little less than average. The attendant was not terrible, but the whole place began to look sketchy when the loud party that is being held blocks the bathroom in the building. After not being able to use the downstairs bathroom we are sent upstairs which was quite frightening not only for myself but for the children traveling with me. It was dark and barely lit and once we made it to the bathroom we find out that it is locked. After walking all the way over there we decide to wait for our room keys hoping that it would improve the experience. Once we get to the room and open the door an awful odor hits! We look into the room and it is by far the most run down place we had ever stayed in. The walls are all beat up and stained, the fan in the bathroom sounded like a broken motor boat, and there appeared to be blood on the cabinet under the sink. Our group contained 9 people and we had rented 3 rooms all the rooms were exactly the same nasty, run down, with the nauseating odor. We talked it over and decided that we were only going to stay here one night, so we decided to tough it out, but after finding a large bug in our bathroom shower we vowed to write this review and warn people NOT TO STAY HERE!!!! There are so many other hotels in the area that are probably much nicer. The other reviews that claim this is a decent place are either used to substandard facilities or they are lying about their review! I got to see 3 different rooms and I would warn you don't waste your time or money pay the extra money to stay somewhere clean and safe. This is not a place you want to take yourself or your family!

Room Tip: Stay Elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaPort90803, Manager at SeaPort Marina Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
We are very apologetic about your experience during your short stay with us.

SEAPORT MARINA Hotel sits on a large 11-acre of land with ample space for parking lots. We are in progress of minor renovation. We have just finished a new paint job throughout the property. We will continue to improve the outer appearance around the hotel area.

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused by the party held at our hotel lobby, which is located far away from all our guest rooms. Our security staff will pay more attention to the noise level.

Our hotel has a strict pest control policy that is strongly enforced monthly. However, due to our property is located near the waterfront, we encourage our guests to leave screen doors shut at all times to ensure pest problems. We hope you will give us another chance the next time you travel to Long Beach.

Best wishes!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Beach
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Pacific Inn
The Pacific Inn
#3 of 3 in Seal Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Seal Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ayres Hotel Seal Beach
Ayres Hotel Seal Beach
#1 of 3 in Seal Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 571 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pacific View Inn & Suites
Pacific View Inn & Suites
#17 of 19 in Huntington Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SeaPort Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaPort Marina Hotel

Address: 6400 E. Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90803
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — SeaPort Marina Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from white sandy beaches and great restaurants and shops, SeaPort Marina Hotel welcomes you to enjoy your stay with us! Situated on 11 acres with an average of 345 days of sunshine each year, SeaPort Marina Hotel is the perfect escape for your vacation or business trip. We boast nearly 100 hotel rooms in addition to eleven conference and banquet rooms that are great for your special event. Enjoy our pool, your private balcony, WiFi access, and cable television during your stay! We're perfectly located within walking distance of over forty restaurants, two movie theatres, and a variety of specialty shops for your convenience. Designed by prominent 60s architect Roy Steely, SeaPort Marina Hotel previously served as a resort hotel hosting the likes of celebrities like Elvis Presley. Today we host wedding groups, family reunions, sports teams, and so much more! Allow our staff to assist your group and ask about our incredible banquet space for your next special event. With ballrooms boasting a marina view, seven meeting rooms, and spacious outdoor areas, SeaPort Marina Hotel truly excels at providing incredible accommodations for a variety of functions! Whether you'll be spending a few days with us or simply joining us for a special event, you'll always receive the best care from our SeaPort Marina Hotel staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your SeaPort Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaport Marina Long Beach
Hotel Seaport Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SeaPort Marina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.