We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lobby... disappointing guest room floors” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Long Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Long Beach to your Saves list
Marriott Long Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 Airport Plaza Drive, Long Beach, CA 90815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lobby... disappointing guest room floors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We booked this hotel planning to stay for multiple nights, but ended up only staying one.. mostly because we wanted to experience a different property in Long Beach, but in the end it ended up being a blessing in disguise.

We walked into the hotel quite late, and from first looks, it was beautiful. It looked recently renovated, nice furniture.. marble floors, the whole nine yards. We went to check in, and were greeted a little less friendlier than I expected. It was very casual, versus the service I expected. In the end, we just were tired and hungry, and decided to head up to our room. (Also disappointed that he knew nothing about having complimentary bottled water in our room for elite guests?)

We got up to our floor, and wondered if we were even in the same hotel. The floor looked like it hadn't been renovated in probably 15 years. Very 90's carpet.. bright colours and all. Just shocking more than anything. When we got into the room, we could tell that they were either very selective on what they were able to renovate.. or they were trying to go for a.. mixed look. Overall.. it was an okay room. Not spectacular.

We went to breakfast the next morning as we asked for a breakfast voucher since the concierge level was closed due to the weeekend. The guy once again seemed shocked we would ask for this, but as an elite guest I thought I was supposed to receive it? Not sure what happened there.

The woman who served us however, was AWESOME. She was engaging, very friendly, and was more than happy to help at any point. She even went and made my husband chocolate milk when he requested it and didn't charge us because she knew we had a long night, the night before. Great customer service. I think she's one of the reasons the hotel wasn't terrible for me. I believe her name may have been Stacy...? She was serving towards the back end of the restaurant on July 20th!

Overall.. I wouldn't return back to the hotel. The second property we went to was better, and I'd stay elsewhere. If you were needing to go to the airport in Long Beach, this would be a hotel for you. For a quick, only need a bed (which were fairly comfortable) to sleep in, stay.

Room Tip: Not on the second floor. You can hear everytime someone takes a shower, and it makes a high pitched...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art R, Director of Sales at Marriott Long Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments.
I am assuming that you are a Marriott Rewards Platinum or Gold Member when you mentioned elite membership? If you are either on one of these categories, you should have been given a choice of complimentary breakfast or 750 marriott rewards points upon arrival. Unfortunately, Silver members are not yet given these options/benefits when the Concierge Lounge is closed on the weekends.
Our carpet up on the floors have a modern design. I agree, we have detractors and admirers for them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    94
    36
    21
    15
See reviews for
46
29
26
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This Marriott met my expectations for the price. Rooms were spacious, pool was nice, restaurant and Starbucks were convenient, and lobby was well designed and relaxing. Very good elevator service and clean rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art R, Director of Sales at Marriott Long Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments.
We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I've been to this location a few times before and never had a problem. However, on my last stay I managed to catch ringworm and it had to be from this hotel. I was there for 9 days, working in the meeting rooms downstairs and only left the hotel for dinner. Not once did I use an off-site restroom or anything like that. Well, near the end of my stay, I developed a small itchy spot on the inside of my leg. I thought I would go away but by the time I returned home a few days later it was very apparent that it was ringworm. Like I said, there was no other way I could've gotten ringworm where I did unless it was from towels, sheets, shower facilities, etc. I called the hotel about it and was told to call back when the general manager was in on Monday. That's great and everything, but in the meantime there's a disgusting infection in the room I stayed in. Shouldn't they sterilize that room? Maybe they did, maybe they didn't. Anyways, I called the manager today and he basically denied my claims and told me I needed to talk to a dermatologist to figure out how I got it and that he couldn't compensate me. I only stay in Marriott's for business, some compensation would be nice for this gross infection I have to deal with for the next few weeks, but this isn't some sort of scam for free rooms. At least an apology would have been nice, but not even that. Totally disgusting and disrespectful. I'm really disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 204 anytime soon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art R, Director of Sales at Marriott Long Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Ross, thank you for your comment. I was not the Manager that spoke to you this morning nor am I a Dermatologist. I do not know what causes the ringworm so I cannot comment on that aspect. Towels and sheets are cleaned with approved detergents by Marriott. Rooms are thoroughly cleaned especially the beds, bathrooms and carpets with approved cleaning solutions and procedures..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Arrived on July 3rd for a one night stay... Hotel is literally across the street from the airport.. Very convenient.... Was really nice to get off the plane, collect luggage, and drive across the street... Was upgraded to a concierge level room, which included dinner reception, and light breakfast... All the public areas were in good condition as was the room I was in... Nice pool area, restaurant... Only misgiving I had was that the a/c on my floor was out the night I was there... As I was leaving the next morning it was in the process of being repaired... All the staff were very accommodating which makes for a pleasant stay... I would definitely return, assuming my travels take me to the area...

Room Tip: If you like to watch the planes, ask for a room facing the runway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art R, Director of Sales at Marriott Long Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am glad you found our hotel to be convenient for your needs. The Long Beach Marriott is easily accessible to the Long Beach Airport and to major attractions in Southern California. We look forward to your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I thought this was a very good hotel. I opened one of the side-tables and discovered a Gideon Bible. Great! I thought. But there was also the Mormon cult's "Book Of Mormon." What to do? Well, I ran a Google, and found that this Hotel chain is owned by a prominent Mormon who "must" give 10% of his profits to the cult, so if you want to support the Mormons, have at it. If not, go elsewhere. Otherwise, it is a clean, professional Hotel, and, unlike many of their Eastern counterparts, they charge nothing for parking. This was THE hotel for the So-Cal Irish Fair, and so I found myself there, and will never again. My review says the stay is fine; my philosophy says it is not. The choice is yours.

Room Tip: The coffee is not great, so skip the room freebie and go to Starbuck's down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art R, Director of Sales at Marriott Long Beach, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for your comment.
We respect your religious views and beliefs. Marriott Associates are responsible and dedicated innkeepers and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting the Irish Faire once again and we hope you would set aside your philosophical views for a couple of days. Enjoy the amenities that our hotel offers and the friendly staff that are ready to serve your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My 6 year old and I stayed here for one night, pre-cruise. I really wanted to stay by the pier, but we made reservations at the last minute, so most nice hotels were sold out.
I chose this hotel for 3 reasons:
Connivence: It literally is walking distance from the airport, with wide sidewalks. Safe for kids, and you literally cannot get lost. About a 10-15 minute walk which is nice after being on a plane. Or you can wait for the shuttle. About the same amount of time.
Next, Amenities: They have 2 nice restaurants, a Starbucks, a beautiful indoor and outdoor pool, beautiful grounds and lobby, a fire pit, and a qym. It was a heated pool, too. My son loved it. They offer poolside food and cocktail services as well. Not crowded and plenty of chaise lounges. Oh, there is NO jacuzzi at this hotel if that makes a difference to anyone.
Last, the price was very reasonable.
However again, If we would have been in the area for more than one night, and wanted to explore, I would have stayed by the pier. It's about a $35 cab ride to downtown, the beautiful pier and wonderful restaurants. I had no idea Long Beach was actually fun, and kid-friendly! I would have extended the trip just to stroll around, go to the aquarium, rent a boat, etc..So worth it!
A couple more notes: The rooms probably need a little updating. I wasn't too concerned but I know many are about that. The bathroom especially. It wasn't dirty, just outdated. No big deal for one night though.
I heard NO airplanes during the night, or in the early morning. Our room faced the airport, too. I did hear some planes while at the pool, but so few and far between. It's a small airport, after all. We had a view of the golf course in the distance and the parking lot. My advice, ask for a room facing the pool. It's pretty.
Keep in mind if you have a car, parking downtown is a nightmare. the hotels there have no choice but to charge you a parking fee I would guess, and the public lots are always full. This hotel, the parking was of course free.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art R, Director of Sales at Marriott Long Beach, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you and your family had an enjoayble stay with us. If you are looking for entertainment, the Lakewood Center / Shopping Mall is located just 3.5 miles from the hotel. They have numerous restaurants and movie theaters. We also provide complimentary shuttle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here and while I was worried about being so close to the airport I was pleasantly surprised how quiet it was. Room and common areas were clean. Front desk staff was very nice but the bellman were lackluster. The food was highly overpriced for such small portions, probably best you eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art R, Director of Sales at Marriott Long Beach, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your comment. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us. I have forwarded your comment to our Executive Chef so that he may be informed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Long Beach

Address: 4700 Airport Plaza Drive, Long Beach, CA 90815
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Long Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Long Beach Marriott Hotel is located in a very central location that provides easy access to both Orange and Los Angeles County. The hotel is located adjacent to Long Beach Airport with easy freeway accessibility to major attractions and corporate parks in the area. Our beautifully landscaped hotel creates a resort-like atmosphere with lovely indoor and outdoor spaces to relax or conduct business. The Hotel offers over 10,000 sq. ft of meeting/banquet space to accommodate any type of event. Mr. R's Grille, Garden Terrace Cafe & Patio, Corrigan's Sports Bar, Starbucks Coffee & Lounge are also available to guests. Long Beach Convention Center, Carnival Cruise Line Terminal, the Queen Mary, California State University Long Beach, the Pyramid, Glacial Gardens Ice Arena, Home Depot Stadium and Disneyland/California Adventure are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Long Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.