We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location For Early Flight & Very Nice Pool/Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Long Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Long Beach to your Saves list
Marriott Long Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 Airport Plaza Drive, Long Beach, CA 90815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location For Early Flight & Very Nice Pool/Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night, after a cruise. It was so close to Long Beach airport, at first we thought it was going to be noisy but it really wasn't. It was actually pretty cool to watch airplanes land right in front of our window. We walked a couple of blocks to a convenience store for snacks, which was nice. And the restaurant at the hotel is excellent. We had a late lunch & the food was great & our waitress was fantastic. We ate outside, at a table near the pool. Too cool to swim but we sat outside in the sunshine & visited. Very peaceful & relaxing. The room was nice & clean - going thru some remodeling on part of the hotel & all the workers were friendly & apologized for any mess & everyone was nice & professional - from the front desk attendants, restaurant, construction workers. The Housekeepers were obviously busy but one suggestion - whoever was cleaning the rooms in our hallway left their cart right in the middle of the hallway. I'm sure that's because they don't want to knick up walls, etc. but it's inconvenient & a safety hazard - perhaps leave it closer to the room they are cleaning? But that's the only thing I noticed that could be improved upon. And only 5 min. from the airport - which was very convenient when we had a 7:30 a.m. flight. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs someplace close to Long Beach airport.

Room Tip: If you enjoy watching planes take off & land - ask for a room facing the runway. Being an ex-pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    107
    37
    22
    16
See reviews for
48
36
28
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

It seems that all my reviews have some good and some bad. I struggle with which will win out. The LB Marriott is no different. I stayed in Mar 2013 for three nights. So here goes. The hotel is located right across the street from the LB airport. The hotel in it's heyday was probably real nice. The good: lobby is nice; Starbucks in the lobby; workout room well equipped; bed in the room very nice; shower head was wonderful; Skylinks golf course half a mile down the street and staff was friendly. The bad: room microscopic; heat/cool controls from the 70's (I'll post a pic - though when you got temp dialed in it worked pretty well); carpeting in my room torn; sports bar at hotels got nachos wrong and sucked; bathroom set-up was weird - towels across the room; weird wood shutters to accent room (see pic); resturant on-site was vacant both times we tried to go; and Internet had various payment schemes for faster speeds. I stayed here for work and as you can tell it was a mixed bag. The proximity to the airport or Skylinks GC would probably be a determining factor for staying here again. Did I say they are building a brand new Courtyard down the street (hint,hint). Anyway, hotel was adequate and I'd stay here again. However, I'd explore other options first.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
208 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
729 helpful votes 729 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had a package that was supposed to give free internet, free parking and a 20% discount on all food. They charged me for the internet, and they didn't give the 20% discount on food on three occasions. That's five overcharges on one bill. Additionally, parking is free at the hotel regardless, but they advertise it as being included only in this package. Same for the "airport transportation included" in the package, which is free regardless. Upon check out, they couldn't tell me why no discount appeared on my bill for three room service meals. The front office agent told me they would email me a corrected bill, but they never did.

I phoned the hotel directly the next day, and the director of guest services was completely incompetant. He wasn't able to even understand the issue. He repeatedly thought the issue was my knowing the name of the front office person that checked me out, conveniently forgetting the issue was all of the overcharges. He refused to put the hotel director on the phone, and told me he would not even give him the message. I contacted Marriott Customer Relations, who promised me a response from the hotel within five days, but that never happened. I called them four days later, and they offered no additional help, claiming they had no access to the hotel's accounting department. I have had to resort to disputing the charges with my credit card company.

The hotel is now in desperate need of some renovations in the rooms. Old furniture, outdated other things in the room, etc. Don't get a room on the side where the nightclub is, because they play very loud music well into the night. The parking lot is littered with broken bottles and cocktail glasses and other trash. If you get a room on the other side, you face the airport runway, and I didn't find the soundproofing good enough.

There is nothing walkable near the hotel, except a Starbucks in an office building, only open Monday to Friday. Other than that, you will have to drive at least a mile to any other business.

The room service food was very good, and served promptly, and all of the staff were friendly, except the ones that were incompetent at the front desk that cheat customers, and don't call back as they promise.

Room Tip: A good room would be in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

...was the service at the concierge lounge! Sara was very friendly and helpful, her fellow worker, Tracey was the polar opposite,stiff and cold! The young woman in the evening was delightful as well, (sorry I can't remember her name). Food was good for the most part, wish they would put greek yogurt and granola on the breakfast bar and have an option for turkey/chicken/sausage/bacon. Evening options could use some variety, guacamole(it is CA avacado capital!) would be nice, hummus and veggies.
As for the rooms, they were clean, as for quiet, not so much. I do realize it is @ the airport... but it is the inside noise that was more bothersome! Pilots leaving for early flights/Flight Safety training that let the doors slam, security on radios and the gurgling of water in the bathroom drains to name a few.
Internet was slow and a pain. They could use a longterm use option instead of daily log in. Everytime you leave the property you have to log back in as well!
The lobby/check in area was soooo cold!! The furniture was rather beat up but overall the area was clean and inviting. Starbucks needs to carry more breakfast options for the "Elitists" to choose from :)
Pool area was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

The good news is the location and that the rooms are fairly well up to Marriott standard. Unfortunately, the list of stuff needing fixing is quite long. Super-slow internet, shabby lobby with furniture Goodwill would turn down and staff/management that are totally unresponsive. I could go on, but you get the point. Owners just don't care any more.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night for business and it was ideal for my needs. (Just a quick overnighter to the Long Beach area and super convenient access to the airport.) Clean, well-appointed guest rooms (Marriott rooms always tend to be reasonably spacious and very clean) and the workout facility was decent. The coffee shop off the lobby was a nice-to-have, especially not limited to just coffee/tea, but espresso drinks and pastries, fruit, etc. Staff (in my limited exposure to them) were professional and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I read other reviews where people were bashing the Long Beach Marriott. I just don't see it. Nice place, clean, super nice staff and a really solid gym for a hotel. In fact this is probably one of the better hotel gyms that I have been to. It is not the Waldorf Astoria but it's only like 145 bucks per night. Plus I'm a huge Marriott fan.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Long Beach

Address: 4700 Airport Plaza Drive, Long Beach, CA 90815
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Long Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Long Beach Marriott Hotel is located in a very central location that provides easy access to both Orange and Los Angeles County. The hotel is located adjacent to Long Beach Airport with easy freeway accessibility to major attractions and corporate parks in the area. Our beautifully landscaped hotel creates a resort-like atmosphere with lovely indoor and outdoor spaces to relax or conduct business. The Hotel offers over 10,000 sq. ft of meeting/banquet space to accommodate any type of event. Mr. R's Grille, Garden Terrace Cafe & Patio, Corrigan's Sports Bar, Starbucks Coffee & Lounge are also available to guests. Long Beach Convention Center, Carnival Cruise Line Terminal, the Queen Mary, California State University Long Beach, the Pyramid, Glacial Gardens Ice Arena, Home Depot Stadium and Disneyland/California Adventure are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Long Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.