We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace of mind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Long Beach

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Long Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 Long Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4201 E Pacific Coast Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90804   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Peace of mind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2005

Was on a tight budget for a quick 1-night stay on Long Beach .. however, on the other hand, couldn't be in too rough-it a situation. The peace of mind element. Well, this hotel, and yes, Edwin, whom so many write about on this forum, and by which I guided to make my hotel choice, this did it. He even was on the phone with me talking me thru my being briefly lost on the local streets of Long Beach, just shy of racing to my appointment there. I arrived middle of the night, was checked in with an alert and friendly manner by the night desk person. Breakfast options great, room very clean, spacious. Would definitely stay here again, will definitely stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    228
    64
    22
    10
See reviews for
214
131
53
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2005

I just spent 2 days at this hotel and am very impressed with the manager, Edwin. I'm a frequent business traveller who typically stays at Radisson-type hotels but stayed at the Super 8 during some personal travel. The rooms are very 1970's but are clean and well cared for. Everything others have written about the quality of the staff is correct. This hotel is a real bargain.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2005

We were shocked by the service that we recieved from Edwin, the manager. This man goes out of his way to accomodate his customers. Our room was very clean. Wine, sodas and chips were included in the evening snack, along with a continental breakfast that had bagels, toast, muffins, fruit and cereal. All at a budget price, especially for Long Beach. We would definitely stay here when we are in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2005

I spent two nights at this hotel and chose it based on previous reviewers and mapquest's estimation that this hotel was two miles from downtown Long Beach and the water. It's not. It's more like five miles and you go through a lot of lights to get there. Make sure you rent a car if you're in Long Beach for the downtown clubs or if you're interested in taking a morning jog on the boardwalk. This hotel borders a so-so area of Long Beach and the suburbish towns of Bellflower and Seal Beach.

We booked this room through orbitz for $67 a night. That's a lot cheaper than the hotels closer to downtown Long Beach that are a lot less clean, safe, and accomodating. If you need a budget hotel for a limited time, the Comfort Inn, Days Inn, etc., near downtown are overpriced for what you get! Unless location is your SOLE priority, consider this Super 8.

I took the advice of a previous review and called the Super 8 ahead of time to secure a room that did not require stairs for my dad. I spoke to Edwin the manager who was super friendly. Although he upgraded our room to a mini-suite (extra TV, microwave, mini-fridge, and sink), we still had to trek some stairs - which were only a flight, so we just shrugged. I did mention offhand that I had read his name on an Internet website review of the hotel, which I think helped with the upgrade. I did notice that Edwin had a good memory, often greeting guests by their first names.

Continental breakfast was a notch above good with bagels, doughnuts, OJ, coffee, pastries, and cereal. Housekeeping was super friendly. The pool was small but the kids seemed to enjoy it.

A short thirty minute drive to Disneyland (on the carpool lane), and another twenty minute drive (through town/stoplights) to get to Target and Costco for snacks or that toothbrush you forgot to pack.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2005

I spent four days here in February and plan to return any time I need accommodations in the area. This is a terrific place for someone on a budget who is looking for great value. The lower level, where the pool and hot tub are located, is beautifully landscaped and surprisingly attractive. In response to other reviews: My room and the lobby area were clean; there was no odor other than that of a cleaning product, which was not offensive. I had no difficulty accessing the motel despite its proximity to a traffic rotary.

Examples of great value: The price of the room includes a decent continental breakfast (coffee, tea, juice, apples and oranges, assorted cold cereals, bagels, bread, cream cheese, margarine, jam, peanut butter) and the unexpected luxury of flavored syrups for coffee. Pretzel-type snacks, soda, and wine are served in the evening - also free. Guests have free access to a computer and printer in the lobby during the day and evening; the computer has high speed Internet access. Local and toll-free calls can be made at no charge. Most (maybe all) rooms have refrigerators; some also have a microwave and coffee maker.

What makes this place exceptional is Edwin, the manager, who is delightfully charming and attentive. He provides the kind of personal hospitality you might expect at a luxury hotel. When you're far from home, it's so nice to be greeted by name by someone who seems genuinely happy to see you and who is eager for you to have a pleasant stay.

It's difficult to give a star rating to a place like this, which is wonderful for what it is - but still, basically, a budget-class motel. I wouldn't want anyone to come here expecting the Four Seasons! After all, the furnishings are simple; the bathroom amenities (e.g. shampoo in foil packets) are not fancy; the hangers had imperfect plastic fittings that meant anything heavier than a blouse - such as a raincoat - fell on the floor; the desk doesn't have the nearby phone or electrical outlets you'd need to use a laptop comfortably.

If you plan to come here, I suggest you call Edwin ahead of time to discuss your room preferences. Important: If you would have difficulty carrying your suitcase up and down a flight of stairs, be sure to get a room on the parking lot level, not on the lower level where the pool is.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2005

I stayed here in early February, 2005 for four nights and found it to be one of the most pleasant, accommodating, friendliest motels I’ve ever stayed in. A generous continental breakfast and the wine in the evening is a fine touch! As a guest mentioned in a past review, there is an unusual odor in the lobby. However, I recognize it as residual pine oil cleaner! I will definitely stay there in my future visits!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2004

We were very pleased with the accomodations and service at this Super 8.
Staff was courteous, friendly and helpful.
In the evening they had a wine and snack get together for the guests.
The setting was tropical and certainly made us feel like we were on an exotic vacation.
Definately not what we expected at a Super8 and we will happily be staying there again next time we're in Long Beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Long Beach

Address: 4201 E Pacific Coast Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90804
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Long Beach 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of the 405 Freeway, the Long Beach Super 8 allows easy access to Southern California attractions including Disneyland, Aquarium of the Pacific, Knottsberry Farm, Universal Studios, Queen Mary and many other activities and attractions. The Super 8 of Long Beach offers SuperStart Breakfast that includes - Assorted Cereals, Fresh Fruit, Orange & Apple Juices, Coffee, Tea, Toast, Bagels with Cream Cheese, Oatmeal, and self serve Waffle Bar. Nightly Evening Refreshments - Red & White Wines, Sodas, Popcorn, Chips & Party Mix. Large Heated Pool, Sauna and Spa, In Room Coffee, Daily Paper - Delivered! Free WI FI throughout entire property. Guest Business Center, Complimentary DVD Players and Movies available. Expanded Cable TV w/ HBO, CNN, ESPN. Many eateries nearby catering to all tastes. Kids 17 and under stay free with paid adult. Allow us the pleasure to make your stay in Southern California a comfortable and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Super 8 Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Super Eight Long Beach
Long Beach Super Eight
Long Beach Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.