We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great bargain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Long Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Long Beach to your Saves list
Super 8 Long Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4201 E Pacific Coast Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90804   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    252
    71
    25
    10
See reviews for
226
145
59
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Staff here was very nice. It's convenient to all tourists destinations. Room was clean but the bed was very old. It squeaked and sagged horribly. The hotel is maintained nicely, but in the end if you don't get a good night's sleep, it's not a very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Wonderful spa and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mojodp, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Long Beach, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property on your recent stay in Long Beach. If possible, I would appreciate a note on the room you stayed in so that we can get that bed taken care of right away. Thanks again!

John Morrin
john_morrin@sbcglobal.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here a couple of nights in advance of a wedding on the Queen Mary and it was just what we needed. Inexpensive, clean, convenient. We unfortunately didn't get to take advantage of the happy hour, but did avail ourselves of the breakfast (fruit, cereal, waffles, etc). To add to the experience, the gentleman at the counter (I feel terrible that I can't remember his name) who checked us in, and was our contact through most of our stay was awesome. Super funny, efficient, and a flat out pleasure to deal with. I know that if I go back to Long Beach, this is where I'll stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mojodp, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Long Beach, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing our Super 8 while in town for the wedding at the Queen Mary. I will let Edwin know that you appreciated his humor and efficiency while there. Hopefully, you will have the opportunity to enjoy the complimentary evening happy hour and snacks on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Place was better than expected for a motel. Very nicely set up and comfortable. Brightly lit at the entrance and easy to access. Plenty of variety for complimentary breakfast and nice touch with the happy hour snacks. Will definitely stay here again if I am in Long Beach area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mojodp, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Long Beach, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for the kind review on your recent stay with us while traveling in Long Beach. We're glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the complimentary breakfast and evening refreshments. Thanks again, and hope to see you again should your travels bring you to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Super 8 in Long Beach, CA is awesome. The desk clerk was so welcoming. Our room was actually a suite: huge room, two king beds, kitchen and reading nook, full closet. Every amenity was available: big flat screen TV, refrigerator/freezer, microwave, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, complimentary Time magazines, newspaper at your door, and free DVD rentals. The room faces a very nice outdoor pool, hot tub, and sauna. Room temperature was perfect. Very clean and updated. Breakfast is huge, including waffles, fresh fruit, and the regular Super 8 offerings. Cocktail hour for guests includes wine, soft drinks, and snacks. All of this for the standard Super 8 charge. The motel was filled the days we stayed, so book early. The only limitation is no pets allowed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mojodp, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Long Beach, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing our Super 8 in Long Beach while traveling with your family. It's great that you were able to enjoy many of the complimentary extras available to all guests staying with us. Next time don't forget to let the kids know that we have free WII Games available in the lobby as well. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Long Beach

Address: 4201 E Pacific Coast Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90804
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Long Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of the 405 Freeway, the Long Beach Super 8 allows easy access to Southern California attractions including Disneyland, Aquarium of the Pacific, Knottsberry Farm, Universal Studios, Queen Mary and many other activities and attractions. The Super 8 of Long Beach offers SuperStart Breakfast that includes - Assorted Cereals, Fresh Fruit, Orange & Apple Juices, Coffee, Tea, Toast, Bagels with Cream Cheese, Oatmeal, and self serve Waffle Bar. Nightly Evening Refreshments - Red & White Wines, Sodas, Popcorn, Chips & Party Mix. Large Heated Pool, Sauna and Spa, In Room Coffee, Daily Paper - Delivered! Free WI FI throughout entire property. Guest Business Center, Complimentary DVD Players and Movies available. Expanded Cable TV w/ HBO, CNN, ESPN. Many eateries nearby catering to all tastes. Kids 17 and under stay free with paid adult. Allow us the pleasure to make your stay in Southern California a comfortable and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Super Eight Long Beach
Long Beach Super Eight
Long Beach Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.