We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Long Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Long Beach to your Saves list
Super 8 Long Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4201 E Pacific Coast Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90804   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    252
    71
    25
    11
See reviews for
227
145
60
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sooke, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is in a nice area and close to shopping and eating. I have stayed at many hotels before, but this one, I felt really safe, and relaxed at. The room and bathroom were very clean and pleasant smelling. The staff is very friendly and will do their best to help you. The rooms have flat screen TVs, refrigerators, hair dryers, iron boards/irons, bathtub/shower, and an alarm clock that will wake you up. There is a great hot tub and pool, which I tried and a sauna, which I did not try. In the evening in the lobby is "happy hour" with red and white wine, soft drinks and snacks. The morning breakfast consists of 4 types of cereal, two types of milk, orange, apple juice, 4 types of breads, cream cheese, fresh fruit, and waffles. There is free Wifi in the rooms, and you can use the computer in the lobby. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and had a very good and sound sleep in a nice quiet and comfortable bed. I highly recommend this hotel and will be booking it again the next time that I am in town.

Room Tip: I did not hear of any bad rooms and I had a ground floor room in the middle of the hotel and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mojodp, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Long Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for the kind review on our property during your recent stay with us in Long Beach. We're very glad that you were comfortable, and had the opportunity to enjoy the pool area and some of the other amenities offered. Thanks again, and we look forward to having you as our guest should you return to our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A courteous staff will greet you at this motel. There is wifi, excellent complimentary continental breakfast from 0600 to 1000 and complimentary wine during the early evenings. Considering the location, the place is pretty quiet tho I would still bring ear plugs just in case. I did slightly hear my neighbor's tv tho not any conversation. Complimentary newspaper in the morning also. The amenities in the bathroom were good. A small refrigerator is also available in the room. Some rooms (mine) were below street level which may have helped with the street noise. Supermarkets and a large mall were within a 5 minute drive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mojodp, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Long Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay with TripAdvisor travelers. We're glad that you and your family were able to enjoy some of the complimentary amenities that are offered. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puget Sound, Washington
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We decided on a one night stay here to break up a trip between San Diego and Ventura counties. Normally I don't stay at Super 8 properties, but this one had such good TA reviews that we decided to give it a try. It was a good decision. Room was comfortable and clean; front desk staff was polite. The neighborhood is not the best and we did see a couple of transient-type folks sort of haranguing the staff. But for the money, I would certainly consider it for a short-term stay in Long Beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mojodp, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Long Beach, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for the review on TripAdvisor on your recent stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again should come to visit from Washington in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Long Beach

Address: 4201 E Pacific Coast Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90804
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Long Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of the 405 Freeway, the Long Beach Super 8 allows easy access to Southern California attractions including Disneyland, Aquarium of the Pacific, Knottsberry Farm, Universal Studios, Queen Mary and many other activities and attractions. The Super 8 of Long Beach offers SuperStart Breakfast that includes - Assorted Cereals, Fresh Fruit, Orange & Apple Juices, Coffee, Tea, Toast, Bagels with Cream Cheese, Oatmeal, and self serve Waffle Bar. Nightly Evening Refreshments - Red & White Wines, Sodas, Popcorn, Chips & Party Mix. Large Heated Pool, Sauna and Spa, In Room Coffee, Daily Paper - Delivered! Free WI FI throughout entire property. Guest Business Center, Complimentary DVD Players and Movies available. Expanded Cable TV w/ HBO, CNN, ESPN. Many eateries nearby catering to all tastes. Kids 17 and under stay free with paid adult. Allow us the pleasure to make your stay in Southern California a comfortable and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Super Eight Long Beach
Long Beach Super Eight
Long Beach Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.