We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room 118 safe area decent room free wifi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Long Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Long Beach to your Saves list
Super 8 Long Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4201 E Pacific Coast Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90804   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    275
    86
    29
    17
See reviews for
261
168
71
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sooke, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is in a nice area and close to shopping and eating. I have stayed at many hotels before, but this one, I felt really safe, and relaxed at. The room and bathroom were very clean and pleasant smelling. The staff is very friendly and will do their best to help you. The rooms have flat screen TVs, refrigerators, hair dryers, iron boards/irons, bathtub/shower, and an alarm clock that will wake you up. There is a great hot tub and pool, which I tried and a sauna, which I did not try. In the evening in the lobby is "happy hour" with red and white wine, soft drinks and snacks. The morning breakfast consists of 4 types of cereal, two types of milk, orange, apple juice, 4 types of breads, cream cheese, fresh fruit, and waffles. There is free Wifi in the rooms, and you can use the computer in the lobby. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and had a very good and sound sleep in a nice quiet and comfortable bed. I highly recommend this hotel and will be booking it again the next time that I am in town.

Room Tip: I did not hear of any bad rooms and I had a ground floor room in the middle of the hotel and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mojodp, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Long Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for the kind review on our property during your recent stay with us in Long Beach. We're very glad that you were comfortable, and had the opportunity to enjoy the pool area and some of the other amenities offered. Thanks again, and we look forward to having you as our guest should you return to our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A courteous staff will greet you at this motel. There is wifi, excellent complimentary continental breakfast from 0600 to 1000 and complimentary wine during the early evenings. Considering the location, the place is pretty quiet tho I would still bring ear plugs just in case. I did slightly hear my neighbor's tv tho not any conversation. Complimentary newspaper in the morning also. The amenities in the bathroom were good. A small refrigerator is also available in the room. Some rooms (mine) were below street level which may have helped with the street noise. Supermarkets and a large mall were within a 5 minute drive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mojodp, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Long Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay with TripAdvisor travelers. We're glad that you and your family were able to enjoy some of the complimentary amenities that are offered. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puget Sound, Washington
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We decided on a one night stay here to break up a trip between San Diego and Ventura counties. Normally I don't stay at Super 8 properties, but this one had such good TA reviews that we decided to give it a try. It was a good decision. Room was comfortable and clean; front desk staff was polite. The neighborhood is not the best and we did see a couple of transient-type folks sort of haranguing the staff. But for the money, I would certainly consider it for a short-term stay in Long Beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mojodp, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Long Beach, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for the review on TripAdvisor on your recent stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again should come to visit from Washington in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very easy to find, spacious room (we had 2 queen beds), coffee maker and small fridge in the room, tv worked, a desk, sitting chair nice for reading, plenty of lighting options, nice sized bathroom, towels with some thickness to them, super continental breakfast option (from cereal, to fruit, waffles, coffee, tea, or hot chocolate, juice, pastry - along with opera playing in the background at the front desk - and cnn on the tv as well). Inner courtyard area seemed very well maintained though we didn't use the pool or jacuzzi.

The only possible negatives would be the somewhat strong cleaner smell in the room, so if you have sensitivities to that you might mention that when you place your reservation. And the ac/heater unit in the room is somewhat loud, but certainly worked.

I recall I stayed here some years ago and was very happy; stayed again this last weekend, and very pleased with the decision again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mojodp, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Long Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We appreciate your coming back to stay with us while on business in Long Beach. Thank you for the review and I will be sure to share your comment on the "cleaner smell" from the room with the manager, when we meet tomorrow morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Super 8 Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Long Beach

Address: 4201 E Pacific Coast Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Long Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of the 405 Freeway, the Long Beach Super 8 allows easy access to Southern California attractions including Disneyland, Aquarium of the Pacific, Knottsberry Farm, Universal Studios, Queen Mary and many other activities and attractions. The Super 8 of Long Beach offers SuperStart Breakfast that includes - Assorted Cereals, Fresh Fruit, Orange & Apple Juices, Coffee, Tea, Toast, Bagels with Cream Cheese, Oatmeal, and self serve Waffle Bar. Nightly Evening Refreshments - Red & White Wines, Sodas, Popcorn, Chips & Party Mix. Large Heated Pool, Sauna and Spa, In Room Coffee, Daily Paper - Delivered! Free WI FI throughout entire property. Guest Business Center, Complimentary DVD Players and Movies available. Expanded Cable TV w/ HBO, CNN, ESPN. Many eateries nearby catering to all tastes. Kids 17 and under stay free with paid adult. Allow us the pleasure to make your stay in Southern California a comfortable and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and BookIt.com so you can book your Super 8 Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Super Eight Long Beach
Long Beach Super 8
Long Beach Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.