We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great public spaces” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Snooze and Cruise
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great public spaces”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

i don't stay here much anymore because I can't usually justify the cost differential. but what i like most are the public areas. this place is right on the water, on the same slip of land upon which the Queen Mary is docked. Outdoors there are great views of downtown, the water, and the bridge, as well as a gas fire pit area and a large gas grill. The indoor areas are nice as well. the rooms are decent and clean, and if you can splurge then choose one of the end rooms with floor-to-ceiling glass and views of the water and downtown.

it is, however, hard to navigate to, and you'll likely want/need to drive to get a meal anywhere.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    129
    33
    16
    12
See reviews for
112
83
13
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mpls, MN
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was just in for a quick stay, but wanted some restaurant choices once settled and within walking distance. their are a few out on the pier, but needed to be downtown. Need to pressure them to stop using Styrofoam plates for breakfast - they don't decompose.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here for a week in July during a conference. The hotel was packed the whole week, but we had a great view of Long Beach from our suite and it was mostly quiet. The breakfast was standard, but saved time in the morning. The staff was great, especially our room cleaning crew, even with the full house. I am a runner, so really enjoyed walking out the door and running over the bridge and along the path in Long Beach or out to the Queen Mary. There is also a free shuttle bus that takes you into town and back. The only negative was the $10 a day parking fee, but this seems to be standard in Long Beach.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the road side of hotel as there is no view there and there is road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel was a great location. Searched the area for an affordable, nice location. This hotel met all of the reguirements. The staff was very friendly and professional and the rooms were very clean and up to date. Had a beautiful view of Long Beach Harbor and Queen Mary. We have recommended this location to our other employees for future stays. Thanks for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel was great. I called the hotel for directions when I got to Long Beach area and was told head towards the Queen Mary. I did and I found it no problem. The hotel is less than 10 years old and is very nice. We stayed in a one bedroom room on the 9th floor (917) . It was awesome. The room was clean, had a million dollar view of the harbor, very roomy, and comfortable. The staff was as helpful as we needed them to be. The only thing I could say on the negative side was the breakfast really wasn't as good as other Residence Inns, but it was fine. Very nice path from the hotel to the Queen Mary- probably a 15 minute walk.

Room Tip: Good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We picked this hotel partly because of the kitchenette, partly the walking distance from the Long Beach Convention and Entertainment Center (1.25 miles) and partly for the view overlooking water. Room was quite large with a small but nicely equipped kitchen with two electric burners which worked well. Kitchenette also had a refrig with ice maker, toaster, microwave, coffeepot and of course pots/pans dishes, etc. We really only used the kitchen for a few dinners as the complimentary full breakfast was very good with two kinds of waffle makers, hot scrambled eggs, some type of biscuit sandwich and great home fries.
Bed was extremely comfortable, shower and toilet was separate from sink and maid service was very good. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall an excellent experience.,

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the water side; otherwise you will be looking at oil pump stations across the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Residence Inn is situated a little way south of Downtown Long Beach, across the Queens Way bridge but finding it can be problematic if you try to reach the location from West Ocean Boulevard. It is close to Hotel Maya so if you can find that place, you are almost next to the Residence Inn. It is well worth the effort of a little careful map reading, though, as it is a good value, comfortable hotel with very friendly and welcoming staff. (Taxi drivers and the LAX shuttle buses find the Residence Inn without difficulty.)

The rooms are well-equipped with kitchenette, sofa, dining table, roomy showers etc and there are guest laundry facilities, a small gym and an outdoor pool. Whilst there is no restaurant, the complimentary breakfast offers a good variety of tasty food to start your day and there was a barbecue evening on the Wednesday of my stay.

The hotel is served by the local free Downtown Passport bus service which runs approx every 25 mins and will take you to the World Trade Centre, the Convention Cenre, the Aquarium and various other places. (The timetable says every ten minutes but that wasn't my experience at all!) However, because of the one-way road system which makes it hard to find the hotel, a return journey from the World Trade Centre takes three different Passport buses. I found it easier to walk back (25 mins) once I'd identified a route with sidewalks.

There are hotels closer to the World Trade Centre but my colleagues who stayed there were not impressed, so I would certainly stay at the Residence Inn again if I return to Long Beach in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt The Pike Long Beach
Hyatt The Pike Long Beach
#5 of 58 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#10 of 58 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 3,712 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
1.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown

Address: 600 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Long Beach Downtown Hotel Long Beach
Residence Inn Long Beach
Long Beach Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.