We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Long Beach with Views of the Water” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 58 hotels in Long Beach
Arkansas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Long Beach with Views of the Water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We picked this hotel partly because of the kitchenette, partly the walking distance from the Long Beach Convention and Entertainment Center (1.25 miles) and partly for the view overlooking water. Room was quite large with a small but nicely equipped kitchen with two electric burners which worked well. Kitchenette also had a refrig with ice maker, toaster, microwave, coffeepot and of course pots/pans dishes, etc. We really only used the kitchen for a few dinners as the complimentary full breakfast was very good with two kinds of waffle makers, hot scrambled eggs, some type of biscuit sandwich and great home fries.
Bed was extremely comfortable, shower and toilet was separate from sink and maid service was very good. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall an excellent experience.,

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the water side; otherwise you will be looking at oil pump stations across the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    102
    26
    14
    9
See reviews for
92
64
9
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Residence Inn is situated a little way south of Downtown Long Beach, across the Queens Way bridge but finding it can be problematic if you try to reach the location from West Ocean Boulevard. It is close to Hotel Maya so if you can find that place, you are almost next to the Residence Inn. It is well worth the effort of a little careful map reading, though, as it is a good value, comfortable hotel with very friendly and welcoming staff. (Taxi drivers and the LAX shuttle buses find the Residence Inn without difficulty.)

The rooms are well-equipped with kitchenette, sofa, dining table, roomy showers etc and there are guest laundry facilities, a small gym and an outdoor pool. Whilst there is no restaurant, the complimentary breakfast offers a good variety of tasty food to start your day and there was a barbecue evening on the Wednesday of my stay.

The hotel is served by the local free Downtown Passport bus service which runs approx every 25 mins and will take you to the World Trade Centre, the Convention Cenre, the Aquarium and various other places. (The timetable says every ten minutes but that wasn't my experience at all!) However, because of the one-way road system which makes it hard to find the hotel, a return journey from the World Trade Centre takes three different Passport buses. I found it easier to walk back (25 mins) once I'd identified a route with sidewalks.

There are hotels closer to the World Trade Centre but my colleagues who stayed there were not impressed, so I would certainly stay at the Residence Inn again if I return to Long Beach in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel could be a gem IF the Marriott would have the insight to give VERY EXPLICIT directions to it's front door. We spent so much time getting lost, even with using mapquest, google directions and smartphone GPS...that we swore we would not stay.
BUT we stayed, FINALLY figured out HOW to get to the hotel and actually LOVED our room. It overlooked the pool and the water, corner room. The room had the great kitchen, large living/dining room, bathroom with double sinks....very comfortable for our 6 night stay.
The staff is cool, the usual breakfast is served, and the fireplace by the pool was just lovely.
IF YOU CAN GET TO IT..stay there...it is an oasis minutes from downtown.

Room Tip: Corner room overlooking the pool and water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed in one of the 2 bedroom loft units with a family of 5, so it fit us well for a very reasonable price, especially for the LA area. The free breakfast was also very nice. Very convenient location to the 405, a little bit of a drive to the harbor / ferry area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

In a two words ‘pretty good’ – we normally stay at the Hyatt on the other side of the bridge but this is just as good. The staff were very friendly and breakfast offered enough each morning - including making your own 2 types of waffles. All day coffee from the thermal flasks was really a bonus.
Points to note: the entry barrier to the car park appears to be positioned on a curve which made it also impossible to obtain the ticket without getting of the car. We managed this once in over 30+ times. There is an overflow car park (20+ spaces), which is hardly ever used – it’s under the other side of the bridge – so there is always space. Driving directions are easy if you drive over the Queensway Bridge – don’t use the Hertz GPS system as this takes you the long way round. There is no bar or restaurant but the large fridge and freezer makes up for this where you can store your own drinks and food. The kitchenette is well equipped to support all your cooking needs (no oven). There is also a BBQ area by the pool area were you can also cook your own burgers etc. An added bonus, on the 2nd floor, contains a room well equipped with washing machines and tumble dryers (4 or 5 quarters each) – pretty cheap – so you can go home without having to wash anything. Overall the 3 of us really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a party of 5 people and reserved a 2 bedroom unit with a full kitchen. Room was nice until on the 3rd eve we killed 3 roaches.. We let them know and was moved immediately to another two br unit.
Staff here is very accomodating.. just wished breakfast included more meat choices like turkey bacon or turkey sausage at each breakfast. I can only eat poultry meats.. Otherwise it was a pleasent stay and I would rebook here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband is staying at this location long term while assigned to Long Beach on business. I joined him for a long weekend and really enjoyed my stay. The hotel is within walking distance of the Queen Mary, the Long Beach Aquarium, and numerous restaurants and shops. The breakfasts provide not only the normal continental breakfast items but also several hot items such as eggs, bacon, and waffles. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown

Address: 600 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Long Beach Downtown Hotel Long Beach
Residence Inn Long Beach
Long Beach Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.