We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Rooms but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel could be a gem IF the Marriott would have the insight to give VERY EXPLICIT directions to it's front door. We spent so much time getting lost, even with using mapquest, google directions and smartphone GPS...that we swore we would not stay.
BUT we stayed, FINALLY figured out HOW to get to the hotel and actually LOVED our room. It overlooked the pool and the water, corner room. The room had the great kitchen, large living/dining room, bathroom with double sinks....very comfortable for our 6 night stay.
The staff is cool, the usual breakfast is served, and the fireplace by the pool was just lovely.
IF YOU CAN GET TO IT..stay there...it is an oasis minutes from downtown.

Room Tip: Corner room overlooking the pool and water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    101
    29
    14
    11
See reviews for
97
64
10
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed in one of the 2 bedroom loft units with a family of 5, so it fit us well for a very reasonable price, especially for the LA area. The free breakfast was also very nice. Very convenient location to the 405, a little bit of a drive to the harbor / ferry area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

In a two words ‘pretty good’ – we normally stay at the Hyatt on the other side of the bridge but this is just as good. The staff were very friendly and breakfast offered enough each morning - including making your own 2 types of waffles. All day coffee from the thermal flasks was really a bonus.
Points to note: the entry barrier to the car park appears to be positioned on a curve which made it also impossible to obtain the ticket without getting of the car. We managed this once in over 30+ times. There is an overflow car park (20+ spaces), which is hardly ever used – it’s under the other side of the bridge – so there is always space. Driving directions are easy if you drive over the Queensway Bridge – don’t use the Hertz GPS system as this takes you the long way round. There is no bar or restaurant but the large fridge and freezer makes up for this where you can store your own drinks and food. The kitchenette is well equipped to support all your cooking needs (no oven). There is also a BBQ area by the pool area were you can also cook your own burgers etc. An added bonus, on the 2nd floor, contains a room well equipped with washing machines and tumble dryers (4 or 5 quarters each) – pretty cheap – so you can go home without having to wash anything. Overall the 3 of us really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a party of 5 people and reserved a 2 bedroom unit with a full kitchen. Room was nice until on the 3rd eve we killed 3 roaches.. We let them know and was moved immediately to another two br unit.
Staff here is very accomodating.. just wished breakfast included more meat choices like turkey bacon or turkey sausage at each breakfast. I can only eat poultry meats.. Otherwise it was a pleasent stay and I would rebook here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband is staying at this location long term while assigned to Long Beach on business. I joined him for a long weekend and really enjoyed my stay. The hotel is within walking distance of the Queen Mary, the Long Beach Aquarium, and numerous restaurants and shops. The breakfasts provide not only the normal continental breakfast items but also several hot items such as eggs, bacon, and waffles. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel, I just had breakfast and it was extremely tasty. The room did not have a hair dryer which was quite annoying as I was traveling on business and shower in the morning. The room was comfortable but nothing really stood out to make this amazing hence an average rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

In Long Beach for a quick tournament. The hotel does have a strange location but other than that you cant go wrong. Great clean modern rooms, nice informative front desk staff, comp breakfeast, and a nice small pool area. Dont expect a bar area or huge entertainment vibe. Great place for families and couples lookimg for a central location to other venues. Would definitely recommend. Enjoy

Room Tip: Prefer some sort of water view
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown

Address: 600 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Long Beach Downtown Hotel Long Beach
Residence Inn Long Beach
Long Beach Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.