We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Thrive On Long Stays!
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Rooms but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel could be a gem IF the Marriott would have the insight to give VERY EXPLICIT directions to it's front door. We spent so much time getting lost, even with using mapquest, google directions and smartphone GPS...that we swore we would not stay.
BUT we stayed, FINALLY figured out HOW to get to the hotel and actually LOVED our room. It overlooked the pool and the water, corner room. The room had the great kitchen, large living/dining room, bathroom with double sinks....very comfortable for our 6 night stay.
The staff is cool, the usual breakfast is served, and the fireplace by the pool was just lovely.
IF YOU CAN GET TO IT..stay there...it is an oasis minutes from downtown.

Room Tip: Corner room overlooking the pool and water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed in one of the 2 bedroom loft units with a family of 5, so it fit us well for a very reasonable price, especially for the LA area. The free breakfast was also very nice. Very convenient location to the 405, a little bit of a drive to the harbor / ferry area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frontrangeskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

In a two words ‘pretty good’ – we normally stay at the Hyatt on the other side of the bridge but this is just as good. The staff were very friendly and breakfast offered enough each morning - including making your own 2 types of waffles. All day coffee from the thermal flasks was really a bonus.
Points to note: the entry barrier to the car park appears to be positioned on a curve which made it also impossible to obtain the ticket without getting of the car. We managed this once in over 30+ times. There is an overflow car park (20+ spaces), which is hardly ever used – it’s under the other side of the bridge – so there is always space. Driving directions are easy if you drive over the Queensway Bridge – don’t use the Hertz GPS system as this takes you the long way round. There is no bar or restaurant but the large fridge and freezer makes up for this where you can store your own drinks and food. The kitchenette is well equipped to support all your cooking needs (no oven). There is also a BBQ area by the pool area were you can also cook your own burgers etc. An added bonus, on the 2nd floor, contains a room well equipped with washing machines and tumble dryers (4 or 5 quarters each) – pretty cheap – so you can go home without having to wash anything. Overall the 3 of us really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a party of 5 people and reserved a 2 bedroom unit with a full kitchen. Room was nice until on the 3rd eve we killed 3 roaches.. We let them know and was moved immediately to another two br unit.
Staff here is very accomodating.. just wished breakfast included more meat choices like turkey bacon or turkey sausage at each breakfast. I can only eat poultry meats.. Otherwise it was a pleasent stay and I would rebook here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asabi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband is staying at this location long term while assigned to Long Beach on business. I joined him for a long weekend and really enjoyed my stay. The hotel is within walking distance of the Queen Mary, the Long Beach Aquarium, and numerous restaurants and shops. The breakfasts provide not only the normal continental breakfast items but also several hot items such as eggs, bacon, and waffles. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SlainteYall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel, I just had breakfast and it was extremely tasty. The room did not have a hair dryer which was quite annoying as I was traveling on business and shower in the morning. The room was comfortable but nothing really stood out to make this amazing hence an average rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discodollydiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

In Long Beach for a quick tournament. The hotel does have a strange location but other than that you cant go wrong. Great clean modern rooms, nice informative front desk staff, comp breakfeast, and a nice small pool area. Dont expect a bar area or huge entertainment vibe. Great place for families and couples lookimg for a central location to other venues. Would definitely recommend. Enjoy

Room Tip: Prefer some sort of water view
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wiggy3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#2 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,364 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 57 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#12 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown

Address: 600 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience gorgeous waterfront views from the Residence Inn Long Beach Downtown Hotel. We are mere minutes from the Long Beach Port, Convention Center, pristine beaches and just over the Gerald Desmond Bridge from the San Pedro cruise terminals and the Port of LA. Experience a superior location among hotels in downtown Long Beach, CA with easy access to fabulous dining/nightlife, distinctive shopping and famous attractions including the Queen Mary, Aquarium of the Pacific, Long Beach Arena and Pine Ave. Keep up your fitness routine at our Long Beach all-suite hotel with a state-of-the-art gym or on the shoreline trail. A complimentary hot breakfast buffet is served daily, and a 24-hour Market offers snacks and drinks whenever you want them. Our stylish suites feature luxury bedding, fully-equipped kitchens and a large desks with free Wi-Fi throughout. Our extended stay hotel in downtown Long Beach offers a central location near LA's top attractions and the business centers on the I-405 corridor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Long Beach Downtown Hotel Long Beach
Residence Inn Long Beach
Long Beach Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing