We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Okay Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Long Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Long Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 E Ocean Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hattiesburg,
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, Okay Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a conference. Things went well, rooms were nice, but there were a couple of service hiccups. One included the fact that our conference guaranteed us free Internet during our stay. At checkout, the front desk staff acted as if they knew nothing about it and conveniently couldn't get in touch with Management to verify this. Just the day before another front desk staff told me that she had to look it up but saw that indeed we were supposed to get Internet free. She stated it wouldn't be a problem at checkout, but it was! To booth, upon my departure at 5:30am in the morning - the young man at the front desk took so long to check me out that my shuttle left me! . Thank goodness I was able to get a friend to drive me to airport in town to catch my flight. And - shame on SuperShuttle who saw me in lobby waiting to be checked out but left anyway! Sheesh!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusrat M, General Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the feedback about your recent stay at my hotel. I sincerely apologize for the service hiccups you experienced related to internet charges and slow check out. I possible can you contact me directly so I can seek more details and resolve your concerns to your satisfaction.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    216
    68
    22
    10
See reviews for
75
95
32
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mason, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel has everything you need for a buisness trip to Long Beach. It is real close to convention center, restaurants, and everything else Long Beach has to offer. I would have to say, the best customer service I have experienced at any hotel for sometime. Great work out facility too!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusrat M, General Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments about my hotel. I look forward to your return.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My room was quiet and boringly nice, with a comfortable bed and a stunning harbor view. The downtown location was quite central. That said, I will not return. On the Saturday night I stayed here, it seemed this hotel does not cater to quiet business travelers, but rather to the limo-riding, (literally) puking teenyboppers who arrived just ahead of me. The lobby was blasting dance music; I have a high tolerance for loud music, but this was truly head-splitting. Then I was told that the lobby/disco was the only place I could use the Internet without paying a $12.95 "telecom surcharge." (Why not charge me extra for using the shower too?) When the dance music ended and they switched to jazz in the lobby, it was just as loud. At once point I went to ask the sole desk clerk a question. I was the only one in line, but had to wait five minutes as he stood around socializing with a young attractive woman. Adding the $18 for self-parking, plus taxes, my $149 room cost me more than $200. Bottom line: Good sleep, but I felt unwelcome and a bit ripped off.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusrat M, General Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you very much for the feedback related to your recent experience at my hotel. I apologize for the noisey lobby area during one of the music featuring evenings. During the year on few selected weekends we do feature DJ in our SIP lounge which is adjacent to the lobby. Recently it was done dure Long Beach Grand Prix weekend.
Once again my sincerest apologies, if possible please call me directly at the hotel so I can discuss this issue in detail with you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at the Renaissance for a conference at the end of April 2013. The location was wonderful, with a bus stop (free) right outside which went to different locations in the area. The convention center was right across the street. The staff was friendly and receptive to questions. The room was spacious and clean. The "refrigerator" in the room turned out to only be a cooler, and didn't work to chill items, which was inconvenient. There is also a strange smell (not a BAD smell, just odd, in the elevator area in the lobby. It was overpowering at times.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusrat M, General Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at my hotel during your recent visit to Long Beach. I appreciate your kind comments about our staff and the hotel location.

I look forward to your return to Renaissance Long Beach Hotel.

best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Spent four nights at the Renaissance Long Beach and it had many positives. First of all, the staff is fantastic. The front desk staff, concierge, bellman, and housekeeping went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The location to the convention center can't be beat. There is a free transit stop right outside the front door. A Starbucks is attached to the hotel. There are many restaurant options in the area. The lobby and bar area had a fun vibe. The rooms had some negatives. They are showing wear in the carpet, bathrooms, and furnishings. The electrical outlets in the desk area are inconvenient and the room lacked proper lighting. The mini refrigerator was missing. On the positive, the beds and pillows were comfortable. Loved the Aveda bath products and great water pressure. The hotel was quiet at night and there wasn't a lot of street noise. Would stay at this loction again if I was attending a conference at the convention center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusrat M, General Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you very much for selecting my hotel during your recent visit to Long Beach. I am grateful for your kind comments about our staff and the location, based on your comments I will recognize front desk, housekeeping and concierge staff.

I look forward to your return to Renaissance Long Beach Hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed here in April for a wedding at the Maya Hotel which is next door...100yrd away. Very typical of the hotel 'apartment' style. One bedroom with a sitting room.. very spacious..comfortable bed..King size..two flat screens..good bathroom. Around 180 a night. It's very very close to the Queen Mary and a short drive to downtown Long Beach and the Aquarium. Not too far from Disneyland either. Breakfast is a buffet, all you can eat. Waffle machine, cereals fresh fruit salad, pastries, toast,bagels, scrambled, sausage etc etc etc. Excellent for families. Would not call it romantic by any means but its clean, comfortable, spacious and friendly. Front check in was very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I, plus our children, their spouses and four grandchildren stayed at this hotel before a cruise during Easter Week. The hotel staff were all very friendly, allowed an early checkin and gave excellent suggestions regarding last minute shopping and restaurants. The rooms were clean, comfortable,and spacious enough. Since we were there only 1 night, lack of free wifi didn't bother any of us. The location was perfect, with many restaurants within 2 blocks. Several of the group enjoyed the brew pub right across the street, and a shopping area was easily reached on foot . There was a nice lobby bar , good for an afternoon wine but even better for BLoody Mary's at noon ! I would recommend the Renaissance to anyone and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusrat M, General Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you very much for selecting my hotel for your pre-cruise stay in Long Beach. Hope you enjoyed the cruise. I look forward to your return to Long Beach.

Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Renaissance Long Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Long Beach Hotel

Address: 111 E Ocean Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90802
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Long Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our NEWLY RENOVATED downtown hotel in Long Beach is ideally located near the Long Beach Convention Center, Pine Avenue, Queen Mary, and the Aquarium. We've recently unveiled our newly designed guest rooms, club lounge and fitness center, and our newly refreshed lobby will reflect the inspiration of Renaissance Hotels by offering unique discoveries including emerging music, culinary, film and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Long Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Long Beach
Long Beach Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.