We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel choice for Long Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Long Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Long Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 E Ocean Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Renovated Rooms Deal
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Mason, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Hotel choice for Long Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel has everything you need for a buisness trip to Long Beach. It is real close to convention center, restaurants, and everything else Long Beach has to offer. I would have to say, the best customer service I have experienced at any hotel for sometime. Great work out facility too!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusrat M, General Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments about my hotel. I look forward to your return.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    171
    56
    20
    9
See reviews for
65
78
28
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My room was quiet and boringly nice, with a comfortable bed and a stunning harbor view. The downtown location was quite central. That said, I will not return. On the Saturday night I stayed here, it seemed this hotel does not cater to quiet business travelers, but rather to the limo-riding, (literally) puking teenyboppers who arrived just ahead of me. The lobby was blasting dance music; I have a high tolerance for loud music, but this was truly head-splitting. Then I was told that the lobby/disco was the only place I could use the Internet without paying a $12.95 "telecom surcharge." (Why not charge me extra for using the shower too?) When the dance music ended and they switched to jazz in the lobby, it was just as loud. At once point I went to ask the sole desk clerk a question. I was the only one in line, but had to wait five minutes as he stood around socializing with a young attractive woman. Adding the $18 for self-parking, plus taxes, my $149 room cost me more than $200. Bottom line: Good sleep, but I felt unwelcome and a bit ripped off.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusrat M, General Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you very much for the feedback related to your recent experience at my hotel. I apologize for the noisey lobby area during one of the music featuring evenings. During the year on few selected weekends we do feature DJ in our SIP lounge which is adjacent to the lobby. Recently it was done dure Long Beach Grand Prix weekend.
Once again my sincerest apologies, if possible please call me directly at the hotel so I can discuss this issue in detail with you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at the Renaissance for a conference at the end of April 2013. The location was wonderful, with a bus stop (free) right outside which went to different locations in the area. The convention center was right across the street. The staff was friendly and receptive to questions. The room was spacious and clean. The "refrigerator" in the room turned out to only be a cooler, and didn't work to chill items, which was inconvenient. There is also a strange smell (not a BAD smell, just odd, in the elevator area in the lobby. It was overpowering at times.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusrat M, General Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at my hotel during your recent visit to Long Beach. I appreciate your kind comments about our staff and the hotel location.

I look forward to your return to Renaissance Long Beach Hotel.

best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Spent four nights at the Renaissance Long Beach and it had many positives. First of all, the staff is fantastic. The front desk staff, concierge, bellman, and housekeeping went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The location to the convention center can't be beat. There is a free transit stop right outside the front door. A Starbucks is attached to the hotel. There are many restaurant options in the area. The lobby and bar area had a fun vibe. The rooms had some negatives. They are showing wear in the carpet, bathrooms, and furnishings. The electrical outlets in the desk area are inconvenient and the room lacked proper lighting. The mini refrigerator was missing. On the positive, the beds and pillows were comfortable. Loved the Aveda bath products and great water pressure. The hotel was quiet at night and there wasn't a lot of street noise. Would stay at this loction again if I was attending a conference at the convention center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusrat M, General Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you very much for selecting my hotel during your recent visit to Long Beach. I am grateful for your kind comments about our staff and the location, based on your comments I will recognize front desk, housekeeping and concierge staff.

I look forward to your return to Renaissance Long Beach Hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed here in April for a wedding at the Maya Hotel which is next door...100yrd away. Very typical of the hotel 'apartment' style. One bedroom with a sitting room.. very spacious..comfortable bed..King size..two flat screens..good bathroom. Around 180 a night. It's very very close to the Queen Mary and a short drive to downtown Long Beach and the Aquarium. Not too far from Disneyland either. Breakfast is a buffet, all you can eat. Waffle machine, cereals fresh fruit salad, pastries, toast,bagels, scrambled, sausage etc etc etc. Excellent for families. Would not call it romantic by any means but its clean, comfortable, spacious and friendly. Front check in was very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I, plus our children, their spouses and four grandchildren stayed at this hotel before a cruise during Easter Week. The hotel staff were all very friendly, allowed an early checkin and gave excellent suggestions regarding last minute shopping and restaurants. The rooms were clean, comfortable,and spacious enough. Since we were there only 1 night, lack of free wifi didn't bother any of us. The location was perfect, with many restaurants within 2 blocks. Several of the group enjoyed the brew pub right across the street, and a shopping area was easily reached on foot . There was a nice lobby bar , good for an afternoon wine but even better for BLoody Mary's at noon ! I would recommend the Renaissance to anyone and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusrat M, General Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you very much for selecting my hotel for your pre-cruise stay in Long Beach. Hope you enjoyed the cruise. I look forward to your return to Long Beach.

Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Remodeled hotel with nice large room and view of Queen Mary. We were on the 8th floor and it was so NOISY. We slept with earplugs in. Our stay was on Thursday and Friday nights mid April 2013. Because of the view of the harbor you side to Ocean Blvd which is always busy. The free shuttle to Queen Mary and Shoreline village and Aquarium stops at Pine and Ocean Blvd across the street from the hotel, it runs every 12 minutes. You can walk to all the restaurants on Shoreline Village. We ate at The Omelette Inn on 3rd and Pine street for breakfast, just a few minute walk, don't miss it. You enter the parking lot adjacent to the hotel off of Ocean Blvd on the right just before the light at Pine. An elevator brings you into the hotel. Nice room with a lot of towels, etc. Arrived at 1:30 didn't have a room ready, they called around 3:30.

Room Tip: Harbor view is not worth the noise, maybe a room facing the city would have been better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusrat M, General Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback through Trip Advisor, I am grateful for your kind comments about the hotel. Yes, you are correct Ocean Blvd is a bit noisy, howere, the harbor view rooms provide a great ocean view. Next time you are planning to return please feel free to contact me directly so we can make sure to accomodate you in the part of hotel where you would experience less of noise factor from Ocean Blvd.

Once again thank you for the feedback. Looking forward to your return to Renaissance Long Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Long Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Long Beach Hotel

Address: 111 E Ocean Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90802
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Long Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our NEWLY RENOVATED downtown hotel in Long Beach is ideally located near the Long Beach Convention Center, Pine Avenue, Queen Mary, and the Aquarium. We've recently unveiled our newly designed guest rooms, club lounge and fitness center, and our newly refreshed lobby will reflect the inspiration of Renaissance Hotels by offering unique discoveries including emerging music, culinary, film and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Long Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Long Beach
Long Beach Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.