We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place in Long Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Long Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Long Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 E Ocean Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 58 hotels in Long Beach
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Place in Long Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the Renaissance Long Beach for a week during a conference at the Long Beach Convention Center. Even though it is not the "attached" conference hotel, I actually greatly preferred it over that and the other locations my friends were at. This is because it is still very close to the LBCC (just across the street), but being on the north side of the street, it's actually closer to a lot of the breakfast/coffee shops ("Its a Grind" is good), nice dining venues ("L'Opera"), and other night life ("Congregation Ale House", "Beachwood BBQ", "Rock Bottom", etc.)

I also found the staff quite enjoyable and accommodating. They were particularly helpful with splitting up a difficult room bill (I had a friend come share the room with me, but only for a few days, and he needed a receipt showing he paid half for each of those nights). There is even a Starbucks downstairs!

Oh, one tip: there is in-room coffee, they just hide the coffee pot away under the nightstand. Took me a few days to figure that out.

One major ding: wifi is not free in the rooms. Someday hotels will figure that one out. I mean, c'mon, it's not like they have a coin slot on the hot/cold water faucets ...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusrat M, General Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for posting nice comments about my hotel. I appreciate your feedback related to in-room coffee, I will definitely look in to it.
Once again thank you for staying and providing us the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    161
    57
    17
    8
See reviews for
57
75
26
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here for a Tournament of Roses vacation with a tour group. The hotel is superbly maintained. All of the public areas are clean and the room we stayed in was above average. The beds are soft and so comfortable. The maids clean daily and spend about 25 minutes in the room and bathroom. The breakfast buffet which is $22 dollars is a bit pricey but good. We had a nice view at the front of the hotel which overlooked the pool, the convention center and a glimpse of the Queen Mary. The dinner meals we had with our tour group at the hotel were above average. The real plus of this hotel is its' location. You' re so centrally located to everything. There are numerous restaurants of varying grades within easy walking distance. The Brewery restaurant across the street is awesome and reasonably priced. There is also a 7-11 and too many other restaurants to mention. The town of Long Beach provides free red Passport buses that pick you up across the street and run every 10 to 15 minutes. The buses have a route that take you everywhere of importance. You can also easily walk to the Quenn Mary and harbor shops. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: You defintely want a front view toward the bay or Queen Mary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusrat M, General Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for comments you posted on Trip Advisor related to your recent stay at my hotel in Long Beach, California.
Hope to see you soon back at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Had a marvelous stay. After a horrible experience at a close to LAX notible hotel change ... We thought our budget was going to be toast because we cancelled new years eve reservations but this hotel saved our trip. The staff was great, helpful and truly made our experience in Long Beach great. The views from the hotel are amazing. The pool area so relaxing. While the hotel has restraunts, I found them overpriced but there are so many within walking that offer great eats for less. I will return for my next girls trip.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusrat M, General Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you very much for posting nice comment about the hotel.
Looking forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Overall, the hotel gives off a warm welcoming feeling. The staff is very friendly - from the front desk, to housekeeping, to servers in the restaurant. And, the Concierge (Navigator - as they call the position) was very friendly and helpful!!

We were there with a Tour Group over New Year's. Again, the servers in our Ball Room were very very attentive during our meals. However, the food was NOT good. We had breakfast 4 mornings and 3 different dinners. The breakfasts were marginal although the food was well presented, and the dinners were not tasty at all - although well presented. Furthermore, one morning we had breakfast in the main restaurant. The curtains just behind us were filthy - stained with what appeared to be dried coffee drippings.

The view from our room was nice - could see Long Beach Harbor - but could also see piles of trash dumped behind some boarded up area. And, the noise from the street was very loud from the 4th floor. Our room, itself, was clean and well appointed, but taking a closer look revealed beat-up door framing, chipped paint, and worn out carpet. But, I will say, the beds were comfortable!!

On a side note, although there were 4 elevators, they were pretty slow about reaching our floor. However, on a personal note, I was glad 2 elevators were glass-enclosed - being somewhat claustrophobic that I am.

The hotel's location is very good. Just across the street is a Metro Line that will take you less than a mile to Long Beach's nice harbor including many shops and restaurants as well as site-seeing water tours, etc...

Overall, I would stay in this hotel again. The good outweighed the bad.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on higher levels. Outside noises will be lessened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed at the Renaissance Long Beach during the Tournament of Roses this year. EVERY employee was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and very comfortable also quiet even though it was during the New Years Eve celebration. They had extra security on New Years Eve - Made us very comfortable. Located within easy walking distance of many fine eateries. Highly Recommended stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Gorgeous entry/lobby at this hotel. It's very posh and beautifully decorated. My choice of staying here versus other hotels is my status at Marriott properties gets me club access but the club was closed. They gave me a breakfast voucher instead. This is the 2nd Marriott that I have stayed in the last 2 weeks that I chose over other hotels because of my status and club access that has failed to be open. Marriott really should really email this info out to those with reservations.

The hotel public areas were much nicer than the room. The room was average...maybe a bit above average. Nothing special to discuss...just a basic hotel room. The location wasn't anything special. My room didn't have a view of anything nice. It felt like a hotel room in any random city.

Nothing horrible to say about it...but nothing memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusrat M, General Manager at Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at my hotel in Long Beach, appreciate your comments as "Nice Place to Stay in Long each"
Looking forward to your next visit.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were surprised this was a Renaissance. It was obvious the hotel had been renovated at some time in the past; but it needs some more help to keep the property up to standard.
Pro: Relatively good value.
Con: These are more the small things, but it is the attention to detail which causes concern. 1) Elevator buttons in corridors do not light when pressed. 2) Room had some debris of some sort on a chair and the carpeting. 3) No laundry bag.

Room Tip: Harbor side provides much better view; but need to be above 6th floor to enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Long Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Long Beach Hotel

Address: 111 E Ocean Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Long Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our NEWLY RENOVATED downtown hotel in Long Beach is ideally located near the Long Beach Convention Center, Pine Avenue, Queen Mary, and the Aquarium. We've recently unveiled our newly designed guest rooms, club lounge and fitness center, and our newly refreshed lobby will reflect the inspiration of Renaissance Hotels by offering unique discoveries including emerging music, culinary, film and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Long Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Long Beach
Long Beach Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Long Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.