We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Mary

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Queen Mary to your Saves list
The Queen Mary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Timaru
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I just loved my night on the Queen Mary - staff were helpful and friendly and the room was excellent and so wonderful to see her how she was with the rooms being refurbished as close to original as possible. Also the haunted tour is a must as you get to see parts of the ship like the swimming pool that you wouldnt normally see.

Room Tip: As it is a ship and the hotel rooms are up where the first and second class sections had been then a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Gillian C -

Thank you so much for the feedback and we are so glad you had a wonderful night aboard the World Famous Queen Mary.

Hope to have you aboard the ship again soon!
-Queen Mary Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    1,209
    496
    227
    173
See reviews for
713
1,358
135
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,070)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indio, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

It was all good being a wheelchair I was worried but over all it was a great night. The drinks are pricy the food well we did not eat there so cant say, but the twin size bed are huge so don't worry its more like a full size and the room was big we were able to meet people and go check out their room with the king size bed but the room was very small like you would imagine a crew ship room would be. The staff was great very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Fix the shower head :) for the ada rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Paul -

Thank you for the feedback and so glad you had a great experience. We are working diligently with ADA specialists on options for Americans with Disabilities to ensure that they have every opportunity to enjoy all areas of the ship including our world famous restaurants, bars, events, and attractions.

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-Queen Mary Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I've lived in Southern California all my life, but never stayed on the RMS Queen Mary. It's was a great experience. I paid extra to have a family room and was worth it. The bathroom was original, for the tub was half the size of a normal tub. The staff were amazing, very friendly. I'm planning our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
lbelter -

Thanks for the feedback and we are so glad you finally decided to stay aboard the ship!

Hope to have you aboard again soon!
-Queen Mary Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Rooms are large and still as they were inthe 1930s, except for the tv!! So basic plumbing and poor shower and air con. Very noisy, you here everything in every room nearby.
I had breakfast in the a Promenade cafe and watched the sun rise over the water - magical.

A stay is not cheap, so it is a bit unnecessary to charge $9.95a day for wifi

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
HK -

Thanks for the feedback and so glad you had a nice stay.

WIFI is included in the facilities fee of $14.95 attached to your room rate which gives guests:

• Audio tours of the ship
• Children’s scavenger hunt
• WIFI
• Access to the fitness center
• 50% off of select guided tours and attraction tickets
• A portion of the facilities fee will be used for the restoration and preservation of the Queen Mary.

-Queen Mary Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I believe the trip to the Queen Mary exceeded my expectations. the knowledge of the staff and their years of service lends not Only to the personal experience but the overall trip tripand we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
cesily7 -

The Queen Mary - exceeding expectations since 1934.

-Queen Mary Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed one night on the Queen Mary, taking the Romantic Package. Check-in was friendly and efficient but unfortunately we were assigned a room which had not yet been cleaned. We were very quickly assigned another room, and $30 knocked off our bill for what was a very minor inconvenience. A good hotel is not one which never makes a mistake, but one which knows how to deal with them when they occur.
The room was interesting and quirky, but clean and very 1930's, which is what we expected. The Romantic package included 'champagne' and strawberries which arrived when we asked for them. The strawberries were huge and juicy and covered in chocolate - what's not to like! The 'champagne' was horrible and I would have enjoyed a glass of something drinkable rather than a bottle of something which was, to my palate, undrinkable.
One word of warning - the ship was built in the 1930's when sound insulation was unheard of (pardon the pun!) and so if you are saddled with neighbours who are loud you will hear all their troubles, including the lady next door falling down in the bathroom at 2am and the ensuing chaos, phone calls, and the arrival of paramedics! It made for an eventful night - more so for the unfortunate lady concerned!
As for the Queen Mary, she is a grand old lady, with service to match. Excellent staff, good restaurants, nice shops, and interesting tours.
Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Chris -

This is the review of the year.

First I love the pun. Well played. I think I might steal that in my responses going forward.

Second this line: "A good hotel is not one which never makes a mistake, but one which knows how to deal with them when they occur." You don't see a lot of this anymore with sites like this one and yelp and what not. We even read reviews in real time before we get a chance to make it right - you know? We do our best to make great memories for each of our guests. We are so glad you had a great experience and we cannot wait to host you again soon!
-Queen Mary Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esopus, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay very much, you could feel the history. The service was very good, the room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant choices were good and the food was very good. Only issue was we arrived around 5pm on Tuesday and the exhibits and tours were closed for the day. We had to leave too early the next day.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
kscorpio47 -

Thanks for the feedback and so glad you had such a wonderful visit to the World Famous Queen Mary. Our tours and attractions close at 6PM.

-Queen Mary Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.