We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for History Lovers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Mary

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Queen Mary to your Saves list
The Queen Mary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
South Florida, Florida
1 review
“Great for History Lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

If you're a history buf or a cruise ship fan, it's hard to resist a stay on The Queen Mary. While the ship clearly shows it's age, it still exudes the elegance of another era. Opt for a deluxe room and for access to see more of the ship, take as many of the tours as you can. The Ghosts and Legends tour is equivalent to a haunted house attraction and while you do get to see some of the ship, the Haunted Encounters is better if you want to explore more of the ship and hear stories of supernatural encounters that have been reported. Lots of great shopping opportunities on board for QM memorabilia.

The room was clean and functional, and the staff was universally friendly and accommodating. Will likely return next time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Opt for a Deluxe Room.... it's worth it. Ask for a room facing the water for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
spd9999 -

Thanks for the feedback. A little fun (Ghosts and Legends) and a little history is a nice mix. Glad you had a great experience and we cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,267
    1,373
    556
    251
    186
See reviews for
819
1,566
151
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Wow! This was great to go back in time. You experience the manner of travel only the wealthy traveled in the 1930's and it makes you think of a country recovering from a depression with so many people eating in soup lines. This was high end in those by gone days and nothing like what is offered at all inclusive resorts nowadays. The old menus were displayed and they were definitely fed well. Our society and American culture has advanced so much in room size accommodations and amenities. We booked three rooms and each one was a little different. The rooms were clean, cozy in size, beds were super comfortable and we all slept well (all our snoring probably scared the ghosts). The best room size is the double queen beds room. The harbor views have tiny windows. There are add on fees, so be careful. Our first evening we were able to take great photos on deck at sunset. There is a free round trip shuttle (approximately 15 minutes each way) to Pine Street Dock restaurants and shopping area where we were able to see dolphins near the dock and at night you can see the Queen Mary with all the lights on at a distance. It was a great stay for all of us and the teenagers in our group were excited; we did not experience any hauntings, the ghosts probably got spooked when we arrived. The weekday breakfast buffet was $14 per person and with the teenage boys it was well worth it. After check out they asked us if we wanted to remain aboard to explore the ship more and this was so exciting for the boys, they were so intrigued by the ship. The room key is your pass to exit the parking lot. We enjoyed the novelty of being aboard a historical ship and enjoyed the food served.

Room Tip: Our rooms were the harbor view and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Romtravel2 -

Thanks for the feedback and we are so glad you had such a great experience at the World Famous Queen Mary.

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Queen Mary was a GREAT mini-vacation for my wife and I!! Plenty of things to see and do on this historic ship. In addition, the food was great and our dinner at Winston's was exceptional! LOVED IT!!!!

Room Tip: As the Queen Mary was built in the early 1930s, the only draw back to this wonderful experience is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Phil -

Thanks for the feedback and we are so glad you had such a wonderful experience aboard the World Famous Queen Mary. We are a great place for a mini vacation...no doubt.

WE cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Utah
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Too fun! We like old things and this was a step back in time. Enjoyed a self guided tour (wear comfy shoes). Even though we didn't take a haunted tour, there were a few spots on the self guided tour that were eerily still! Spoke with an Admiral and a Commodore as we explored the ship. Loved the ambiance. Definitely take a tour!!
While we were there a barbershop quartet competition was going on. We enjoyed sitting on the deck listening to the various quartets as they warmed up.
Ate at the Promenade Cafe. Table was dirty and the chairs had crumbs and bits of lettuce all over the seat. Good thing I had my wipes...$17 for a burger and kettle chips-pricey for a burger and chips, but we were on The Queen Mary after all. It had good flavor but was lukewarm and tough. Service was quite slow even though there were only 3 other tables with guests at them and two of them had already been served, but our server was pleasant. The view of Long Beach was nice.
We stayed in an ocean view stateroom and kept our port holes open most of the time. Room/bathroom was "surface clean" only. Lots of hair & dust in the corners and stuff on the walls. Didn't want to be barefoot in our room. Didn't want to sit in the tub. Whole room could use a deep into-the-corners cleaning. (Hallways were in similar state of cleanliness, some of the shops seemed a little musty as well. I realize this is an antique ship. All the more reason to preserve it and maintain it.) Bed was very comfortable in spite of several holes and tears in the sheets. We enjoyed looking at the cruise ship that shared the harbor at night. It was all lit up. Lots of activity around to participate in or just to people watch.
Walls are pretty thin. We felt we were eaves dropping on a phone conversation taking place in the room next to ours. And you could hear when anyone walked down the hall whether they were talking or not.
Would we stay there again? Yes, we had a good time, but I would hope that they will do a better job in the upkeep of this historical vessel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
SASTMMT89 -

Thanks for the feedback and we are so glad you had such a great experience aboard the World Famous Queen Mary. We do apologize about the hiccup at Prom Cafe, I will certainly forward your comments to our Food and Beverage department. Our staff works around the clock to keep the ship, well in ship shape. The ship is turning 80 this year and she looks pretty good for her age.

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

The accommodations where clean and cozy.Thx food was great and so was the service.We will return,My only complaint is if I wanr to write a review in a short sentence, I should not have to write 200 words or more.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
VanAvern -

I think it is 200 characters - as your review was not 200 words long. So glad you had such a great experience at the World Famous Queen Mary.

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Staying at the Queen Mary was a neat experience. One night way enough and would recommend it for the experience. Be ready for lots if add in fees (would be better to add it up front on the room charge) and getting lost. Signage would make it much more pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Lovetomakememories -

Thanks for the feedback and we are glad you had a great visit. We have done our best to add digital signage throughout the property - with maps and other information. We are doing our best to incorporate this technology while also not interfering with the classic design and history of the ship which we wish to protect.

We up front with all additional fees. You have to pay taxes on the room, which is about 15% and then parking - which is $17 per night. We also charge a facilities fee of $14.95/night entitles guests to:

· Audio tour of the ship
· Children’s scavenger hunt
· WIFI
· Access to the fitness center
· 50% off of select guided tours and attraction tickets
· A portion of the facilities fee will be used for the restoration and preservation of the Queen Mary.

We thank you for your contribution to the preservation of this historic ship and we hope to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

A little pricey with the California tourism tax but well worth the stay in the end. The history of the ship is the draw by far as you are taken back to a by gone era. The craftsmanship of the ship, the world-class customer service and overall ambiance is just epic. Words I may say here can not fully describe, so that is why I have included some photos. We stayed in suite B433 and it was gorgeous with its veneer wood and seriously HUGE bed. We came to ghost hunt as well and with the extended tours you can take plus the ability during the day and evening to freely explore the ship, we had a super blast.

Room Tip: Open the port windows to listen to the bay while you sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Leslie -

They do say a picture is worth a thousand words!

So glad you had a nice stay and thank you for the feedback.

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Groupon, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.