We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service as if you were Royalty!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Mary

Save Saved
You added The Queen Mary to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queen Mary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bacon Festival Package
Ranked #13 of 58 hotels in Long Beach
San Diego, California
1 review
“Service as if you were Royalty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Arriving Friday night, we started our weekend in the Observation Bar to plan our itierary with our other 4 couples from San Diego. The perfect place to begin! Then, we dined in Chelsea's Chowder house with an amazing fare from salads to fresh seafood. The period cocktail list is sure to put you in a '40's state of mind!

The next day after Starbucks while sitting on the Sundeck enjoying the crisp view of the LB skyline, we began the Diana exhibit. After 2 hours, we were still wanting more, but had to make our 1pm reservations in the Tea Room. This was probably one of the most unique and classy experiences at a most reasonable price. If there is any doubt as to what to order from the menu, take our advice and order the Windsor Tea. The quality and presentation of the food is absolutely the finest set in one of the most beautiful rooms on the ship with views of the skyline. And Melissa was the most wonderful ambassador for the Tea experience!

Up to Sir Winston's later that night for a pre-dinner cocktail and you truly feel like royalty to a wonderful pianist and cozy booth seatings.

Sunday morning, we enjoyed the incredible Sunday Champagne Brunch. I don't believe we have ever experienced anything finer, anywhere. The food and service was absolutely stately in every detail. In the afternoon and to walk off the champagne and food, we enjoyed the hotel guest-complimentary audio tour throughout the ship. Wonderful descriptions of so many unique QM with a fantastic wayfinding device!

The Queen Mary is the perfect venue for an experiential weekend, as a couple or with several, as we did. The history and uniqueness of this treasured liner filled our dinner conversations and all left with a bit of the Queen in their hearts.

This is an experience that you will truly remember and treasure. Guaranteed!



Room Tip: Treat yourself with a modest upgrade to a Harbor View cabin. You will have wished you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Greg K -

Thanks for the feedback.

Every great night starts at the Observation Bar with a cocktail. That's what I always say. Sounds like you and the group of couples had an absolutely delightful experience aboard the ship. We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    710
    890
    368
    183
    162
See reviews for
520
981
107
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (745)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malakoff, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The experience aboard the Queen Mary was exquisite. The staff went above and beyond to answer any questions and offer suggestions. The audio tour is the best I've taken. The ability to pause, continue, repeat or skip over made it truly a custom tour. We had an unusual noise above our room about 8pm. I went to the front desk to inquire what it was and if it would stop before bedtime. Even before investigating, the desk purser offered to move us to another room, even to harbor side and we did. Thanks Queen Mary for the royal treatment. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Velda F -

Thanks for the feedback and we are so thrilled you had such a wonderful visit to the Queen Mary!

You are welcome. We can't wait to host you again soon! Tell your friends and help spread the word. The Queen Mary is back!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

A beautiful and regal voyage into the past! Rich in history and carefully preserved works of art, staying on the Queen Mary is a must. The cabins are authentic with incredible woods and port holes - great for viewing lovely Long Beach. Room Service is outstanding, with Eggs Benedict the best I've tasted anywhere. In fact, there are many dining options on the Queen Mary all with excellent food. The Observation Bar offers a beautiful water views and breathtaking sunsets. The tours on the ship offer something for everyone and are a must. And not to be forgotten ... relaxing on the deck chairs for a good read or just taking in the Ocean. All generations will enjoy the Queen Mary and the five star service her staff and crew provide.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Forte_Abbracci -

She does live on.

You did the Queen Mary right. Nice work. Sounds like a wonderful, relaxing vacay.

We cannot wait to host you again soon.
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allentown pa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in the queen Mary hotel for a week.when we first got to the room it was hot .we opened the porthole no good.called down and they had to turn on the air for our room .location is number one .they have free buses that take you to downtoun and other places.food on board is expense but good.is a great jump off point to go to other places. many places to eat around .had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
bobmAllentownPa -

Thanks for the feedback and so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Queen Mary! That bus tip is a nice one- keep that in mind you Trip Advisors out there!

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Overall it was an enjoyable experience, but there were some areas if improved, would have made it so much better.
It was unpleasant to have to wait so long at the registration desk at 4.30pm, to then find out we had to wait for a room allocation. We went to wait at the Promenade cafe...(as did everyone else), and we had a 40minute wait for that also.
I appreciated that many people want to come and have a tour around the Queen Mary, and it is a source of revenue to conduct public tours. As a paying guest I was upset at having to share my residence with anybody and everybody.
I would have appreciated a guest only entrance. I would have appreciated a guest only tour at 9am before the public arrived at 10am. And I would have liked the public to be gone by 9pm, excluding dining guests already seated.
It is like taking a room at a museum.
The self guided tour was not sequential. Please reorganize that so that we start at a given point, and work through the boat without going from engine room to promenade, and back to propeller. It is a big boat...lots of stairs. Please make that more streamlined, and sequential.
Over all it was enjoyable, and I have recommended it to others.
I loved the original fittings and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Get a porthole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Sharyl D -

Thanks for the feedback, we appreciate it. Sounds like you had an awesome time save for some very small things. Currently, we are hosting CHILL - which our winter themed holiday event. As part of that and any special event - we give access to the Queen Mary. We do these events to expose as many people to her history and beauty that we can. We feel there are many perks already for our hotel guests, but will take your suggestions to note.

In regard to the self-guided audio tour - it is exactly that - self guided. So you can go in what ever order you would like!

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Over all we had a awesome experience.I booked a mini suit for my wife's bday for a day and night.I highly recommend for everyone to dine at Sir Winston's,the food is awesome.I also recommend the "Haunted Encounters Tour" for everyone and for those who are non-believers in Paranormal Activities like we were...well lets just say, we are now.My wife captured something weird on her phone vid while taking a recording of our room(rm# M018) to send off to our kids when I stepped out for some ice..(Scary but true) . She also capture something during the tour..so happy sleepings!! :/

Room Tip: Recommend a mini suit for anyone who books at the Queen Mary..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Jesse L -

Thanks for the feedback. Please log on to our Facebook page and share your awesome videos and photos. I am a non-believer myself and have yet to see anything aboard the ship that will make me change my mind.

So glad you had a fun visit and enjoyed the tours...kind a creepy :)

And yes - Sir Winston's is the bees knees!

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We decided to stay overnight and spend the day doing tours, Chill, etc. First, we paid for a Deluxe room, which ended up looking nothing like the picture on their website at all and the shower did not work!! I reported the shower to guest services twice and emailed about the shower and room in general. Nothing was taken off our bill and we left feeling as if we are not inclined to stay again. Chill was like going to the fair in winter and unless you have small children, a waste of money. The Ghosts and Encounters show was a waste of time and money. The Haunted History tour/guide was pretty good and worth it. The Promenade Cafe was good food, but terrible otherwise. I stood there waiting for someone to even acknowledge that I was there for at least 5 minutes. She kept walking by and seating others, but never even said hi. I only ordered soup and a salad and they each took forever. I asked for black tea and received green. To top it off, a poor little girl vomited on the floor and it took a long time for them to do anything about it. The Chelsea Chowder house and the Tea Room were excellent food and service!

Room Tip: Don't count on website descriptions and pictures. They don't match what you get.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
tiffan4 -

Thanks for the feedback and we are disappointed that you were not 100 percent pleased with your stay. The coolest thing about the Queen Mary is that no two rooms are alike. Some are refurbished. Some are authentic. Its a mixed bag. I find it hard to believe you did not enjoy CHILL at all? The incredible view of the Ice Kingdom? Going on an out-door ice skate with friends and family...in CALIFORNIA? On the Ocean? Lots of fun. And Ice Tubing - loads of fun there too.

We do apologize for the wait at Prom Cafe. Sounds like the meal was good, but a few small issues you had there. We will certainly look into them as we strive to deliver top notch customer service. We thank you for your patronage and cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.