We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun night's stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Mary

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Queen Mary to your Saves list
The Queen Mary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CHILL Hotel Package
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Monmouth, Illinois
1 review
“fun night's stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Easy to get to ship. Liked being able to explore at your own pace. The ship is beautiful. Ghosts and Legends tour was definitely worth taking! We had a habor side deluxe state room. The room was comfortable but the water was chilly for the shower. I would definitely recommend this to friends. Maybe next time I'll run into some ghosts!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Karen O -

Thanks for the feedback and we are so thrilled you had a wonderful visit...next time you are here, let us know...Ill make a few phone calls to get those ghosts ready for you.
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    1,122
    450
    214
    165
See reviews for
670
1,251
125
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

we stayed on the boat for two nights as part of a Great Rail Journeys Trip just before Christmas - we decided to pay for an upgrade to a suite. Don't bother!!The room was very shabby and the bathroom very unappealing. Due to defective air con in the two rooms we both contracted a dreadful virus. The boat has very poor security and the drinks bar unclean and on the whole very disappointing and a complete rip off as we paid £200 for the privilege of becoming ill! It looks good shored up in the harbour and the Lady Di exhibition was worth checking out if you are interested in her gowns!

Room Tip: don't bother upgrading if you value your health!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
mimibingley -

Thanks for the feedback and we are disappointed that you did not love your visit to the Queen Mary. I don't see a connection between your visit here and you getting ill and it really isn't fair to blame our hotel for you coming down with a flu bug.

Glad you enjoyed the Princess Di exhibit and we cannot wait to host you again soon!.

Please do feel better. No one likes being sick and it certainly is not a great way to kick off the new year.

Get well soon
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I booked by Expedia, so the first thing they told me was that I would be levied $10 per day in 'facility fees'. As specified in other reviews, it's to cover the cost of wifi, a "free" self-guided tour, gym access and phone calls - whether we want these services or not.

The other things I discovered in my first few hours here is that if I brought a car, I would be charged $20/day for the privilege of parking it; and that the cost of food is absurd.

A large pot of coffee delivered to the room is $12, bacon & eggs & toast is $17 per person. Add $3 for delivery and the 18% gratuity, and you're out about $60 for a greasy spoon breakfast.

Come to the Queen Mary to experience early 20th century splendour, and a death by a thousand cuts.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Bittermurray -

Thanks for the feedback and we are disappointed that you were not 100 percent pleased with your stay. Sounds like you are keen to the facilities fee we charge each room - $9.95 - which gives you the following:
1. Self guided Audio tour
2. Wi-Fi Internet
3. Local calls
4. Domestic long distance calls up to 30 minutes
5. Use of fitness center

We want you to learn about the ship as a hotel guest and her wonderful history - hence the audio tour - which has value in itself. Then we throw in the WIFI, the phone and the fitness center - a lot of value there.

Unfortunately we charge for parking in an effort to continue to improve the upkeep of the Queen Mary herself but also to generate revenue as all other hotels and restaurants do in Long Beach. Our goal though is to make it more affordable for our residents, thus why we have validation in our restaurants and lounges to reduce parking substantially. Our revenues have continued to grow and because of that we have been able to increase the money available to put back in the restoration of the ship for residents and guest alike for many years to come. I apologize if this is a deterrent for you to join us, but know that whatever dollars we do make, we make sure we continue to restore the Queen Mary to her original grandeur which is a significant expense.

We thank you for the feedback and look forward to seeing you aboard the ship again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We recently stayed New Year's Day for one evening. We had a king standard room, and got the Chill VIP package. We spent the day ice skating and ice tubing at the event, then had dinner at Sir Winston's. EXCELLENT 5 star resultant! French onion soup was the BEST I've ever had! Dinner was very pricey, but excellent service and food!! We continued our evening with the Paranormal ship walk, which was TOTTALY worth it!! It is TRUE... The Queen Mary is one of the top 10 haunted places!! The tour would make you a believer !! We were also in a "haunted room" -a128, and had paranormal activity going on... Which made it hard to sleep. Overall, excellent trip to take once in your lifetime.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Stremcha T -

Thanks for the feedback and we are so glad you had a wonderful visit. Our CHILL hotel package is awesome - spending New Year's Day Ice Skating, Ice Tubing and enjoying the Ice Kingdom is a great way to kick off the New Year. And to top it off with Sir Winston's and the Paranormal ship Walk? Awesome. You did it right!

We are so glad you had a wonderful visit. Please tell your friends. We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Chill overnight package was a great deal for our family. Took our two teenage daughters and they had a blast ice skating and tubing at the Chill and spending the night on the Queen Mary. Waited until late in the evening to get in line for tubing as the lines were long in the morning and afternoon but only waited 15 minutes in the evening. Only complaint would be the Cafe on the ship. Service was unfriendly and wait was too long considering the restaurant was not very crowded. Other than that the hotel and Chill were well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Amy -

Thanks for the feedback and for the five stars. We have said this until we are blue in the face - the CHILL hotel package is the best deal we have available....even for locals. You get to enjoy CHILL unlimited - Ice Skating, Ice Tubing and the Ice Kingdom. And you get a nice stay aboard the ship - a nice little getaway for the locals or a holiday vacation for those from abroad. Starting at $120. Great deal.

Happy holidays and we hope that you make CHILL and the Queen Mary a regular part of your holiday celebrations going forward.

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilstock, Somerset UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

After travelling from the UK on a road trip we were so looking forward to staying on the ship for one night but it was so disappointing. Our first mistake was to stay the night of 30th Dec as many areas were closed and being prepared for New Year's Eve celebrations. There was no hot water to wash or shower for which we insisted on a reduction on our bill. Service in the restaurant at breakfast was very slow and the food was not very warm or tasty. Overall it was nice to see the ship and I would say visit but don't stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Jawb65 -

Thanks for the feedback and we would invite you back again soon. The issues you experienced are both one-time events - NYE is a yearly event that we have thousands of people aboard the ship for and have to prepare for...while the hot water issue also was a one-time thing. We had ordered the new part to fix the issue and replaced it and shouldn't have an issue again. I highly recommend staying! People have a great time aboard the ship.
We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

If you've a love of history, the QM is a great place for a couple of days' stay. Try some of the tours and don't forget at least one of the Ghost tours. When the day guests leave, it gets pretty quiet and you can easily believe there are ghosts about. On the other side, we found the old ship a bit sad the night we arrived but in the sunshine with people around the next day, it came to life.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
butvp -

She is a grand old lady, isn't she?

So glad you had a wonderful visit and we cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.