We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful history experience mired in apathy!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Mary

Save Saved
You added The Queen Mary to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Queen Mary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dark Harbor Hotel Package
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
california
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful history experience mired in apathy!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel/ship has a wonderful and unique history which I read up on before making my reservation and I couldn't wait to get there. It is a beautiful old ship, built in the 1930's, reportedly haunted, still retaining some of the original art deco style and grace and the state rooms (ours looked just as it must have in the 1930's) are very comfortable. Dinner in one of the restaurants on board was delicious and the wait staff there was fine. However, be prepared to pay quite a bit for the ambience of the art deco bar. As far as the rest of the staff, we were terribly disappointed. Most seemed to be apathetic at best or just confused. We could not get the same answer twice re: directions, cost of wi-fi, parking, etc. Then, there was an electrical fire and the hotel was evacuated. This happened during the dinner hour and while, of course, unavoidable, the hotel staff made not one effort to come outside to the parking lot where all the guests were standing for well over an hour to explain what was happening, offer a glass of water or a chair to one of many elderly guests, possibly give an idea of how long it would last or let them know if they should go somewhere to eat or be able to return to the meals they left in the restaurant. The restaurant had closed by the time we were allowed back on board. There was absolutely no compensation, let alone even a hint of hospitality shown to the quests. Next time we visit, we will take the tour, but stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Be aware that it's an old ship and the staterooms are small. If you want a larger room, request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
CaliforniaJwren -

Thank you for your feedback and we are so sorry that the fire alarm incident occurred and ruined what sounded like a pretty amazing experience. We work hard to make sure every one of our customers is 100 percent satisfied and it pains me to hear this story. We will look into this incident and make sure that we work on our service recovery after an incident like this occurred.

We are thankful you enjoyed your stay for the most part.

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    977
    389
    195
    160
See reviews for
595
1097
114
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (846)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pebble Beach, California, Usa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

my husband and I want to go on a cruise and take our son so we took him to stay on the Queen Mary so he could see how large and safe it is and at 1:00 in the morning the fire alarm went off and not just once but several times he was so scared that he wouldn't take his shoes off to sleep and slept in his close. the last alarm was around 3 am. we had to get up at 6 am to catch a tour and was so tired did not make for a good day. the next morning the fire alarm went off again. when I inquired they said it was kids playing around but I am not buying it. I also think they need more elevators I just had a knee replacement and had to go up and down the stairs because of the wait form wedding parties and it was very hard for me. the best part of the trip was the Princess Diana exhibit. I will not stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Trish J -

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are so thrilled you loved the Princess Diana exhibit. We are disappointed, however, that you were not 100 percent satisfied with your stay aboard the ship.

Unfortunately, there were only a few elevators installed on the ship originally - remember this ship was created 80 years ago and we are trying to preserve the ship as much to its original launch as possible...

In regard to the Fire Alarms - apologies on the inconvenience. They are quite common in the hotel industry and we will do our best to communicate effectively with our guests in regard to them.

Thanks again for the feedback and we cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A wonderful experience staying on this historic ship. Lots of photos of previous (and famous) guests, with lots to see and explore. There is a long history of hauntings on this ship, which adds to the adventure. The cabins/rooms are original with lots of interesting fittings in the room from the ship's 'heyday' and these add to the charm. There are many dining options and there is a free bus which takes you downtown. There is a Metro service from Long beach to Los Angeles, a pleasant journey. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
depow1954 -

She is a grand old dame isn't she!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a must if you want to experience history. From the rooms to Sir Winston's and in between it's at the top of the scale. This is an 80 year old ship that has a sole and you can experience it in all aspects. The staff was great and the tours are worth it. Take James tour of the glory days and you will be in awe!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Robert H -

Happy belated 60th bday!

So glad you enjoyed your stay aboard our wonderful ship and we cannot wait to play host to you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went on two tours before we checked into our hotel room. The tours were informative, and one a little scary; we enjoyed them. At 4p.m. we went to check-in at the hotel desk, and that's where we had a bad time. A lady at the check-in desk gave us the wrong type of room. We had to drag our luggage a long way, and then drag it back again to the desk. I told a man at the desk that I paid more money for a bigger room, and that lady over there gave us a small room. The man was nice and gave us a bigger room, and things were good again. The next problem we had is when we left the hotel in our car, and when we came back our key card wouldn't open the gate. There were no employees around, so I called the front desk and they said," just take another ticket"; the whole leaving, and coming back, and leaving to go home was annoying! On a positive note, it's a nice place to visit at least once in your life. Also the king size bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: I highly recommend a bigger room than one of the smaller rooms. I think the bigger rooms are called...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Shelly2010CA -

Thank you for your feedback and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay aboard the ship. The tours are a lot of fun and very informative. We do apologize for the small inconveniences you had along the way. Parking is automatically charged to your room at $17 per night.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

First timers...Book a room with a porthole Harbour side, forget the standard staterooms unless your there as a regular etc..it's 80 years old but well kept except the minor things.. No air con just air flow, portholes open up. Just pick good weather.. Check out the boat but catch the free red passport bus to town at night that way you see more! Walls are thin, but noise curfew is strict..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
mini_kakas -

It is a grand ship, isn't it.

We are so glad you enjoyed your say and cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Queen Mary was everything we expected it to be fabulous dining rooms and art deco bar,service was great and the cabins were amazing to think she was built in the 1930's.We did not relize that she was a quarter bigger than the Titanic.Our stay was like having a cruise but not having a cruise,the history and being able to tour the ship from bridge to engine room was wonderfull.Also a free shuttle bus goes every 15 minutes to Long Beach City and a water taxi back to the ship was only $1.All in all a great 3 day stay not to be missed.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Selwyn072 -

Thank you for your feedback and for the FIVE STARS!

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay aboard the ship and cannot wait to play host to you again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.