We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand old dame of the seas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Mary

Save Saved
You added The Queen Mary to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Queen Mary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shoreline Jam Package
Ranked #12 of 58 hotels in Long Beach
Maroochydore, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A grand old dame of the seas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A wonderful experience staying on this historic ship. Lots of photos of previous (and famous) guests, with lots to see and explore. There is a long history of hauntings on this ship, which adds to the adventure. The cabins/rooms are original with lots of interesting fittings in the room from the ship's 'heyday' and these add to the charm. There are many dining options and there is a free bus which takes you downtown. There is a Metro service from Long beach to Los Angeles, a pleasant journey. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
depow1954 -

She is a grand old dame isn't she!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    788
    945
    377
    189
    162
See reviews for
578
1056
114
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (814)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a must if you want to experience history. From the rooms to Sir Winston's and in between it's at the top of the scale. This is an 80 year old ship that has a sole and you can experience it in all aspects. The staff was great and the tours are worth it. Take James tour of the glory days and you will be in awe!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Robert H -

Happy belated 60th bday!

So glad you enjoyed your stay aboard our wonderful ship and we cannot wait to play host to you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went on two tours before we checked into our hotel room. The tours were informative, and one a little scary; we enjoyed them. At 4p.m. we went to check-in at the hotel desk, and that's where we had a bad time. A lady at the check-in desk gave us the wrong type of room. We had to drag our luggage a long way, and then drag it back again to the desk. I told a man at the desk that I paid more money for a bigger room, and that lady over there gave us a small room. The man was nice and gave us a bigger room, and things were good again. The next problem we had is when we left the hotel in our car, and when we came back our key card wouldn't open the gate. There were no employees around, so I called the front desk and they said," just take another ticket"; the whole leaving, and coming back, and leaving to go home was annoying! On a positive note, it's a nice place to visit at least once in your life. Also the king size bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: I highly recommend a bigger room than one of the smaller rooms. I think the bigger rooms are called...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Shelly2010CA -

Thank you for your feedback and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay aboard the ship. The tours are a lot of fun and very informative. We do apologize for the small inconveniences you had along the way. Parking is automatically charged to your room at $17 per night.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

First timers...Book a room with a porthole Harbour side, forget the standard staterooms unless your there as a regular etc..it's 80 years old but well kept except the minor things.. No air con just air flow, portholes open up. Just pick good weather.. Check out the boat but catch the free red passport bus to town at night that way you see more! Walls are thin, but noise curfew is strict..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
mini_kakas -

It is a grand ship, isn't it.

We are so glad you enjoyed your say and cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Queen Mary was everything we expected it to be fabulous dining rooms and art deco bar,service was great and the cabins were amazing to think she was built in the 1930's.We did not relize that she was a quarter bigger than the Titanic.Our stay was like having a cruise but not having a cruise,the history and being able to tour the ship from bridge to engine room was wonderfull.Also a free shuttle bus goes every 15 minutes to Long Beach City and a water taxi back to the ship was only $1.All in all a great 3 day stay not to be missed.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Selwyn072 -

Thank you for your feedback and for the FIVE STARS!

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay aboard the ship and cannot wait to play host to you again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

For the price you pay to stay here they should have better service and engineering systems....hot and cold spots everywhere....bar was way too warm...not staffed for the crowd...water temp in room was terrible....just a lack of good customer service.....

Room Tip: Pay extra for a outside stateroom....we heard they were better then the inside ones..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Scott O -

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so sorry that you were not 100 percent satisfied with your stay aboard our wonderful ship. Please know we work hard to make sure every guest has a memorable experience.

We look forward to hosting you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California, Usa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a TERRIBLE experience from start to finish!! We decided to stay one night over this Labor Day weekend. I had purchased tickets to a concert for Saturday and a chili/brew fest on Sunday. Upon check in, the boat seems extremely HOT inside. Our room was unbearably warm as well. Had to call twice to have them put cool air in our room and the room still was almost unbearable to sleep in that evening. We had another couple with us as well, and they too had to call twice to have cool air put in their room.
The concert did not go so well either. After I entered and they scanned my ticket, they told me there was NO re entry after they scanned the tickets. How about telling us that BEFORE you scan the tickets. We arrived at the concert at about 4 and the band we wanted to see wasn't til 10pm. Since I was a hotel guests, I should have been able to leave and re enter. We ended up leaving without seeing the band we really wanted to see and were not allowed re entry. We then decided to get some drinks at the Observation Bar while the kids went to the arcade. We could not find a change machine in arcade, it was apparently taken off the wall. We asked the bar if they could give us quarters and they said they could only give us $ 2.00 in change and we would have to go to guest relations. We went to guest relations and they told us to get them from arcade. After explaining there was no change machine, they argued that there was and that she had just seen it. I guess she didn't believe us? After awhile they agreed to give us change, but they had to look for the quarter rolls which took a long time. After FINALLY getting the quarters for the kids, we headed back to the bar. It was so HOT inside we decided to sit outside in the 88 degree weather which seemed much cooler than inside. No one came to ask us for our order for about 25 minutes! After finally getting my mai tai, I asked the waitress if I had received the correct drink. She said yes, that it was not the traditional mai tai and asked in a rude tone "didn't you read the description on the menu"? She offered to make me a "traditional" mai tai and when she brought it she asked me to taste if before she left to make sure it was fine. She seemed highly irritated. Maybe it was the extreme heat we were all made to suffer in. That evening none of us got any sleep because our room was so hot and stuffy. The cool air they said they put in either wasn't enough, or they never did actually put the air in to begin with.


The next morning we had breakfast at the Promenade Cafe. Their computer system was down for credit cards, and we sat there waiting for about 30 minutes after we requested the check before we could pay and leave! We had a ghost tour at noon and were going to be late. After finally being able to pay our bill, we ran to the ghost tour area for our tour. We made it in time, but the tour guide DID NOT. He was 25 minutes late arriving while we sat there waiting in the unbearable heat. The tour was a waste of money and we could barely understand what he was saying he talked so fast. Our kids were so disappointed and we all agreed it was a waste of time and money.

The next thing we had scheduled was the Chili/Brew Fest. Upon arriving, there were NO shady areas for sitting and it was an unbearable 94 degrees. Even the seating they did have was very limited and no one wanted to sit in the hot sun anyway. At about 2pm they had already run out of chili at most of the vendor booths and our purchased tasting tickets became useless. We ended up leaving and decided that this was IT, we were checking out and leaving the Queen Mary for good!
We had already checked out before the Chili fest and had our bags held at the bell desk. When we arrived at the bell desk, a gentleman (I use that term loosely) named Christopher said in a rude way "your bags are already down stairs at the entrance". He seemed bothered and irritated that we didn't already know that. I asked him why they didn't tell us when we checked our bags that we could pick them up down stairs. He snapped at me and told me "Aren't you going down stairs anyway to leave"? Before my husband could lose his temper, we asked for his name and went down to get the bags. Another bell guy directed us to a huge room and told us to look for our own luggage among stacks of other luggage in a HOT room. My husband spend 20 minutes searching the huge pile of luggage and did not find ours. They told us to go back upstairs that it probably never came down!! We went back up and there it was!

I have never experienced such HORRIBLE customer service EVER from any hotel. It was all around unacceptable in every way. I will NEVER attend another event, or stay aboard the Queen Mary again. My Labor Day weekend was RUINED. We also invited another couple and they had an equally terrible experience as well. I will NEVER stay aboard the Queen Mary again. I feel like I threw good money out the window.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
T C. -

Thank you for your feedback and we are so sorry you did not enjoy Shoreline Jam, the Chili Brewfest and your stay aboard the Queen Mary. On our tickets and on our website - we mentioned that there was no re-entry for the event. We provided 12 hours of entertainment during this amazing show! We are so sorry you were unable to see the band you wished to see - I am guessing Pepper? Heck of a show.

That arcade situation sounds a bit odd - we'll look into it and see if there is something we can do to rectify it. We do apologize for the inconvenience.

On Sunday morning, we have a network outage. There was nothing we could do - but it effected multiple areas - not just the Queen Mary - and was down for a good 30 minutes. We do apologize for the inconvenience there. In regard to our Chili and Brewfest - it was a first-time run event and we have learned from some of the feedback we got in regard to it. We will fix these issues and make sure we make this event a Queen Mary quality event - a brand that the public can see and know it will be of quality.

Thank you again for the feedback and we do hope to make it up to you sometime soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;