We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Mary

Save Saved
You added The Queen Mary to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Queen Mary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shoreline Jam Package
Ranked #11 of 58 hotels in Long Beach
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Totally awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. Everything was excellent from the employees to the historic rooms. The tours were really good. We especially liked the ghost tour, the host was excepetional he really should get an award. Dining was really good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
travelerdave007 -

Thank you so much for the feedback and for the five stars! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay aboard our beautiful ship - dining, tours etc.

Sounds like you had a great time and we cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,463 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    788
    947
    377
    189
    162
See reviews for
579
1057
114
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We parked and checked in really quickly and easily, although those who checked in just after us may not say the same as the check in queue was huge later on that day.

We were really looking forward to our stay and we had been warned what to expect so were not disappointed. The QM has a great deal of character and lots of history attached to her. The Art Deco styling throughout the boat is beautiful.

You do however have to remember that she is elderly and have to put up with the lack of sound proofing and air conditioning.

The bath was a short bath and ours had no plug. There was also no danger of anyone over 5' 6" getting their hair wet in the shower.

We ate at Winston's one evening and the food was excellent.

We also had to pay extra for our Internet.

She was also getting a bit shabby but if you can see through that then the experience is amazing.

There is a free shuttle bus that takes you into Long Beach which was useful as there are no shops or restaurants near the boat.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour side view. It's worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
LizR3011 -

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay aboard our beautiful ship! Sounds like you had a wonderful visit and really enjoyed Sir Winston's - a great restaurant right?

We charge a $9.95 facilities fee with our rooms here aboard the Queen Mary. The fee includes:
1. Self guided tour
2. Wi-Fi Internet
3. Local calls
4. Domestic long distance calls up to 30 minutes
5. Use of the newly renovated fitness center

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you're a fan of the golden era of travel and luxury liners, in particular, you'll enjoy a stay on board this classic ship. The staff is friendly and the cabins are clean and cozy. The ship retains much of its original decor, so the beds and bathrooms are a bit smaller than other hotels.

The interior rooms and dining facilities are clean and well-maintained. The ship's exterior could definitely use a new coat of paint but the ship's charm and elegance remain, despite her years!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
dj33161 -

So glad you enjoyed your stay. She is a classic ship and retains her "charm and elegance."

We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay aboard our ship and can't wait to host you again!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Live in a slice of history for a night and take in the tours and all the ambiance of a past time. Staying mid week is less expensive than the weekend and if a better room is available at check in, you can up grade for $20-40 dollars. That will give you a bigger room and port holes that actually open.

If you want to bathe during your stay be sure and check to see if the plumbing works in the bath and shower as soon as you get in the room. When we went to shower at 10 PM we discovered there was no working shower or bath. Power outlets are few and far between as well.

Be prepared to walk as getting around can be a challenge depending in the desired destination. Should you take one of the tours available be prepared for lots of walking.

Room Tip: If you take one of the tours, James is an excellent tour leader.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Albuquerque108 -

Thanks for your feedback and some great tips here for travelers - midweek stays certainly do get a bit of a price break and James is one of our best tour guides and is highly sought after.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and thankful you knocked something off that bucket list!

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Loved the fact that you get to stay on a historic ocean liner. Loved the Original Art Deco styling. Loved the fact that as a guest you can wander around on a self guided tour-the engine room in particular was amazing. As a hotel it's a bit tired and tatty, but obviously as a historic ship it's difficult to modernise. But it's beautiful and stylish.

However, I Didn't love that the rooms are so noisy - both from the port outside and the guests in adjoining/upstairs rooms. You can hear every word spoken - the hotel really should point out how noise carries here and try to enforce quiet hours!
Didn't love that Starbucks on board charged for a cup to put water in, despite the fact that we were spending $30+ on coffee and muffins.
Didn't love that so much is being made of the whole 'ghost/spirit' thing, when the ship is amazing in its own right.

Finally, the maps and directions could be more helpful. We found it really difficult to find our way around. Perhaps this is to encourage the purchase of the guided tours.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Nikkisibley -

Thank you for your feedback and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay aboard the Queen Mary. Our Art Deco collection is the the bee's knees - in fact we are hosting an Art Deco Festival that might be worth the visit Labor Day Weekend! Glad you enjoyed the engine room and the tour of the ship. We encourage all of our guests to explore the ship while on board - its a great way to fine some of the nooks and crannies the ship has to offer.

And thank you for your feedback in regard to the Midship Marketplace - that is certainly something we can review. In regard to noise, it is an old ship and is meant to be at sea - with wind, waves, sea animals and the engines roaring - which created sort of a white noise for our guests back in her heyday. Obviously, we are no longer at sea and from time to time, guests can experience a bit of noise. We offer complementary ear plugs at the front desk to help accommodate those guests.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay aboard our beautiful ship and we cannot wait to play host to you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I had my first-ever visit to the Queen Mary last Friday night for dinner and drinks. I absolutely loved it. From the awesome cocktails to the atmosphere of the ship...it was a great experience. I was also pleasantly surprised how easy parking was and getting around the ship itself. It's an old ship, but that's to be expected. But the quality of everything was nice. I can't wait to go there again...this time I may just spend the weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Jeremy Z -

Thank you for your feedback and we are so thrilled that you had such a great experience. We must say of all the avatars we have ever seen on Trip Advisor, yours might be the best! Is that you holding the Stanley Cup? Incredible!

We are so glad you had such an amazing time aboard the ship and enjoyed some delicious cocktails aboard this historic vessel.

Hopefully, we will see you aboard the ship again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a great place to visit if you love stairs. The rooms have the old look and great wood but you could hear everything and I mean everything in the rooms on either side of you. No air circulation of any kind and leaving the port holes open meant listening to the very noisy port. Go for a visit just don't stay there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
travelingagainWa -

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. The Queen Mary was constructed in the 1930s, prior to much of the technological improvements that we all know and love today...stairs were a bit more common and expected back then. Also, the ship was designed to be at sea and hence a lot of noise from the ocean - wind, waves, engines, sea life, birds etc - that would cancel out the noise from inside the ship. We do offer complementary ear plugs at the front desk to any of our guests that feel the noise is too loud.

We do hope to see you aboard again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.