We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Queen Mary 4th of July spectacular” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Mary

Save Saved
You added The Queen Mary to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queen Mary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 58 hotels in Long Beach
Torrance, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Queen Mary 4th of July spectacular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

First off, I have to say the fireworks were beautiful. I was slightly disappointed that they were not choreographed somehow to a soundtrack. My very favorite fireworks shows that I have been to over the years have always been themed and with American music and choreographed to the fireworks going up in the sky. The ship was pretty crowded and a little hard to get around on but not overly so. The drinks were expensive and I only had a couple, and I would never choose again to eat on the ship. The restaurants were completely booked and impossible to get into but, all around the decks of the ship they had buffet style burgers and hotdogs and the sort. It took 45 minutes to get 2 burgers and a cup of chili for $35. If I were to do this again I would definitely eat before I got on the ship. Now here's the kicker... I knew that getting off the ship would be quite a task as there were so many people and there's really only a couple of places to leave the ship. The elevators are tiny and the stairways are very small as well so if you can imagine a bottleneck of people all moving in the same time direction with the same goal of reaching land. So we made it to our car, and eventually were able to get out of our parking spot and start moving with the droves of people leaving the port, and as we passed the intersection where we would turn to connect to the 110 it was blocked. Ok, so we press on and I are directed on to the 710. No problem. We will connect to the 110 or take the exit to downtown Long Beach or we can flip around to go home. No.... Everyone has been now pushed on to the 710, and not just from the Queen Mary but it seems from every event in Long Beach. every single exit off of the 710 that we passed until Anaheim Street was completely blocked and it took us an hour and a half to get there.it almost seems as though Long Beach was kicking everybody out, there was no way to turn anywhere and all we could see for miles ahead of us were red lights. Mind you I live in Torrance so I am truly only about 25 to 30 minutes away, and it took me nearly two hours to get home. The only thing that I could suggest is that Long Beach take a better look how to move people out of their city through more than one freeway.If I am to do the Queen Mary again I will absolutely eat before I get on the ship, and maybe even book a hotel on the ship. Even if I had booked a hotel near the Queen Mary it would have taken me forever to get there and with all the exits blocked I'm not even sure how I would have done that...

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
WendyMomofThree –

Sounds like you enjoyed the All-American Fourth of July aboard our ship. We appreciate your feedback and will look into ways of making more food outlets available aboard the ship during our annual Fourth of July event. And we do recommend staying aboard the ship for the event – but you have to book fast, we sell out quickly!

In regard to your tough drive home – wow! Two hours to Torrance…might as well have driven to Vegas! Obviously we do not control what the City of Long Beach does to its freeways, but in the future, we can look into ways of working with the city to post traffic advisories on our website to help keep our guests informed of any closures.

We hope to see you aboard the ship again soon…especially at next year’s Fourth of July event – which will be even bigger and better!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,465 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    790
    947
    377
    189
    162
See reviews for
580
1058
114
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgecrest, California, Usa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We paid $161 for the Delux King Stateroom. Compared to the prices of other hotels in Long Beach this was a GREAT value. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable and had great historical atmosphere. However, there are always extra charges in every hotel that puts the price up - you do have to pay for parking and an amenities fee. Even so, this was STILL a great value.
The ship is delightful. The freedom to explore the ship and take the self guided worked well for us as we could walk around at our own leisure. We came across wonderful live music each time we walked by the Observation Lounge. From the Engine Room to the Bridge we found interesting things to look at.
We only ate breakfast aboard once but it was filling and tasty. The rest of the time we took the FREE shuttle bus to Long Beach and enjoyed the beautiful waterfront. We also spend $1 each way for the water taxi. If you're paying for parking at the ship why pay for it in Long Beach? Take the bus or boat and walk the streets. Long Beach itself has a great choice of places to eat, lots of music and enjoyable walkways.
We for sure would do this again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Lynnshire –

Glad you Loved your stay aboard our ship…and Trip Advisor folks – Lynnshire’s tip on the free shuttle bus and the water taxi is golden…a good way to get around Long Beach – though the water taxi is only available during the summer.

We hope to see you aboard the ship again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were looking forward to an evening away on the Queen Mary Hotel and were disappointed in the lack of attention to detail in the maintenance of the facility. The room was fine - but the rest of the ship was sorely lacking in attention to detail - pealing and chipping paint, dirty tables and floors, massive stains in the carpets.... it was nothing short of disgusting, so much so, we couldn’t bring ourselves to eat at any of the eateries on the ship for fear that the kitchens were maintained in the same lack-luster manner as the rest of the ship. The staff was friendly and helpful, but that didn’t make-up for the other disappointments.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Harbor Side are prefered and you can ask for a "haunted" room if that is some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
lmcbee –

Thank you for your feedback and we are so sorry that you are disappointed in your stay. Our kitchens are impeccable and some of our restaurants are award winning – Sir Winston’s for instance. In regard to the condition of the 80-year old ship – we and the City of Long Beach have a preservation plan in place to keep up with the maintenance of the ship. You can view that on our Website here: https://www.queenmary.com/preservation.php

We do hope to see you aboard the ship again soon and give one of our delicious restaurants a try!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you’re one for Art Deco décor and Titanic era ships, you will love this hotel. The ship itself is immaculate and the staff was very friendly throughout my stay. A must see is without question the Engine Room which is very easy to miss. To get to it, go to the elevators at the entrance of the hotel (not on the ship) and get off on the second floor; then follow the stairs to the aft quarters of the ship. Present your hotel card and you’re good to go, there’s a huge exhibit hall full of information about the ship and a stairway leading to the engine room; allot some time to peruse as it is massive.

Take note, food and drinks are very expensive on the ship. Be prepared to drop anywhere from 6 to 8 bucks for a beer and at least 20 bucks for a meal. As well, if you're planning to leave the ship be sure to pre-pay for parking when you check in. Then you can swipe your room card in the parking exit/entrance machines and be free to go at anytime.

Finally... this ship IS without question haunted. Don't freak if something happens.

Room Tip: You might consider a room located in the "center" of the ship. The reason is the ship is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
BenjaminCali –

Sounds like you had a paranormal experience aboard the ship – this is a reason she is referred to as one of the most haunted places in the world…Feel free to follow us on Facebook and tell us your story…we’d love to hear it. And since you love the Art Deco, you might want to check out our Art Deco Festival Labor Day weekend.

Hope to see you aboard again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went down to the Queen Mary for the 4th of July celebration and spent the night. Only room available when I booked was an outside twin room. We stayed on the M level which is up above the A deck where you check in. This is important - make sure you ask for a room with two port hole windows if you are in a standard deluxe room!! If not you will get something quite below what you expect. Our room was lovely (M155) and I would recommend it. Our friend's room (A125) was not. It was the luck of the draw. We found out later one of the keys is asking for a double port hole windowed room. We also stayed on the harbor side, not the port side - another real plus. In this hotel, the room placement and layout is critical and almost all the rooms are different so please, spend the time to ask the front desk about the room before you agree to it. Remember too - this is an OLD ship. The walls are paper thin so you can even hear a conversation from the room next to you. The plumbing is old but it works adequately.

The 4th Celebration was fun but it was very crowded. I think it's worth doing once but maybe that's it. As to the Queen Mary itself as a place to stay - is a good experience. If money is not an issue, request a suite. And make sure you ask about the windows!!! :)

Room Tip: Important to really ask the front desk about the room and if they will allow it - ask to see it befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
CyndiMom –

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay aboard the ship and our Fourth of July celebration…and you are right, no two rooms are alike aboard the ship…one of the fun nuances of a ship this old.
We hope to see you aboard the ship again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 1 night on the 4th of July. The accommodations were very nice and clean. The fireworks were amazing. The only problem is that they allow guests and no gests together on the same deck so it was impossible to move around. Guests should have a separate deck. The fee for the night was expensive and there were no tours included, so, many of the interesting rooms, as the swimming pool and engine room couldn't be visited by us (when we tried to book a tour, everything was sold out because the non guest visitors fill the ship in a way that makes it impossible to have a pleasant time). We ended up having a good time but the organization of the event was poor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Globetrotter3331 –

First of all – great username for Trip Advisor. Secondly, thanks very much for your feedback. Our Fourth of July event is one of the busiest times aboard the ship, both for our guests staying in the hotel and guests just attending the events for the amazing firework show you mentioned. This event is a regular sell out and therefore very crowded…one tip would be to purchase the VIP tickets to the event in the future, they have their own area for the entire evening and even had live music and tunes from KROQ.

We hope to see you aboard the ship again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed on the Queen Mary for 6 nights while attending a conference at the Long Beach Convention Center. It is great if you like a vintage experience; if you prefer modern amenities, it probably isn't for you. The ship is impressive and this is a large part of the appeal. My room was a deluxe king which was very spacious and had a fantastic porthole view over the harbor. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was a nice desk space for work. The bathroom is definitely of an older variety, but there was plenty of hot water and good water pressure in the shower. Though be prepared - the tub is more narrow than you think. The toilet is a bit unusual - you need to flush it a lot (the flushometer is on the wall!) But overall, the room was great, with the only challenge being the noise from neighboring rooms. Also note that the hallways on the ship are long.
Only ate on the ship for breakfast, but this was excellent. Also, the bar is open late which was nice, even for a cup of tea.
It is worth exploring the various parts of the ship as it is beautiful. If visiting Long Beach again, I would definitely stay on the Queen Mary.

Room Tip: The hallways are long. If you prefer not to walk a long way to your room, let the front desk staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
explore with more -

So glad you enjoyed your stay aboard the ship…you hit the nail on the head in your review.
We hope to see you aboard the ship again soon…next time you are in Long Beach, deal?

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;