We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“British Excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Mary

Save Saved
You added The Queen Mary to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Queen Mary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dark Harbor Hotel Package
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Cali
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“British Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you’re one for Art Deco décor and Titanic era ships, you will love this hotel. The ship itself is immaculate and the staff was very friendly throughout my stay. A must see is without question the Engine Room which is very easy to miss. To get to it, go to the elevators at the entrance of the hotel (not on the ship) and get off on the second floor; then follow the stairs to the aft quarters of the ship. Present your hotel card and you’re good to go, there’s a huge exhibit hall full of information about the ship and a stairway leading to the engine room; allot some time to peruse as it is massive.

Take note, food and drinks are very expensive on the ship. Be prepared to drop anywhere from 6 to 8 bucks for a beer and at least 20 bucks for a meal. As well, if you're planning to leave the ship be sure to pre-pay for parking when you check in. Then you can swipe your room card in the parking exit/entrance machines and be free to go at anytime.

Finally... this ship IS without question haunted. Don't freak if something happens.

Room Tip: You might consider a room located in the "center" of the ship. The reason is the ship is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
BenjaminCali –

Sounds like you had a paranormal experience aboard the ship – this is a reason she is referred to as one of the most haunted places in the world…Feel free to follow us on Facebook and tell us your story…we’d love to hear it. And since you love the Art Deco, you might want to check out our Art Deco Festival Labor Day weekend.

Hope to see you aboard again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    972
    389
    195
    160
See reviews for
593
1095
114
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went down to the Queen Mary for the 4th of July celebration and spent the night. Only room available when I booked was an outside twin room. We stayed on the M level which is up above the A deck where you check in. This is important - make sure you ask for a room with two port hole windows if you are in a standard deluxe room!! If not you will get something quite below what you expect. Our room was lovely (M155) and I would recommend it. Our friend's room (A125) was not. It was the luck of the draw. We found out later one of the keys is asking for a double port hole windowed room. We also stayed on the harbor side, not the port side - another real plus. In this hotel, the room placement and layout is critical and almost all the rooms are different so please, spend the time to ask the front desk about the room before you agree to it. Remember too - this is an OLD ship. The walls are paper thin so you can even hear a conversation from the room next to you. The plumbing is old but it works adequately.

The 4th Celebration was fun but it was very crowded. I think it's worth doing once but maybe that's it. As to the Queen Mary itself as a place to stay - is a good experience. If money is not an issue, request a suite. And make sure you ask about the windows!!! :)

Room Tip: Important to really ask the front desk about the room and if they will allow it - ask to see it befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
CyndiMom –

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay aboard the ship and our Fourth of July celebration…and you are right, no two rooms are alike aboard the ship…one of the fun nuances of a ship this old.
We hope to see you aboard the ship again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 1 night on the 4th of July. The accommodations were very nice and clean. The fireworks were amazing. The only problem is that they allow guests and no gests together on the same deck so it was impossible to move around. Guests should have a separate deck. The fee for the night was expensive and there were no tours included, so, many of the interesting rooms, as the swimming pool and engine room couldn't be visited by us (when we tried to book a tour, everything was sold out because the non guest visitors fill the ship in a way that makes it impossible to have a pleasant time). We ended up having a good time but the organization of the event was poor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Globetrotter3331 –

First of all – great username for Trip Advisor. Secondly, thanks very much for your feedback. Our Fourth of July event is one of the busiest times aboard the ship, both for our guests staying in the hotel and guests just attending the events for the amazing firework show you mentioned. This event is a regular sell out and therefore very crowded…one tip would be to purchase the VIP tickets to the event in the future, they have their own area for the entire evening and even had live music and tunes from KROQ.

We hope to see you aboard the ship again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed on the Queen Mary for 6 nights while attending a conference at the Long Beach Convention Center. It is great if you like a vintage experience; if you prefer modern amenities, it probably isn't for you. The ship is impressive and this is a large part of the appeal. My room was a deluxe king which was very spacious and had a fantastic porthole view over the harbor. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was a nice desk space for work. The bathroom is definitely of an older variety, but there was plenty of hot water and good water pressure in the shower. Though be prepared - the tub is more narrow than you think. The toilet is a bit unusual - you need to flush it a lot (the flushometer is on the wall!) But overall, the room was great, with the only challenge being the noise from neighboring rooms. Also note that the hallways on the ship are long.
Only ate on the ship for breakfast, but this was excellent. Also, the bar is open late which was nice, even for a cup of tea.
It is worth exploring the various parts of the ship as it is beautiful. If visiting Long Beach again, I would definitely stay on the Queen Mary.

Room Tip: The hallways are long. If you prefer not to walk a long way to your room, let the front desk staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
explore with more -

So glad you enjoyed your stay aboard the ship…you hit the nail on the head in your review.
We hope to see you aboard the ship again soon…next time you are in Long Beach, deal?

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkersville, Maryland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had an unexpected stay in Long Beach. We ended up on the Queen Mary Ship that is now a Hotel. Our room was amazing with a port hole that looked onto the city of Long Beach all lite up for the night. The room was clean but lighting dim. We had heard so many stories about how haunted this ship is but we didn't get to see any spirits or hear any noises. We ate dinner in one of the Dining rooms and the service and food was wonderful. Our waiter gave us directions to the ladies room, saying to go through the double doors, then right- the hall will be dark but you can get there by following the hall. The Maitre d saw us headed for the doorway, asked us where we going and said "no, you do not want to use that hall, it can be chilling." He then spent time at our table chatting with us and when we went to the bar he came in and kept up our conversation. We tried to talk him into taking us to the acclaimed most haunted place on the ship "the pool", but it was down below and locked for the night. His answer to taking us there was "no way am I visiting that area it is to scary and I would never take you ladies." We had tried to talk the bartender into taking us earlier and he said "no, it is was to creepy for him." So needless to say we didn't get to see the pool area. We would go back again to spend a bit more time exploring. The ship is beautiful with restored and original walls, wallpaper, doors and so much more. A great stop along the way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
16lob -

You can ask many of the staff to tell you their ghost story, seems everyone has one. If you are really curious about visiting some of these haunted locations, we have trained guides with experience in the paranormal area as part of our Queen Mary attractions at night. Highly recommended if you want that chilling experience.

We hope to see you aboard again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in a mini suite, which was roomy and had plenty of storage areas and nice decor. The room was in a good location. The view was great.

We had a few friends visit us in our room, and played the card game "Cards Against Humanity." We were asked to keep it down, but it was around midnight, so that's understandable. The walls are very thin, though, we could hear our neighbors talking loudly when they checked in. They banged on our wall when our friends showed up around 9, so they're likely the ones who complained. Anyway, we were told there were other levels of the ship where we could go be loud, but to please keep it down in the room. If you want to party in a (mini) suite, pick another hotel. Our card game was pretty rowdy, I guess, but we weren't even drinking. Wild. . .

So then, in the morning, my boyfriend swears someone opened our door twice, early. Once, we were in the middle of something, and didn't stop, once, we were asleep.

Around 10:30, knowing checkout was at noon, we were definitely walked in on, while lying in bed, naked. The housekeeper knocked as she opened the door (not before, so what's the point of knocking?!), then said, "oh, sorry, sorry!" as she shut the door. I had definitely put the "seeking our silence" card in the lock the night before, but it was gone when I checked for it after the maid walked in. I guess it's my bad for not locking the chain and deadbolt. . . but, really?!?!

At least we aren't shy.

Room Tip: Keep the noise down in your room. Call and complain about loud neighbors, before they complain about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
selvc

Thanks for your feedback…sounds like a wild game of cards! Apologies on the maid walking in on you, if the SOS card is gone, they typically go about their business – which I am sure we can all appreciated having our room cleaned!

As far as the other walk ins – are you sure they weren’t ghosts????

Hope to see you aboard the ship again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Ship were very nice attraction, like Titanic. We stayed there 2 nights, Hotel room's were old, but clean. I know rooms were supposed to be in original shape but still the bathroom needs renovation. Shower water was not very warm and water did not run down from the bathroom sink. Internet was not included in the room price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Ann_traveller33

So glad you enjoyed your stay aboard the ship and since you mentioned it, here is the Queen Mary vs. the Titanic: http://www.queenmary.com/our-story/titanic.php

Also – the WIFI is a part of your facilities fee ($9.95) that gets you wireless internet, plus access to our renovated gym, free long distances and local calls and a self-guided tour.

We do hope to see you aboard the ship again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.