We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping With The Spirits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Mary

Save Saved
You added The Queen Mary to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queen Mary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dark Harbor Hotel Package
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Walkersville, Maryland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Sleeping With The Spirits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had an unexpected stay in Long Beach. We ended up on the Queen Mary Ship that is now a Hotel. Our room was amazing with a port hole that looked onto the city of Long Beach all lite up for the night. The room was clean but lighting dim. We had heard so many stories about how haunted this ship is but we didn't get to see any spirits or hear any noises. We ate dinner in one of the Dining rooms and the service and food was wonderful. Our waiter gave us directions to the ladies room, saying to go through the double doors, then right- the hall will be dark but you can get there by following the hall. The Maitre d saw us headed for the doorway, asked us where we going and said "no, you do not want to use that hall, it can be chilling." He then spent time at our table chatting with us and when we went to the bar he came in and kept up our conversation. We tried to talk him into taking us to the acclaimed most haunted place on the ship "the pool", but it was down below and locked for the night. His answer to taking us there was "no way am I visiting that area it is to scary and I would never take you ladies." We had tried to talk the bartender into taking us earlier and he said "no, it is was to creepy for him." So needless to say we didn't get to see the pool area. We would go back again to spend a bit more time exploring. The ship is beautiful with restored and original walls, wallpaper, doors and so much more. A great stop along the way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
16lob -

You can ask many of the staff to tell you their ghost story, seems everyone has one. If you are really curious about visiting some of these haunted locations, we have trained guides with experience in the paranormal area as part of our Queen Mary attractions at night. Highly recommended if you want that chilling experience.

We hope to see you aboard again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    972
    389
    195
    160
See reviews for
592
1095
114
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in a mini suite, which was roomy and had plenty of storage areas and nice decor. The room was in a good location. The view was great.

We had a few friends visit us in our room, and played the card game "Cards Against Humanity." We were asked to keep it down, but it was around midnight, so that's understandable. The walls are very thin, though, we could hear our neighbors talking loudly when they checked in. They banged on our wall when our friends showed up around 9, so they're likely the ones who complained. Anyway, we were told there were other levels of the ship where we could go be loud, but to please keep it down in the room. If you want to party in a (mini) suite, pick another hotel. Our card game was pretty rowdy, I guess, but we weren't even drinking. Wild. . .

So then, in the morning, my boyfriend swears someone opened our door twice, early. Once, we were in the middle of something, and didn't stop, once, we were asleep.

Around 10:30, knowing checkout was at noon, we were definitely walked in on, while lying in bed, naked. The housekeeper knocked as she opened the door (not before, so what's the point of knocking?!), then said, "oh, sorry, sorry!" as she shut the door. I had definitely put the "seeking our silence" card in the lock the night before, but it was gone when I checked for it after the maid walked in. I guess it's my bad for not locking the chain and deadbolt. . . but, really?!?!

At least we aren't shy.

Room Tip: Keep the noise down in your room. Call and complain about loud neighbors, before they complain about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
selvc

Thanks for your feedback…sounds like a wild game of cards! Apologies on the maid walking in on you, if the SOS card is gone, they typically go about their business – which I am sure we can all appreciated having our room cleaned!

As far as the other walk ins – are you sure they weren’t ghosts????

Hope to see you aboard the ship again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Ship were very nice attraction, like Titanic. We stayed there 2 nights, Hotel room's were old, but clean. I know rooms were supposed to be in original shape but still the bathroom needs renovation. Shower water was not very warm and water did not run down from the bathroom sink. Internet was not included in the room price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Ann_traveller33

So glad you enjoyed your stay aboard the ship and since you mentioned it, here is the Queen Mary vs. the Titanic: http://www.queenmary.com/our-story/titanic.php

Also – the WIFI is a part of your facilities fee ($9.95) that gets you wireless internet, plus access to our renovated gym, free long distances and local calls and a self-guided tour.

We do hope to see you aboard the ship again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you've always wanted to know what an old cruise ship was like, the Queen Mary was the best in her day. I would recommend just touring it, not staying aboard, though. Our stateroom was large enough, though it had small single beds, tucked into alcoves against the walls. The woodwork was beautiful, what we could see of it. The two "windows" were portholes, almost impossible to open, and the illumination in the room was very dim. Any light fixture that accommodated two bulbs had only one, and they had to have been about 25 watts. Our lavatory had a big chunk broken out, and glued back in, the coating on the narrow bottomed tub was peeling up, the bottom of the tub so narrow that it was impossible to stand with feet together, which was unnerving to say the least, I couldn't help but wonder how many falls had occurred in the baths on board. The towels were small and ragged. Clean though! The toilet tissue holder kept falling off the wall, and the apparatus to flush the toilet was very difficult to operate satisfactorily. Be aware that in addition to the overpriced room, there is a $17 a day charge for self parking. Also, there is a notation in the literature in the room that the walls are very thin...which was not a problem when the ship was underway, as the noise of the engines drowned out sounds from room to room. Since the engines no longer operate...you can literally hear every word spoken in the next room...and everything else that goes on!! Everything!!! All that said, walking the long corridors was interesting because it was impossible not to think of all those who had walked them before us.

Room Tip: The staterooms looking out over the bay are nicer than the ones overlooking the "dock".
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Lynn –

Sounds like – for the most part – you enjoyed your stay aboard this classic ship. We do our best to keep up with the maintenance…feel free to visit our preservation plan on our website to learn more about all of the projects we do to keep the ship in well ship shape.

We hope to see you aboard the ship again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Not many hotels are a place to sleep and entertainment. We loved the self guided tour of the ship. Walking around and seeing all the amazing sites took up most of a afternoon. The staff are very friendly, the ship is big enough that you get a feeling of privacy.


Room Tip: Hold down the toilet flush lever to fully flush. Portholes open. Air conditioner struggled a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
hiram33 –

Glad you had a great stay aboard the ship. We are a hotel, events and attractions venue – lots of stuff to do…You hit the nail on the head.

We hope to see you aboard the ship again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego County
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Spent one night aboard the Queen Mary in a Junior Suite. Was listed as a Queen Bed, but sure felt like a double. I'm 6"2" and so we always go for a Queen or King for the extra length. My feet were hanging out the end of the bed. Beautiful old original wood paneling, wood doors, and original hardware. The Junior Suite had two bathrooms and large (by cruise ship standards) bedroom and a smaller living room. However, only two items were in the living room, a fold out sofa bed and one end table. Room looked a bit bare & empty, but assume they went light on furniture on purpose so the fold out bed wouldn't compete for space. Flat screen TV's, iPhone docking alarm clocks & high end bedding made up the modern upgrades. Wife loved that the large oval port holes were actually fully operational and you could get a fair amount of fresh air if desired.

We expected that the stateroom might have a musty or stale smell, but to our surprise there wasn't any odor issues at all. Bath tubs are huge, but water pressure slow and bathrooms appear to have been updated and were very clean. Closet space is limited in two small vertical cabinets, but not an issue for us, and I loved the old world wood work. You could get room service, although we didn't use it. Noise wasn't too bad, although you cold hear voices from adjoining rooms on occasion.

But the history, charm and once in a lifetime opportunity makes up for any minor short comings. We loved our stay, albeit short, and found the price very fair. Will return, was a great stop over for us on the way to Catalina

Food in the Promenade Restaurant was very good, service pretty good, and next time would love to try Winston's.

All in all - glad we booked.

Room Tip: Our Junior suite had an industrial type view. We were Port side (left). If I had been thinking I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Michael R –

Glad you enjoyed your stay aboard the ship and great call staying aboard prior to your trip to Catalina.

We can’t wait to see you again and yes, please do try Sir Winston’s! It’s delicious.

- The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

You can visit the ship, currently docked in Long Beach, serves as a hotel.
You can visit it, do tours and hear stories.
Last year, the ship hosted a spectacular exhibition of Princess Diana this medicine. In addition, Hmfosmt wedding dress and princess dresses.
You can sit and drink coffee or any other drink is wanted.
Lovers of ghost stories and mysteries mysterious - related to passenger ships contemporaries of the Titanic!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Meirav L –

Great review and glad you enjoyed your stay aboard the ship. We do still host the Princess Diana exhibit in addition to our many other tours and attractions.

We hope to see you again soon!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.