We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Queen Mary, nice but basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Mary

Save Saved
You added The Queen Mary to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Queen Mary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bacon Festival Package
Ranked #13 of 58 hotels in Long Beach
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Hotel Queen Mary, nice but basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The ship lies off the coast of Long Beach. The outside cabin is small but big enough for a room on a ship. The bathroom is small. The restaurant is elegant, the food is good. We have as big negative point experience that you can't relax on board. You can not sit and read a little bit in a lounger on deck or just take a dip in a pool. That you find off board. For the day you have to disembark.

Room Tip: Take a outside cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    710
    888
    367
    183
    162
See reviews for
520
979
107
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

AS AN ATTRACTION:
Went here at the end of March on a family "girls only" trip. We went for the purpose of seeing the Princess Diana exhibit and enjoying the Windsor Tea experience. Because all of us girls were fascinated by Princess Di, the Diana exhibit was well worth the 7 1/2 hour drive - and we took our sweet time to read everything! Really enjoyed the exhibit, which included handwritten notes, photos, and dresses from Di, and a few dresses from Kate Middleton. The tea room was also very enjoyable and made for a great finish to the Diana exhibit - good service and yummy tea munchies.

The gentleman working in the radio room was friendly and took the time to explain many of the radio related things to us, as we had members of our party interested in ham radio. Pretty cool that ham radio operators can bring their licenses to the Queen Mary and operate as a guest from the radio room! The local Long Beach ARRL club really does a good job in opening this up for the public.

Some of the other things we did on the Queen Mary included the Ghosts & Legends Tour and the Ghost Encounters Tour. The Ghost Encounters tour was like a haunted house, and the young one in our party was definitely NOT a fan, so we skipped out of that early. But both were still fun!

Wished we had gotten to try Chelsea Chowder House or Sir Winston's, but we didn't get to. Promenade Cafe had service that was a tad slow, although our waiter made up for it in friendliness, and surprisingly very yummy food! The mac n cheese was huge and delicious, and the clam chowder was to die for.

Starboard Lounge had yummy coffee drinks, but scant selection of pre-packaged pastries; opt instead for the protein pack of cheeses and fruits, which was pretty good.

Art Deco Lounge and Observation Bar smelled...old. I mean, it is old, but it just smelled musty. As we had a child with us, we opted not to drink there anyway, so can't comment on the service there.

There is a FREE shuttle that has a stop at the Queen Mary and takes you to downtown Long Beach, where there is an aquarium and multiple eateries and bars. Not a whole lot else besides the aquarium and food services, but pretty awesome that Long Beach has a free shuttle!

AS A HOTEL:
The hotel experience was mediocre. And that description is actually quite lenient of me. It would be easier for me to list the pros and cons, so here goes:

+ We arrived earlier than our check-in time, and the staff was helpful in allowing us to store our luggage while our room was finished being cleaned.
+ We requested a harbor view room, and they obliged; the view of downtown Long Beach was quite pretty!
+ The room was average size, with two queen beds.
+ The beds were extremely comfortable, and there were a ton of extra pillows on each bed.
+ Above average helpfulness of the maintenance guy when we requested maintenance on the heater in our room.
+ Free city shuttle to downtown Long Beach.
+ Most of the staff was friendly and helpful.

- The room service menu was basically the same menu as the Promenade Cafe, only with less stuff.
- A few parts of the ship, particularly the various decks where rooms were located, needed some serious TLC. For instance, there was a ceiling leak on "B" deck (probably from a bathroom of one of the rooms above, as this was NOT the top deck) that looked like it had been there for a long time. We stayed on the Queen Mary for 3 days (2 nights) and never once saw it being worked on. It was leaking water like a sieve, so much so that the ceiling paint had started to "melt" off the ceiling and was just hanging there. There was actually a garbage pail below to catch the water, and a caution sign. This bothered us because it was clear it had been this way for a while, the carpet below was damp, and it was a health concern; probably explains why our 10 year old had asthma problems from the moment we walked toward our room.
- The heater never worked. I called to have it serviced and was told someone would come check it out; he did and was helpful, but told me to wait 30 min after he left and let it get warm. We waited, and waited, and waited...it never got warm and actually felt like it was blowing cold air. So I called a second time in the same night - at which time I was told someone would get back to me. Apparently not. I called a third time, the following day, and the same maintenance man came back to check it out. He was friendly and honest when he realized there was something he hadn't checked out, and fessed up that the air conditioner had been blowing cold air into our room all night (yes, seriously!) and that was the reason we were cold. He informed us that we could (a) pack up all over again, move rooms (possibly not to a harbor view room), and get settled all over again, or (b) stay in our room, and he would have the air turned off entirely so that at the very least, no cold air would blow into our room, but also no heat in our room. So we opted to stay in our room and make sure the port holes were closed tightly.

So...long story short, pretty fun and interesting as a historical attraction but mediocre or slightly below average as a hotel given that we payed over $350 for a 2 night stay. The hotel manager did in fact write us an apology after we filled out a survey explaining both the positives and negatives of our stay, which we appreciated. I hope that other people have improved hotel experiences as a result of our feedback, because the Queen Mary really is a cool place to visit. I would give them a try in the future, but first will be checking TripAdvisor to make sure things are a little improved :)

Room Tip: Get a harbor view room if possible, good view of downtown Long Beach. You can also request a room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here as a birthday treat on the way to Catalina Island for the sheer novelty of the experience. The ship has been adapted mostly sympathetically and much of the original 1930's elegance is still very visible in the structure of the ship and especially in the Observation Bar. As the ship is open to conference attendees, visitors and hotel guests with no delineation in terms of the ship then all areas are open to anyone on board. This is a security risk for the hotel as the rooms are generally down quiet corridors but it seems to work. We stayed in a stateroom which would have been former first class accommodation. There has been some adaption so it is fun to figure out how the room would have worked originally. Many features have been maintained, much to the hotel's credit, with the addition of modern phones and flat screen TV's. The TV's in particular seem at odds with the idea of staying in a museum, and certainly two in a relatively small space is both pointless and distracting. I think the room works well enough without them and holding aspects of the 21st century at bay whilst on board is not such a bad thing!
We used the Observation Bar which has a great ARt Deco atmosphere and the service, once it got going, was good. We ate in the Sir Winston restaurant which is a fairly intimate space at the top of the ship, whose staff and food were fabulous. We also used the tea room and again the food, the quality of the teas and the staff were extremely good.
The ship is very easy to get lost in and we found ourselves directing several visitors to teh central staircase, and had trouble ourselves in finding the forward deck, but it is charming for all that and I wouldn't change it with extra signage. We didn't make use of the tours but we did visit the Diana exhibition, which we thought was mostly a haphazard collection of unrelated items, partly whistle stop tour of the Royal Family during the history of the ship and partly an homage to Diana and the Duchess of Cambridge. The collection was a notch-potch of items from the lovely original Diana dresses to dolls modelling various items, mass produced merchandise in various levels of poor taste, to items that either had no authenticity at all or were personal letters of no real importance other than being signed by a member of the Royal Family. Mixed in were some factual errors (i.e there is no such person as Princess Kate Middelton).
Overall a worthwhile experience though!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

What a wonderful place. Loved all the photos of the past in the Promenade Dining room, plus very good food. The visitors bit around the engine room & propeller was fantastic, could have spent hours reading the details & imagining how it was. Staff very courteous, especially as I'd booked the wrong week so effectively we turned up without a booking. Had booked two queen beds, but were upgraded to King + two singles, which the kids appreciated. Beautiful wood panelling. Good shower, plenty of towels. A place to savour not rush through.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect based on other reviews, they seemed to be all over the place.

However, we thought this was a very cool and unique experience. The room was nice, clean, and while a bit sparse, it was all about the experience for us.

The walls are a bit thin, since the ship is not moving. Since there's no "ship shudder", it's an expected "feature" and shared in their literature. There was no special event during our weeknight stay, so that may have helped.

If you're looking for a very cool and unique experience, or if attending a convention, I'd recommend the QM. Not necessarily a hotel for an extended leisure stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Take it for what it is, an old ship. We had a family room, two bedrooms, 1 king and 1 double. The beds were comfortable. Tight quarters and very small bathroom. Restaurants are expensive, look for online coupons or go downtown for more choices.

Room Tip: Wait for a special, we paid $150 for a Friday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was a tough one:

PROS
Professional, curteous staff. One gentlemen reminded me that I would need my room card to exit the parking lot for the final time.
Comfortable room though a little small.
On-board dining: Food was good and plentiful, if expensive.
Rather unique experience of living aboard a famous ocean liner.

CONS:
Long walk from self-parking lot (over 100 paces). The third party reservation site did not include the $17 per day parking fee. $20 if you want to use the valet and avoid the walk.
Long walk to the back of the ship to my room (over 125 paces).
The Queen Mary rents its ballroom for private parties. The wood in the ship's floors and walls transmitts noise very efficiently to the rooms below -- until nearly midnight.
Awoke each morning to the sounds of someone dragging heavy objects over the floor and occassionally dropping them -- early, as in 6:30 a.m. to 7:00 a.m. Oh...also enjoyed the sounds of bagging pipes.
No fridge in the room.
If you care to wind down at the end of the day with a little TV, limited viewing options.

If you want to see the Queen Mary, buy a ticket and take the tour. Spend your nights elsewhere.

Room Tip: Select a room below an area of the ship that is little used. Noise travels very well through the wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.