We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deluxe king room is NOT” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Mary

Save Saved
You added The Queen Mary to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queen Mary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bacon Festival Package
Ranked #12 of 58 hotels in Long Beach
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Deluxe king room is NOT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We reserved a deluxe king room with harbor view. We had the harbor view and the king bed but NOTHING else about the room (A-163) was remotely close to what is pictured/advertised on the website. It had one porthole, no nice sitting area with table and 2 chairs, no gorgeous wood paneling on the walls.
The bathroom floor was not level adjacent to the tub and the tub was hard to stand in as it's old and narrow and had a significant slope towards center of the tub. Not unexpected given it's age but something to be concerned about if you need a larger flat surface when standing for your shower. No plug for the tub so shower is your only option.
The original vacuum toilet flush and old shower faucets for hot/cold water were 'cool' and the antique heater was still in the room, along with the small dresser and night tables.
No AAA discount was provided.......I asked and I was told it was already reflected in the Internet posted rate.

Room Tip: No swimming pool and didn't use the spa services. Sleeping on the harbor side of the ship was S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    738
    910
    373
    187
    163
See reviews for
534
1004
111
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I've wanted to visit the Queen Mary for years. My parents sailed on her to New York in 1937, when she was just a year old. I have Queen Mary stickers on the two steamer trunks they used. It was a nostalgia trip for me, to be sure, but it was also a lovely, comfortable getaway trip. We booked a first-class cabin with standard view but were upgraded to an ocean view. I loved the mix of old and new... the original wood paneling and fixtures, along with the modern comfortable king bed and decent plumbing. We had portholes, which helped with the temperature and the light. (The room light itself is pretty dim, except for the bathroom.)

We ate an elegant dinner at Sir Winston's, which is a little pricey but has the most courteous, old-manner service you've ever experienced. The food (chateaubriand for two) was delicious and perfectly cooked. You have to climb a lot of stairs to get there, though... much of the Queen isn't ADA compliant. The next morning we enjoyed a late brunch at the Promenade Cafe. The crab cake was great. And the Observation Lounge... wow! An Art Deco lover's dream. We didn't do any of the tours this time. Next time I will plan to stay longer and do more exploring.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are larger but not original. First-class rooms are smaller but have retained most of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

After returning from a 2-week Carnival cruise to Hawaii we decided to head to another cruise ship before departing to home; the Queen Mary. Check-in was very chaotic as there were guests trying to get to the embarking Carnival ship and guests checking in from the Carnival debarkation that morning. Unfortunately, our room wasn't ready when we attempted to check in, so checking our baggage was the only option. We waited the better part of 1/2 hour to do so, but once they were checked in we did the self-guided audio tour around the Queen Mary. It was interesting and informative and we enjoyed it thoroughly. While on the tour we ran into a HAM radio operator in the wireless room who welcomed us into the room and explained some of the equipment that was used on the Queen Mary while is was making voyages as well as some of the new equipment that the amateur club uses. He was also very informative and had several interesting stories to tell including how the ship was named. After we concluded our audio tour we checked into our room. What a surprise...it was huge and authentic! From the port hole windows to the Shanks flush toilet, it was quite an experience and it was easy for us to imagine just how crossing the Atlantic might have been. If you like cruise ships and nostalgia this is definitely the place to stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the deluxe room with port holes (they actually open up)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the Queen Mary one night before our Carnival Cruise. We found the staff friendly and helpful. Our waiter recommended the crab cake sliders at the Chelsea Chowder House, which were really great. I appreciated the honest recommendation rather than pushing a more expensive item. Mixed drinks were overpriced. Grabbed a coffee and bagel in the morning. We enjoyed walking around the ship and learning about its history. We had a room with a king and a twin. Layout was a bit odd, but worked well for our family with a separate space. Great bedding, clean. Beautiful art deco style. Portholes actually open and provided great view of Long Beach.

Room Tip: Great view of Long Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Spent one night on the historic ship, prior to our cruise on a more modern ship. Our room had all the original fixtures and fittings but an extremely comfortable modern King bed. The bathroom also had all the original fixtures including formica walls which although is original I found to be rather scruffy and felt it could have been modernized but still keeping the charm. The nice thing was we could explore all over the ship with the exception of the special "Diana" exhibition all included with the room price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This lovely lady has aged well but is in need of constant repair. Be prepared for original furnishings and fixtures in a cabin from the 1930's. Dark paneling and limited lighting. If you are used to chain hotels and like them, this is not the hotel for you. However, we enjoyed the elegance of the QM that it once was. It is nice to enjoy a relaxed large cabin and imagine what it was like to take a cruise on the QM. Ask for a cabin facing the inlet for a nice view. Lots of tours to take or just poke around on your own. Great history with the ship and glad that it is still being used. QM has a free Passport bus in the parking lot that takes you to downtown and all the tourist stops. Very convenient, clean and efficient. You can also walk from the QM to downtown via the ped/bike bridge. Staff could not be more helpful and courteous. A unique and not to be missed experience. We were lucky enough to attend a luncheon event in one of the Salons which was just perfect!

Room Tip: Rooms on "A" deck off the reception area, facing the inlet are the best. Remember there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I love historic hotels. I make a point of staying in them. The Queen Mary is unique in that it was a luxury cruise liner and is evocative of a grander era. It could be fabulous if it were restored to its original splendor. However, I get the feeling that nothing has been restored (or cleaned) since it was retired to Long Beach in the 1960s. There are hints of its original loveliness in the extensive wood paneling throughout the ship, but the rooms seem dingy and not at all maintained. Old, inoperable fans are left attached to the walls just to show that they used to work. The old sinks and toilets are still in use. Really, the bathrooms could be rejuvenated with some thoughtful, period-appropriate remodeling. My pillows, under the cases, were dirty. I had my nails done in the salon and feared I would pick up a fungus. The highlight was my room-service breakfast. Served as promptly as you can ever expect from room service, it was hot and delicious (the best hash browns anywhere!), and served with a smile. The seafood restaurant was merely adequate (and don't make the mistake I did and order the "Queen Mary" champagne. It was undrinkable. The art deco cocktail bar had potential, but the music was so loud my companions and I had to flee. You are warned in the literature in your room that the metal walls between rooms do not make for a quiet night. There is no white noise of the ocean to buffer the sounds of your neighbors. They will even provide you with earplugs. Take advantage of them! The Queen Mary is interesting to visit, but if you are expecting an opulent experience you will be very disappointed.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, at least get a room with a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.