We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel back in time....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Mary

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Queen Mary to your Saves list
The Queen Mary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Taylors, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Travel back in time....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Amazing!!! If you have an interest in history, this is it. There are so many things to see on this once famous early cruise liner, I suggest a stay of 3 nights to get it all in. Upon arrival, guest parking is difficult to navigate. We stayed in rm A143 (a stateroom - a respectively larger room). Our rate was $162 a night (with discounts). Rooms maintain the feel of 40-60 years ago. Beautiful woodwork on the furniture. The whole ship is immaculately maintained. There are a few areas that are left in their original condition for purposes of historical notation or to add to the haunted affect (more on this later). For the best outside view, get a room on the Long Beach side of the ship (where we were). We could see several dolphins out of our portholes in the early morning hours. We visited during the off season, and I was amazed that when I went to check out the upper levels on the ship, there was hardly anyone else on the whole level! I practically had the entire level to myself!
Our room had two large port windows (~16in dia). The room was very clean and well maintained. The decor takes you back in time. We had a comfortable king size bed and good size bathroom with a working shower. There was a small desk and table. Wifi is available for an extra fee.
There is a crew on this ship of about 200 people. No continental breakfast, but breakfast is available at several on-board restaurants. We had breakfast at the Promenade Cafe. 14$ /person for the buffet - and one of the best breakfast buffets I have ever experienced. It includes hot food, coffee & juices. I loved it. Seems a little expensive, but when you consider traveling off the ship to find something in Long Beach, it really is a good deal.
The ship has many historical markers. Room M119 once housed Sir Winston Churchill and can still be reserved today. Mind you, there have been past reports of a strange cigar smell in that room, which brings me to my next topic...
If you go to the information desk, they can supply you with a list of rooms that have had reported "activity" in the past. Some examples from the list:
1. A guest in room M217 reported "Room's temperature drops and voices are heard in the bathroom. A gentleman with a beard suddenly appears at the left side of the bed."
2. In room B430 "Multiple guests have reported seeing a man walking around the room and disappearing right before their eyes."
Our room was not on the list (dang!). Some folks believe there may be paranormal activity on the ship. There are several "Haunted" tours available where you get to see & hear some of the more "insidious" history of the ship. We took the "Haunted Encounters" tour (Best if taken after dark). We never witnessed any paranormal activity though :-(
Additional charges:
$5 day for "Tourism Assessments"
$17 day - Self Parking
$20 day - Occupancy Tax
I would have given 5 stars, but I felt the parking situation and additional fees were detrimental to the overall experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,178
    1,293
    522
    239
    176
See reviews for
764
1,462
144
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. I was surprised at how beautiful and abundant the burl wood was throughout the ship (I am assuming it was burl wood).
The Tea Room was gorgeous. Loved the color scheme and the menu. Food was very good. Service was great. Would love to have seen some color by having flowers on the tables.
Loved the Princess Diana exhibit. What a beautiful and tragic story. I loved every display, especially the family tree at the beginning.
The Observation deck was fun, but service to those of us sitting outside was not present. Drinks were reasonably priced.
Nice gift shops.
Our room was functional and in pretty good condition. I love the 1930's style and it was fun to try and think what it must have been like when celebrities and royals traveled on this ship.
Dinner at Sir Winston's was just perfect. We both had the Beef Welllington and it was prepared just the way we both liked it. Our server, Drew, was the best. Very professional and knew his stuff. Didn't rush us….he made our evening.
The self guided tour was very interesting. We could not get over the engine room. Amazing. Wish there were more pictures to view, but all in all, this was a wonderful experience. Yes, in places, the Gray Ghost did appear worn, but oh, if only those decks could talk!!!
Just found out my uncle was one of those 14,000 + servicemen on the QM during the war!

Room Tip: A stateroom overlooking the Long Beach harbor would be preferential to a room overlooking the dock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Queen Mary for one night to attend an event. We had a great time experiencing this unique blast from the past. We spent a lot of time walking the ship and exploring the exhibits. A nice drink in the Observation Bar and good lunch. Our room was cozy and the bed one of the most comfortable. The hotel does all it can to let you know you are staying in a historic landmark and as such there are quirks. Small bathtub, shower, raised threshholds and some noise.

It is a steel ship and sound carries, but they gave us free earplugs and told us to call if our neighbors were too noisy.

Go in with expectations that it isn't a modern hotel and you will really enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Twenty-four hours on the Queen Mary was an amazing visit into her glorious past! The Art Deco environment was wonderfully unique. My wife and I began the evening with wine and a snack at the Obervation Bar. The hostess was extremely friendly. A walk around the deck at night was very romantic. The breakfast buffet on the Promenade deck was great, the view of the harbor was exceptional, our server was very hospitable, and the food was good. My wife and I then toured the ship and bought momentos. Overall, it was an unforgettable stay I would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean front view. Stay in an old-style stateroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury manchester
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Amazing place, so much atmosphere, you can feel it, the place is a testiment to how it stood originally in the 30s, its kept in its originality and is like a floating luxurious museum. We stayed for one night at the end of our 16 night roadtrip, and wished we had time to stay more. We spent all the next day exploring the ship, talking to the staff etc, who were exceptional and so friendly. The staff know the history and are so helpful with questions. The rooms in keeping with the original ship, we were upgraded for free to a room with a window after booking a budget one on expedia, as it was my partners 40th whilst there. Nothing was too much trouble during our stay. We explored the whole ship, a must is the engine room, they run the length of the vast ship, and they are amazing to see, even if you arent into that kind of thing, as Im not. I found the historical tour very good, you dont need the guided ones, just walk round and explore yourselves as we did. We stumbled upon the wireless room where the staff there invited us in for a long chat and took pictures of us afterwards, after explaining how the room worked in now and then. It was the best night we have had in America, and day. And as a couple who are interested in the paranormal (we run a group in the UK) we found it very very interesting as its a very haunted place, with lots of info on this throughout the ship. The corridors and vast size is something else. not to be missed if you are in california. Long Beach is such a nice place too we wished we were there longer and plan to return to spend more time on this incredible piece of english history.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade to a window room, but beware level 3 is haunted! lots of noises and strange thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I've been visiting the QUEEN MARY since 1973 and it's a lot of fun. It's been operated by several companies over the years and the current operator is handing it well. It's an ocean liner, not a cruise ship, so the walls are thin and there's little sound insulation installed, so noise can be a problem. If you want perfect silence, then go somewhere else. For more tolerant people, cabins are well appointed, and are mostly original. Get a cabin on the starboard (right) side of the ship for the best views and quietest stay, the QM is moored at the corner of the Port of Los Angeles, so there is constant noise and light from the operations at the port. Even the inner cabins are good, but they have no windows and are smaller than the outside cabins. If you can afford it, the historical suites are availible. These are rooms connected with various famous passengers and are part of the guided tour when they aren't occupied. If you've ever wanted to stay in a museum, this is for you. It's pleasent and I plan to return for another mini-vacation at the QUEEN MARY next year.

Room Tip: Ask for the starboard side, "A" or "M" decks are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying on The Queen Mary several times, and each one was a reunion with friends I met on the "Farewell to America" voyage of the QE2 back in October of '08. What better reunion venue for some cruise friends than Queen Mary? The ship is maintained in her original state, with the exception of some updated rooms that look like a Super 8...... stay out of those and opt for one of the original rooms, or better yet, one of their suites. Stepping into an original rooms is like entering a time machine........ you are suddenly in 1938, and your shipmate might be Clark Gable. Only a modern telephone gives it away. Everything is authentic, from the non-functioning "take a finger off" open blade fans, to the old air ducts that ventilate the room. Even the old portholes, heavy with years and years of paint, open and allow sea air in. The views on the starboard side are impressive at night, and one could imagine what it was like to pull into port onboard such a regal ship. I have sailed on QE2 and QM2, and neither of them has the art deco charm of QM. Don't miss the World Map that is high overhead in the main dining room. There is a long slot through the Atlantic Ocean where a mechanical model of the QM would sail across, noting your location between Southampton and New York City. It is a charming throwback in 1930's technology. On this last trip, my friends and I decided to do the "Ghosts and Legends" tour of the ship, since it was close to Halloween. It is a fun, albeit "cheesy", ghost story that allows you access to interesting places on the ship that you would not otherwise see, like the First Class swimming pool and the dreary, cavernous boiler room where towering boilers once stood, and the prospect of being boiled alive by steam was a very real threat to the crew. The most exciting part was in the bow section when they retell the tale of QM colliding with a escort vessel during the war, and cutting it in half. At the very moment the docent tells the tale, warning lights start flashing, and water starts gushing out of psuedo-damage to the hull. This after telling you that you're 36 feet below the water line. It was a creepy experience. The First Class swimming pool is viewed from a mezzanine, and as you look down into the empty, spooky area, a sound & light show begins, and fog slowly fills the pool as tales of a small, drowned girl are told. It gave me goosebumps!

It is fun to stroll the decks and imagine being onboard and in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean on this majestic old girl. I recommend that anyone spend the night, have a cocktail in the wonderfully "art deco" Observation Lounge, discover hidden corridors, and artifacts from the 30's, and just absorb the feeling of what it was like to travel back in the heyday of transatlantic travel, before the advent of airliners. You won't regret this marvelous experience.

Room Tip: If you are not visiting on a busy weekend or holiday, ask for a complimentary upgrade as we did. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Otel, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.