We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Herbalife Extravaganza 2012” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Mary

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Queen Mary to your Saves list
The Queen Mary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CHILL Hotel Package
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Herbalife Extravaganza 2012”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very historical type of hotel. Very busy. People are in and out of the hotel, day and night. Very noisy. Can hear noise from next door. Not much privacy. Someone literally knocked on our door when we got up early and talking loud. Hot water runs out. Old carpeting.
The restaurant has good food. Quite pricey. It is amazing for some people, but for me, I won't go back there to sleep. I need a sound proof hotel for being tired on a trip. It only looks nice to look at, being that it's an old ship.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    1,120
    449
    214
    164
See reviews for
667
1,249
125
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (973)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent two very interesting and comfortable nights on-board. You have to remember the age of the Queen; not everything is modern, but that is the charm and why you stay there. You get a chance to experience history first-hand. The first-class stateroom had a very comfortable bed, the bathroom whlle small was perfectly adequate, two port holes looking towards the marina. Promenade Cafe nice breakfast buffet, Sir Winston's lovely food, service and ambiance, worth the price for a special evening, Chelea Chowder House far less interesting. Happy hour at the Observation Bar was great. Be sure to walk around the entire ship. We found it easy to follow the map and enjoyed the interpretive panels. The bridge is especially cool. We also took the Glory Days tour which was good, gets you to some places that you can't get to on your own. All in all we thought it was good value for a unique experience.
Coming from San Pedro is scary, lots of fast truck traffic and not clear signing. Coming from Long Beach much easier, better signing. No need to valet park, short walk to hotel entrance but signing is not very clear.

Room Tip: Go for the first-class stateroom with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Loved the room we stayed in. Big comfy king bed and a twin. Port side, so had a nice view. I wanted a haunted room and the front desk staff accommodated. Here is a list of my experiences.
1. TV kept turning it self back on. I powered down 3 times, and it turned back on. Finally held the power button down for several moments, and it stayed off. Worked fine this morning.
2. All the lights in my room turned on @ 12:35, including the 2 that didn't work earlier in the night.
3. Woke up @ 3:13 am for no apparent reason, found out later that niece, woke up at exactly the same time in another room for no apparent reason.
4. All the lights went on again at about 5:30 am, woke my husband up too this time.
5. my 17 year old son said his bed shook on either side of legs. He didn't dare sleep after that.
6. Toothbrush was found in the sink in the morning, that's not where I left it.

Found the food okay but very expensive. Over $40 a person for lunch. Dinner was very slow service over 1.5 hours to get our sandwiches and burgers.

Room Tip: If you want a haunted room, ask the front desk they will do their best to make it happen. M001 seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

A hotel built onto the classic Queen Mary ocean-liner, this hotel gives you a chance to spend a night experiencing history.

The rooms are a bit small since they're the actual cabins from when the ship was active, but they're fine. Their fancy restaurant on board, Sir Winston's, is quite good and romantic, while they offer an excellent (if slightly expensive) Sunday brunch buffet (complete with harpists playing on the buffet tables).

The place also offers year round ghost tours, as it's considered one of the most haunted places on the planet (if you believe in that sort of thing) as well as fun Halloween mazes that run throughout October.

But the most amazing part is the very fact that you're staying on such a beautiful old vessel, permanently moored at Long Beach Harbor. Worth a visit, if you're staying the night or not.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed on this ship on 26th September 2012, exactly 78 years to the day after she was launched, we come from Southampton which for most of her days was her home port so it was pure nostalgia, certainly for me, She really is a grand old lady, the Americans for the most part have looked after her, although it was disappointing that some of her ballrooms have been turned into gyms etc, which incidentally I don't think are used by many guests, for me I don't think I stopped grinning for the duration of our one nights stay, I loved the magnificence of her wood panelling and the decorative woodwork around the shop fronts etc, we were made to feel at home by all of the "crew" and when we mentioned that we were from Southampton we were given upgrades to state rooms, the rooms were gorgeous and we enjoyed a good nights sleep, the tours of the ship are excellent, the food is excellent especially the buffet breakfast, I loved it and would thoroughly recommend it to others looking for a hotel stay to put a smile on their faces.

Room Tip: Have a stateroom with a view of Long Beach harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

we stayed for 2 nights on the ship as part of a trip to California. we cruise regularly and had been on several Cunard cruises including the QE2 and wanted to compare this ship with others. Big mistake. It is not a cruise ship it is a hotel that was once a beautiful ship that no longer has the standard of service you would expect from a cruise ship or even a first class hotel. Parts of the ship are lovely and it is easy to see how splendid she must have been and it is a worthwhile experience if you can see past the huge TV screens and the souvenir shops and the loud music.

Food in Sir Winston's restaurant was excellent provided you are fit enough to walk the length of the ship and then climb a flight of steps. The buffet breakfast was average. Room service was very slow to the point that we gave up on the first night and cancelled our order.

Our room was large and very clean, but there are signs every where reminding you to be quiet as the noise travels very easily through the steel hull. Unfortunately the staff were not given the same information as we were woken at 7am by 2 staff holding a loud conversation whilst they vacuumed outside our door despite the Do Not Disturb sign.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I didn't really know what to expect from the Queen Mary, prior to arrival. I knew of it's history, but figured as long as it had been moored in Long Beach, any hint of it's old world charm and glamour may have been stripped. Wrong. This ship has been lovingly maintained and developed to provide not only a popular tourist attraction but fully functioning hotel. It's a might impressive site as your arrive into port. Bigger than I thought it would be, surprised to find out later that it's one third bigger than the Titanic?? I swear that if guests were made to wear period costume before entering this ship, you really would think that you had stepped back in time to a period when Royalty and old Hollywood graced its decks. It really is something to behold. Beautifully polished floors and and wood stair cases. Long corridors lined with authentic staterooms and almost secret short cuts. Dim lighting and silent passages invite you to explore beyond the guest accommodation. We opted for a Stateroom on A-Deck. Beautiful. Large accommodation with original features and a port hole view onto the, well, port. Although there were a number of guests and various corporate events taking place, the ship wasn't overcrowded. You could walk for a good 10-15min and not bump into another living soul. And talking of souls, this is the place to come if you're into Ghosts and Legends. It is, reportedly, one of the most haunted placed in the world. We found ourselves on one of these tours, taken into the bowels of the ship, along dark corridors, through boiler rooms and the famous 1st class swimming pool (long deserted). I have to admit, at night, wandering around or trying to sleep, certainly got the mind working overtime. Not sure if I believe all that spooky talk, but there must be something in it, right? Aside from the spirits that go bump in the night, the had the original cocktail lounge with non too shabby Champagne. Food choices around the ship were also good, and there are a number of small gifts shops selling the usual tourist trap items, and many historic items relating to the ships history. Beautiful ship day or night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.