We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Convention Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Long Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Long Beach to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 South Pine Avenue, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
143 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice Convention Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Have stayed here 10-12 nights per year since, and including, opening night in 1982, I think. Hotel is in overall great shape considering the age. Front desk staff have always been a challenge at this location, and this is still true. Nothing major, assigned wrong bed type, remedied with a call to management, but lied to by front desk. The hostess of the Regency Club in the evenings is a major highlight, and while all of the "old" valet and bell staff have now retired, the new generation is excellent. No room service from 11AM to 5PM is tragic for a convention attendee wanting an hour escape, but at least these days there are many eateries nearby.
Overall a good choice, especially for an event at the convention center next door.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face the harbor, Queen Mary, aquarium, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2y2r2onot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate your feedback and have passed it on to our Food and Beverage Team to review. Thank you for your continued partnership over the years, we very much appreciate it.
Regards,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed one night on a business trip and was very impressed with the property. Just steps away from the Long Beach Convention Center and a great view of the harbor and the Queen Mary. Just a short walk to restaurants and shopping. Very convenient off of the highway. Totally love the motion sensor lights at floor level. If there was a remodel recently it sure shows as this is a fabulous property. Parking is only steps away - valet is available. There wasn't one staff member I interacted with that was other than pleasant and helpful. Coffee stand in the lobby is very convenient. The bed is super comfortable and the room itself is very spacious. The bathroom is a good size with a lot of counter space.

Room Tip: Get a harbor view room on a high floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CountessCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Greetings,
Thank you for your review about your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience and our new room product. We hope to have you stay with us again should your travels bring you back to Long Beach.
Regards,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for business and really liked it. Not typically a fan of big american chain hotels, but they did a nice job on this one. The rooms were huge, bed very comfortable, nice bathroom and great view of the beach and harbour. The location is excellent, right off the boardwalk if you want to run, walk or rent a bike. Also, across from a cute little area of shops and restaurants on the water. In the lobby, there is an excellent coffee shop with better than the usual fare. Some very nice artisan style snacks. Had busy work days planned, so had the breakfast buffet which had a very good selection, of both fatty (if you are so inclined) and healthy options. Pool right outside the restaurant so you can eat outside and enjoy the weather. For an area that is a bit lacking in charm - near the convention centre and around a lot of big buildings, they have done a nice job of making the inside of the hotel comfortable and calming. Staff were good too. And of course, I liked the hand holding the green apple to greet you as you entered the room (you have to see for yourself).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldProwler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback about your recent stay and hope to have you visit again!
Regards,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
405 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

What a difference a year makes ! Last year the hotel started a badly needed renovation and this year I stayed ther it was one of the nicest Hyatts I have ever stayed in!

We had the VIP suite and it was amazing!
I have before and after pictures that I will post Later.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLikeaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay in our new rooms.
Regards,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a nice, decent, modern hotel. Located right next door to the Convention Centre and lots of restaurants, it suited me fine. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I asked for a room without a connecting door and the first room they gave me had one. So I asked to change and they were fine with that.

Breakfast at “Tides” was a little on the expensive side but kept me full till lunchtime. Room service in the evening was very quick and delicious.

The concierge mentioned the free shuttle bus (Passport) that takes you around Long Beach. I used it to go to the Queen Mary and it was very convenient, the stop is just around the corner from the hotel.

My only gripe is the price of the internet. I wish the Hyatt would offer this for free to their Gold Ppt holders as $15 a day to use internet in your room is crazy.

Overall, a nice stay and I’d definitely recommend it to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank its_a_mystery12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review about your recent stay, we appreciate your feedback about the internet. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of the Passport Shuttle and see some of the local area!
Regards,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a very large convention hotel..it was not very busy when we were there but I can imagine standing on line for check in...
Hotel is nice...typically Hyatt with atrium...rooms are very nice and large...bathrooms could be a bit large....the flusher on the toilet broke before leaving...but these things happen.
Valet staff quick as well as bell staff..
on site starbucks not very quick....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback about your recent stay.
Regards,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just OK. Plus was that it was close to the convention center negative was that I was there with a dance convention the hotel did not seem to be expecting though I hear they come every year. Line at check in was long, the kids ran up and down the halls to 1:00 in the morning, line at the lobby coffee cafe was over 30 minutes just for a tea in the morning. Very understaffed at the desk and at the outlets at the hotel.
As mentioned I did not like the hand when you entered the roon especially since mine was rather dusty. Do not think the housekeeper spent much time in the room maybe because of all the kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay, we have sent this to our team to review.
Regards,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
0.6 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 57 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,372 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#12 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Long Beach Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Long Beach

Address: 200 South Pine Avenue, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Long Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel with water views from rooms. Walking distance to 100 shops and restaurants, Aquarium of the Pacific. Centrally located for easy travel to Southern California attractions (Disneyland, Knotts Berry Farm, Universal Studios). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Hyatt Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing