We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Long Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Long Beach to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 South Pine Avenue, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Upscale and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed one night on a business trip and was very impressed with the property. Just steps away from the Long Beach Convention Center and a great view of the harbor and the Queen Mary. Just a short walk to restaurants and shopping. Very convenient off of the highway. Totally love the motion sensor lights at floor level. If there was a remodel recently it sure shows as this is a fabulous property. Parking is only steps away - valet is available. There wasn't one staff member I interacted with that was other than pleasant and helpful. Coffee stand in the lobby is very convenient. The bed is super comfortable and the room itself is very spacious. The bathroom is a good size with a lot of counter space.

Room Tip: Get a harbor view room on a high floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Greetings,
Thank you for your review about your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience and our new room product. We hope to have you stay with us again should your travels bring you back to Long Beach.
Regards,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    325
    147
    57
    25
See reviews for
147
245
49
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver BC
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for business and really liked it. Not typically a fan of big american chain hotels, but they did a nice job on this one. The rooms were huge, bed very comfortable, nice bathroom and great view of the beach and harbour. The location is excellent, right off the boardwalk if you want to run, walk or rent a bike. Also, across from a cute little area of shops and restaurants on the water. In the lobby, there is an excellent coffee shop with better than the usual fare. Some very nice artisan style snacks. Had busy work days planned, so had the breakfast buffet which had a very good selection, of both fatty (if you are so inclined) and healthy options. Pool right outside the restaurant so you can eat outside and enjoy the weather. For an area that is a bit lacking in charm - near the convention centre and around a lot of big buildings, they have done a nice job of making the inside of the hotel comfortable and calming. Staff were good too. And of course, I liked the hand holding the green apple to greet you as you entered the room (you have to see for yourself).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback about your recent stay and hope to have you visit again!
Regards,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

What a difference a year makes ! Last year the hotel started a badly needed renovation and this year I stayed ther it was one of the nicest Hyatts I have ever stayed in!

We had the VIP suite and it was amazing!
I have before and after pictures that I will post Later.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay in our new rooms.
Regards,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a nice, decent, modern hotel. Located right next door to the Convention Centre and lots of restaurants, it suited me fine. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I asked for a room without a connecting door and the first room they gave me had one. So I asked to change and they were fine with that.

Breakfast at “Tides” was a little on the expensive side but kept me full till lunchtime. Room service in the evening was very quick and delicious.

The concierge mentioned the free shuttle bus (Passport) that takes you around Long Beach. I used it to go to the Queen Mary and it was very convenient, the stop is just around the corner from the hotel.

My only gripe is the price of the internet. I wish the Hyatt would offer this for free to their Gold Ppt holders as $15 a day to use internet in your room is crazy.

Overall, a nice stay and I’d definitely recommend it to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review about your recent stay, we appreciate your feedback about the internet. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of the Passport Shuttle and see some of the local area!
Regards,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a very large convention hotel..it was not very busy when we were there but I can imagine standing on line for check in...
Hotel is nice...typically Hyatt with atrium...rooms are very nice and large...bathrooms could be a bit large....the flusher on the toilet broke before leaving...but these things happen.
Valet staff quick as well as bell staff..
on site starbucks not very quick....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback about your recent stay.
Regards,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just OK. Plus was that it was close to the convention center negative was that I was there with a dance convention the hotel did not seem to be expecting though I hear they come every year. Line at check in was long, the kids ran up and down the halls to 1:00 in the morning, line at the lobby coffee cafe was over 30 minutes just for a tea in the morning. Very understaffed at the desk and at the outlets at the hotel.
As mentioned I did not like the hand when you entered the roon especially since mine was rather dusty. Do not think the housekeeper spent much time in the room maybe because of all the kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay, we have sent this to our team to review.
Regards,
Kristin K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSSLYN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were looking for a hotel close to the San Pedro docks where our Princess Cruise was to depart from. We want something that had some amenities close to it as we wanted to spend a few days in LA before leaving on our cruise. The closest hotel to the Dock didnt appear to have many touristy sites close by so we looked towards Longbeach. The Hyatt is attached to the Longbeach convention center and across the road from the small boat harbour that is a major tourist attraction with restaurants and shopping.

This hotel is very nice with all the amenities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope that you had a great time on your cruise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Long Beach

Address: 200 South Pine Avenue, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Long Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel with water views from rooms. Walking distance to 100 shops and restaurants, Aquarium of the Pacific. Centrally located for easy travel to Southern California attractions (Disneyland, Knotts Berry Farm, Universal Studios). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Hyatt Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.