We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Current

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Current to your Saves list
Hotel Current
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5325 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90804   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Five adults and six children and three rooms! Loved the modern room decor and Iphone docking station. The shower was a wonderful surprise! Hotel staff was very accommodating. The shuttle drivers were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was hot, tasty, plentiful, and free!

Room Tip: no elevator to second floor. rooms away from highway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    79
    37
    26
    27
See reviews for
75
62
19
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

When the shuttle pulled in I was a little worried. Once I got to my room, I was very pleasantly surprised. This was an overnight, all by myself, get away from it all journey - so I was looking for a safe haven and a place to relax.

Every contact I had with employees there was very positive and the customer service was outstanding and they were very helpful. The only complaint I would have was trying to contact the desk via the phone. I was trying to schedule the shuttle to the airport. The first time I called, the person answering picked up and hung up without saying a word. The next two times I called the line rang and rang and there was no answer. I was finally able to get through the fourth time. This process took about an hour to complete.

The outside looks like it may have been a Howard Johnson's at one time. The rooms have been transformed into a pretty cool ultra modern area. I enjoyed the room very much. I loved the sliding barn doors in the bathroom area, the awesome sink and the walk in shower.

The pool area was nice. It had plenty of shaded areas or sunny areas, whatever your desire. The pool was nice. I was a little worried at first, there were alot of floaties in the pool. Then I realized that it was the trees that were kind of losing their funny leaves into the water.

I really enjoyed that they had a shuttle service. I only used it to go the hotel and back to the Long Beach Airport. But, the driver was great.

Finally, breakfast - I was not really impressed. But, the variety was good and I'm sure anyone could find something to eat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We where very pleased with the staff and room at the Current in Long Beach. The hotel offers a plan where you stay one night and get cruise parking included. We had a very up to date room with very nice appointments. I liked the original art in each room and colorful way the room was tastefully decorated. The crowning touch was the complimentary shuttle to our cruise ship, both ways . We also had our three grand children join us for the cruise and they where given free trips to and from cruise ship also, but they did not stay the night, just dropped in as we where leaving for the ship. The staff were very nice to all cruisers and I am sure they are going to get lots of repeat customers, I know we will use them every time we cruise out of Long Beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is an older motel that has been well maintained. It has a very modern decor. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking was crowded. It was a handy location for visiting downtown Long Beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The hotel current has very nice rooms, is in a decent location, and has several restaurants nearby (I recommend the Crooked Duck) so it was good for a week long business trip. The only negative is the spotty van service. In the morning the Long Beach airport shuttle leaves every 30 minutes, or more accurately, it is scheduled every 30 minutes. When it departs is always guess, even when the van driver is sitting in the office. Quite often the shuttle left at :05, :10, and even :15 minutes late. They do shuttle within 5 miles of the hotel during off times, which is good, but just be aware when you schedule that it may or may not be ready to leave at the pre-arranged time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I chose this place as I had stayed here before. Though it had changed names and decor. I asked for a handicapped room as mom uses a walker and wheelchair. Bathroom was handicap friendly but beds were not. They were almost a foot up off the ground. I had to go to front desk to get a step stool but it was still difficult for 90 year old to get into bed. I ended up having to toss her up in it.
Also at 7:00 am the gardeners decided to cut down a palm tree outside my door. Not very relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is in a good location, near UC Long Beach. The price compare to other hotels in the area was very reasonable. The furniture looks very modern in style. It has plenty of parking spots. The beds are comfortable seem clean. There is wifi and fridge in the room. The thing that turn me off though is carpet is really dirty. I took off my shoes before going into the room and my sock is black the next morning. Never had problem like this in other hotels. I can only guess they don't clean their carpet much. The free breakfast is not all that great, but at least there are fresh fruits.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Current? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Current

Address: 5325 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90804
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Current 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 99 Lifestyle guestrooms featuring hand painted artwork from local artists, Hotel CURRENT has renovated its outdoor heated pool area, meeting spaces, lobby, guestrooms, and landscape. Guestrooms are provided with in-room coffee makers, refrigerators, free wi-fi, work-desk area with data ports, and hotel services of daily complimentary continental breakfast and newspaper; giving all the conveniences of home for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Current reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Current, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.