We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, uneven shuttle service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Current

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Current to your Saves list
Hotel Current
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5325 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90804   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Utah
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great price, uneven shuttle service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The hotel current has very nice rooms, is in a decent location, and has several restaurants nearby (I recommend the Crooked Duck) so it was good for a week long business trip. The only negative is the spotty van service. In the morning the Long Beach airport shuttle leaves every 30 minutes, or more accurately, it is scheduled every 30 minutes. When it departs is always guess, even when the van driver is sitting in the office. Quite often the shuttle left at :05, :10, and even :15 minutes late. They do shuttle within 5 miles of the hotel during off times, which is good, but just be aware when you schedule that it may or may not be ready to leave at the pre-arranged time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    78
    36
    25
    27
See reviews for
72
61
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I chose this place as I had stayed here before. Though it had changed names and decor. I asked for a handicapped room as mom uses a walker and wheelchair. Bathroom was handicap friendly but beds were not. They were almost a foot up off the ground. I had to go to front desk to get a step stool but it was still difficult for 90 year old to get into bed. I ended up having to toss her up in it.
Also at 7:00 am the gardeners decided to cut down a palm tree outside my door. Not very relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is in a good location, near UC Long Beach. The price compare to other hotels in the area was very reasonable. The furniture looks very modern in style. It has plenty of parking spots. The beds are comfortable seem clean. There is wifi and fridge in the room. The thing that turn me off though is carpet is really dirty. I took off my shoes before going into the room and my sock is black the next morning. Never had problem like this in other hotels. I can only guess they don't clean their carpet much. The free breakfast is not all that great, but at least there are fresh fruits.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Check in for a night, room was ok.
Cons; My flat screen tv has fuzzy picture on all channels. There is no towels hanger in the bathroom
Shower has low pressure
Wifi internet is slow

Pros
Good swimming pool
Good location
Plenty of parking spot
Clean enough
Bed is ok
Quiet room

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great little spot close to UC Long Beach! The location was perfect for events at the University. An easy walk to UC Long Beach as well as parks and some fun little restaurants. We enjoyed our stay in a comfy room!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I booked a room for our vacation. My husband noticed after the first night(after the renewal of the second night) that his account had been charged for a smoking fee, no one from management contacted us to advise us about there assumptions. but instead allowed us to renew the room with them the following night, We were so upset that we went to book a room at the Residence Inn, instead of staying there...why would you allow someone who smoked in your facility renew at your hotel? This place is only out to get money!! I contacted management 3-4 times to try and resolve this issue or to atleast allow us to do a walk through to determine what made them assume someone had smoked in the room. After several attempts management(Wayne) called back stating that the staff smelled smoke on my husband during check in....WHY WOULD YOU RENT A ROOM TO SOMEONE AND YOU SMELL SMOKE !!!! This will be my first and last experience dealing with the current hotel..ONLY MARRIOTT OR HILTON HOTELS...BEWARE OF THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I brought my daughter down for freshman orientation at Long Beach and this hotel is just minutes away. Staff was very friendly upon check in. Rooms are clean and spacious. King spa suite might be ok if you're traveling alone or as a couple, but there is literally a shower curtain separating the toilet area from the living area. Not much privacy. Breakfast was standard fare, but plenty to choose from. Pool area is gorgeous. The A/C drowns out much of the noise from other guests or PCH.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Current? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Current

Address: 5325 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90804
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Current 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 99 Lifestyle guestrooms featuring hand painted artwork from local artists, Hotel CURRENT has renovated its outdoor heated pool area, meeting spaces, lobby, guestrooms, and landscape. Guestrooms are provided with in-room coffee makers, refrigerators, free wi-fi, work-desk area with data ports, and hotel services of daily complimentary continental breakfast and newspaper; giving all the conveniences of home for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Current reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Current, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.