We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Current

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Current to your Saves list
Hotel Current
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5325 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90804   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great local hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hotel was great and the design was very pleasing. Modern with a beach twist. I loved the room had hardwood floors. The only draw back is it's a bit far from downtown. They do have a shuttle that runs to the convention center. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    79
    36
    25
    27
See reviews for
74
62
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Booked this hotel for my family while in town seeing the play, "Young Frankenstein". Hotel staff was very welcoming and helpful, especially Wayne and Vanessa. Accomodations were spotless and cozy. Slept like a log on the king sized bed. Complimentary shuttle was available for a destination within a five mile radius. Very reasonable price that included breakfast! I will be back!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have to complement the manager Wayne in going above and beyond his role to organise surprising a guest in his hotel. He sourced and purchase a very specific gift for me. With me being all the way over in Australia receiving constant emails and photo feedback was only amazing and so reassuring. It would defiantly recommend this hotel for their customer service.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Predazzo, Veneto, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Fun, funky vibe in the lobby sets the tone for this property. I got a king room. The bed is amazingly comfortable. Room is large and well appointed. Bath is lovely. Sink is very tall...wish I were much taller to use it, but the shower is roomy and good counter space. Pool area is beautiful I hope I get time to utilize it. My rooms balcony overlooks Pacific Coast Highway, which is loud.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Note that this is a motel and not actually a hotel as the name suggests. But overall it was a very convenient stay for us. We wanted to stay somewhere cheap and cheerful, cosy, inexpensive, with relatively close proximity (20-30mins) to the beaches of the West Coast, LA and Disneyland.

This was my first time staying at an American motel and being from London, my impressions of motels was completely off.. so you could say I was pretty impressed after walking into our room.
Rooms go for about $60-$90 a night, with an option to upgrade to Jacuzzi room for an additional fee (for which we only used once in the entire trip.) Me and my husband stayed here a total of 4 nights, paying about $270.

It is a clean and comfortable hotel with very modern Ikea furnishings. We specifically chose the first floor as we were told that it had wooden floors. The second floors had carpets (which was reputed to be dirty and have a foul smell.)
We stayed at Suite 103, which was facing the busy road so it was too noisy at night to keep the windows open for fresh air; keeping them closed reduced the noise but meant we had to turn on the AC. Oh well. Can't have everything.

Staff friendly. Free parking. Free Wifi. A variety of great channels on TV. Comfortable bed (but with little square pillows.) Pool seemed clean with great lounge furniture. Would imagine it to be popular during the summer season.

Now for my biggest complaints. Which knocked off 2 big points, concluding this review a 3/5.
1. Ladies, good luck with trying to put on your make-up. There is no counter top space in front of a mirror. At one point I think I had to put my make-up bag on one side of the jacuzzi bathtub so I could do my make-up in front of the mirror in the bathroom.. and then the hairdryer I balanced on top of the toilet. The sink area is just.. the sink so I couldn't even fit a cup to hold my toothbrush. See photo. Hotel Current, invest in more spacious counter tops in bathrooms!!!!!!!

2. The rain shower I'm sure is very pretty but absolutely USELESS. No water pressure at all. Ladies, you can easily get around this by using a plastic cup or something.

3. My sink was rusty. I have a thing for rusty sinks. :(

Hotel Current has so much potential to becoming a better 'hotel' in the future.
It is affordable and a popular choice but if they addressed certain areas of the motel, they can easily progress to a 4* rated hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor NOT facing the street would be your best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our friends got married in Long Beach and set up a block of rooms, so we got a great deal. The room was impressive. Clean and well decorated. The bed was comfy. Dark at night. Free WI-FI. Another friend told us that the pool was COLD. My biggest complaint is the shower. No water pressure. I washed my hair using a Red Solo Cup. Fancy. Right? Just telling you, so you can be prepared. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We made our annual pilgrimage to the Informex Show which this time was in, of all, places in Anaheim. As we are on a budget and didn't want to stay in Anaheim for the weekend prior to the exhibition I chose a location between LAX and Anaheim. Long Beach came up on my radar and after searching I found Hotel Current. This is a lovely hotel, clean, modern (inside) and reasonably priced. Also roughly equi-distant between LAX and Anaheim. The exterior. Of the hotel, to me, is a classic US motel type and needs updating. The rooms are updated and very nice. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The shuttle bus was also very good and easy to contact and use. Just as well really as the hotel appears to be in the middle of nowhere. I liked the hotel and downtown Long Beach has some nice bars and restaurants but if I go to Los Angeles again I will definitely select another location for R&R.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Current? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Current

Address: 5325 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90804
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Current 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 99 Lifestyle guestrooms featuring hand painted artwork from local artists, Hotel CURRENT has renovated its outdoor heated pool area, meeting spaces, lobby, guestrooms, and landscape. Guestrooms are provided with in-room coffee makers, refrigerators, free wi-fi, work-desk area with data ports, and hotel services of daily complimentary continental breakfast and newspaper; giving all the conveniences of home for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Current reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Current, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.