We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay for a Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Current

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Current to your Saves list
Hotel Current
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5325 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90804   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One night stay for a Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our friends got married in Long Beach and set up a block of rooms, so we got a great deal. The room was impressive. Clean and well decorated. The bed was comfy. Dark at night. Free WI-FI. Another friend told us that the pool was COLD. My biggest complaint is the shower. No water pressure. I washed my hair using a Red Solo Cup. Fancy. Right? Just telling you, so you can be prepared. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    83
    42
    27
    29
See reviews for
82
63
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We made our annual pilgrimage to the Informex Show which this time was in, of all, places in Anaheim. As we are on a budget and didn't want to stay in Anaheim for the weekend prior to the exhibition I chose a location between LAX and Anaheim. Long Beach came up on my radar and after searching I found Hotel Current. This is a lovely hotel, clean, modern (inside) and reasonably priced. Also roughly equi-distant between LAX and Anaheim. The exterior. Of the hotel, to me, is a classic US motel type and needs updating. The rooms are updated and very nice. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The shuttle bus was also very good and easy to contact and use. Just as well really as the hotel appears to be in the middle of nowhere. I liked the hotel and downtown Long Beach has some nice bars and restaurants but if I go to Los Angeles again I will definitely select another location for R&R.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I'm so grateful for The Hotel Current. It was just what I needed for my summer getaway. I only live about 25 miles south of the hotel (in Newport Beach) but wanted somewhere that I could stay and take day trips into various parts of Long Beach. One day it was the Belmont Shore area - which was awesome. Another day it was downtown Long Beach - I loved that too. And one day it was Seaport Village - a great relaxing day as well. And to have a nice, clean, comfortable hotel to return to at the end of each day was essential and convenient.

I loved the free morning breakfast. Had everything I needed.

I loved the vibe of the hotel. It was simple, kinda modern, with a little asian flair.

I loved sitting around the pool in the mornings reading the paper and relaxing in the shade.

If someone is looking for a inexpensive, cool hotel to call home on their trip to Long Beach, then Hotel Current is a great choice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We booked this hotel on Expedia. They have a flat rate for a night, continental breakfast, shuttle to the Long Beach Port, and leave your car there for the duration of the cruise.

The motel was clean, and rooms seemed to have been recently renovated. We were welcomed by friendly staff who recommended a nearby pizza place.

The room had a clean shower, with lots of hot water, and water pressure. In the morning, the continental breakfast was the usual fare, with waffles, fruit, cereal, and pastries.

Our shuttle was at the correct time, and on our arrival back at Long Beach, we called and the shuttle was there if 15 minutes. The driver was friendly and informative.

For our purposes there were no drawbacks to this hotel. This being said, it didn't seem near any tourist type of things, so it may not be appropriate for all travellers. For one or two nights though, especially before a cruise this hotel was ideal, and we'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at this motel for two nights and I'll tell you it was enough1, mu husband hurt is knee bumping with the sharp wood corners of the bed, the carpet is black and very dirty, I complained at the desk about the beds and careless lady at the lady said that it happens all the time, mattresses hard and old, fleas! you read right, FLEAS! the shower was a nightmare no water pressure at all, I could not even take the shampoo off my hair, we were intending to stay for four nights and we should've check out the very first one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Rey, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

For a $50 fee for the duration of your stay, you can bring your dog. Most other LB lodging (except for a few expensive 5 star locations, the lower end Motel 6 chain or the devoid of charm but utilitarian Extended Stay) do not allow bigger dogs. Behind the hotel is a safe neighborhood - good for walking the dog. Bring a bowl for the dog.

We got one of the rooms with a spa in it and the tub was big enough for two and a very nice feature. That said the spa separates the bathroom from the bedroom along with a curtain only - no wall. So, be prepared to have your partner hear you using the bathroom - that was a little weird. Also, having a mini- fridge is a bonus. Although we had wanted to be closer to the beach, town, the gay ghetto, or the canals this location was close enough and they have a free shuttle anywhere you want to go to and from within 5 miles until 10:30 at night - so that was a good solution.

You are along PCH and it is busy and not walking friendly. We did anyway though so we could drink and walk home - but if I were to do it over I would have booked their free shuttle since the streets do not all have sidewalks and extra lanes &very busy.

Our TV wasn't working and they offered to send a tech but since we were only there for a night we decided not to worry about it. Free internet was nice, free parking also good, there is a restaurant next door that looked like fun. The included continental breakfast was great - waffle maker, solid tasting coffee and juice, yogurts, a couple cereals, scrambled eggs and sausage patties, and some basic bagels and pastries in a room with some table near the front office.

Pool area was really nice with great lounge furniture. There were a ton of kids using the pool and at breakfast - but since we didn't have a room by the pool that noise was fine. There were a lot of guest rooms - I didn't realize how big this place was until we got there. I liked having a room on PCH - it was quiet at night and the AC worked well - the first floor was fine. Room had a boutique feel - nice lighting throughout the hotel and good chill music.

I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: View of the Golf Course means you overlook PCH - not much of a view but the traffic didn't not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Wanted to try a non-chain hotel on our vacation. This hotel was a gem. Small hotel packed a big punch! Lots of personality. The pool and modern decor was the best part. Glad we stayed here. Had fun at the long beach aquarium nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Current? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Current

Address: 5325 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90804
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Current 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 99 Lifestyle guestrooms featuring hand painted artwork from local artists, Hotel CURRENT has renovated its outdoor heated pool area, meeting spaces, lobby, guestrooms, and landscape. Guestrooms are provided with in-room coffee makers, refrigerators, free wi-fi, work-desk area with data ports, and hotel services of daily complimentary continental breakfast and newspaper; giving all the conveniences of home for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Current reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Current, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.