We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I needed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Current

Save Saved
You added Hotel Current to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Current
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5325 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90804   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 58 hotels in Long Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just what I needed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I'm so grateful for The Hotel Current. It was just what I needed for my summer getaway. I only live about 25 miles south of the hotel (in Newport Beach) but wanted somewhere that I could stay and take day trips into various parts of Long Beach. One day it was the Belmont Shore area - which was awesome. Another day it was downtown Long Beach - I loved that too. And one day it was Seaport Village - a great relaxing day as well. And to have a nice, clean, comfortable hotel to return to at the end of each day was essential and convenient.

I loved the free morning breakfast. Had everything I needed.

I loved the vibe of the hotel. It was simple, kinda modern, with a little asian flair.

I loved sitting around the pool in the mornings reading the paper and relaxing in the shade.

If someone is looking for a inexpensive, cool hotel to call home on their trip to Long Beach, then Hotel Current is a great choice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    75
    35
    25
    27
See reviews for
67
59
18
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We booked this hotel on Expedia. They have a flat rate for a night, continental breakfast, shuttle to the Long Beach Port, and leave your car there for the duration of the cruise.

The motel was clean, and rooms seemed to have been recently renovated. We were welcomed by friendly staff who recommended a nearby pizza place.

The room had a clean shower, with lots of hot water, and water pressure. In the morning, the continental breakfast was the usual fare, with waffles, fruit, cereal, and pastries.

Our shuttle was at the correct time, and on our arrival back at Long Beach, we called and the shuttle was there if 15 minutes. The driver was friendly and informative.

For our purposes there were no drawbacks to this hotel. This being said, it didn't seem near any tourist type of things, so it may not be appropriate for all travellers. For one or two nights though, especially before a cruise this hotel was ideal, and we'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at this motel for two nights and I'll tell you it was enough1, mu husband hurt is knee bumping with the sharp wood corners of the bed, the carpet is black and very dirty, I complained at the desk about the beds and careless lady at the lady said that it happens all the time, mattresses hard and old, fleas! you read right, FLEAS! the shower was a nightmare no water pressure at all, I could not even take the shampoo off my hair, we were intending to stay for four nights and we should've check out the very first one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Rey, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

For a $50 fee for the duration of your stay, you can bring your dog. Most other LB lodging (except for a few expensive 5 star locations, the lower end Motel 6 chain or the devoid of charm but utilitarian Extended Stay) do not allow bigger dogs. Behind the hotel is a safe neighborhood - good for walking the dog. Bring a bowl for the dog.

We got one of the rooms with a spa in it and the tub was big enough for two and a very nice feature. That said the spa separates the bathroom from the bedroom along with a curtain only - no wall. So, be prepared to have your partner hear you using the bathroom - that was a little weird. Also, having a mini- fridge is a bonus. Although we had wanted to be closer to the beach, town, the gay ghetto, or the canals this location was close enough and they have a free shuttle anywhere you want to go to and from within 5 miles until 10:30 at night - so that was a good solution.

You are along PCH and it is busy and not walking friendly. We did anyway though so we could drink and walk home - but if I were to do it over I would have booked their free shuttle since the streets do not all have sidewalks and extra lanes &very busy.

Our TV wasn't working and they offered to send a tech but since we were only there for a night we decided not to worry about it. Free internet was nice, free parking also good, there is a restaurant next door that looked like fun. The included continental breakfast was great - waffle maker, solid tasting coffee and juice, yogurts, a couple cereals, scrambled eggs and sausage patties, and some basic bagels and pastries in a room with some table near the front office.

Pool area was really nice with great lounge furniture. There were a ton of kids using the pool and at breakfast - but since we didn't have a room by the pool that noise was fine. There were a lot of guest rooms - I didn't realize how big this place was until we got there. I liked having a room on PCH - it was quiet at night and the AC worked well - the first floor was fine. Room had a boutique feel - nice lighting throughout the hotel and good chill music.

I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: View of the Golf Course means you overlook PCH - not much of a view but the traffic didn't not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Wanted to try a non-chain hotel on our vacation. This hotel was a gem. Small hotel packed a big punch! Lots of personality. The pool and modern decor was the best part. Glad we stayed here. Had fun at the long beach aquarium nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I thought overall this was a good stay at a good price. But, don't let the name fool you. This is definitely a motel, not a hotel. Not even close to a hotel. However, for a motel, it is pretty good. If you can get a room rate of about $100, I think it is a good value. Some of the pros: (1) a wonderful pool surrounded by comfy chairs, and it was never very crowded; (2) lovely decor in the lobby; (3) good service at the front desk; (4) an ok breakfast included -- the food was mediocre at best, but edible, and the woman who made sure the trays got refilled worked very hard and very fast; one issue was that there are about 100 guest rooms but only about 8 tables; and (5) updated guest rooms. Now some cons: (1) even though it is a non-smoking hotel, all that really means is no smoking in the rooms, so there were always smokers walking around and smoking directly outside the rooms -- I know that would not bother a lot of people but I was surprised by it; (2) on that note, this is not a motel with interior hallways, so the door leads to an outdoor common area, which can be a safety issue as well as a smoke issue; (3) the bathrooms, while beautifully decorated, have no water pressure especially in the shower, so it look us a long time to wash our hair.

A few other notes: there is a shuttle (very courteous drivers) BUT make sure you reserve it a few hours in advance especially (or maybe only) if the motel is close to full. There is a CVS and grocery store (one mile, which is walking distance (to me) but the shuttle will also take you) where you can stock up on snacks, bottled water etc., and I suggest buying some real shampoo and soap, because the stuff they have in the dispensers in the showers is pretty bad.

The location is pretty desolate, but the shuttle will take you to downtown Long Beach for shops, restaurants, and will take you to Seal Beach, which was pretty nice. Half an hour from Disney (driving yourself). About 40 minutes without traffic to LAX. The Italian restaurant next door was pretty decent, and the Grille at the Westin (downtown) was excellent. I would also recommend the Creme de la Crepe, which is on Elm around the corner from the Westin. Schooner or Later at the marina has good reviews, but it was a two hour wait so we did not go. Went instead to a chain called Claim Jumper, which is good family dining.

We were there for 5 days for a wedding.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. The staff was really kind. The room is in the average, nice bed. Their goal is the bathroom: so nice and big. All the furnitures are in modern style. The breakfast was ok, nothing so special. Actually they had scrambled eggs that didn't look like eggs... We enjoyed the pool, also if the weather was quite cold to be in the water. It's not in the center of Long Beach, you definitely need a car, but they also offer a shuttle bus for the city center. Enjoy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Current? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Current

Address: 5325 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90804
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Current 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 99 Lifestyle guestrooms featuring hand painted artwork from local artists, Hotel CURRENT has renovated its outdoor heated pool area, meeting spaces, lobby, guestrooms, and landscape. Guestrooms are provided with in-room coffee makers, refrigerators, free wi-fi, work-desk area with data ports, and hotel services of daily complimentary continental breakfast and newspaper; giving all the conveniences of home for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Current reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Current, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.