We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like "Home"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Current

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Current to your Saves list
Hotel Current
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5325 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90804   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Felt like "Home"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

First off let me tell you that making my hotel reservation was easy to do and the staff was most helpful and friendly!
When I arrived , check in was easy simple and the staff was very accomidating.
I entered my room to find that it was very inviting! Outside I thought to myself looks like a Vagabond Inn that has had a face lift and brought up to date for the new Millenium, but; once inside and did my walk through I found out that the room looked better than some of the more expensive and well known hotels that I have stayed at in the past.
The bed was a King size bed with about an 18 " thick matress that was very comfortable!
The Bathroom impressed me the most though it had a super large walkin shower with tile and a Large rain showerhead coming out of the ceiling and a shower gel and shampoo dispensor on the wall.
The only thing I could find that was a problem was that there was no microwave in the room.
I had items that were microwaveable and could not heat them.
Breakfast offered just about everything imagineable.
Overall, I was very happy and satisfied staying there and would recommend this place to anyone to stay there when in the Long Beach area!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    83
    42
    27
    29
See reviews for
82
63
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The things I most appreciate was the service -The front desk heated up some pasta for us (after they transferred into a microwavable bowl), I got a tip on where to go for food, my board passes printed out. Very nice staff. The room was a decent size, has a small fridge (no microwave), good sheets, beds and pillows (the later important to us). No toiletries or much other than some coffee in room.
The outside is motel-ish. but all the rooms Hotel Current makes available are all updated - funky modern.
Free Internet, no cost parking, a pool (no hot tub), Lobby offers some games, some basic breakfast food. There are several places to eat in easy walking distance (selection of take out, cheaper, mid price and expensive...I was quite happy),
A big plus is that this hotel has a van that shuttles guests within a 5 mile radius which includes the LB airport (about 10 min or less away) and the beach (about 15 minutes - it's close, but one takes cute side streets)- The shuttle is a great for anyone who has some specific places they are going and worked well for a fellow traveler who went twice to Trader Joe's by van. Love check out is 12 not 11. The negative is noise - our doors seemed to have a bit of a gap (fine in terms of security with the lock), but meant one heard more noise. We heard quite a bit of noise from surrounding rooms - though I have stayed in some pricey hotels which also were not sound proof enough. The heat/AC unit is noisy. We got used to it a bit. The Hotel also takes pets! We will be back.

Room Tip: Some rooms around the pool, people with kids might think about their kids age and ask to be near/or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpinteria, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We specifically requested a quiet room because we have a dog who is awakened by any noise. When we arrived at 12pm, because no "dog rooms" were yet available, we weren't given a room. When we returned after social engagements at 8pm, we must have gotten the last dog room available. It was handicap enabled, right next to the stair well and vending machines. We got hardly any sleep as our dog was constantly awaken by people going up and down the stairs and by the up stairs neighbors. And the lights from the vending machine lit up the room. The room had no sitting furniture other than an office chair on wheels. Their channel guide was inaccurate.

I wouldn't recommend this location to anyone with a pet who doesn't sleep soundly.

Room Tip: As I said, if you have a pet that is a light sleeper, make sure you REALLY get a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicknell, Utah
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

we picked this hotel b/c we were going on a cruise and you could stay, leave your car and get a ride to the ship and back and that was in with the price, which was not bad. What I didn't like was that the internet didn't work well in our room, was a room on the back row of the place, you had to be next to the window for it to work, room was small but that was ok we just needed a place to stay. Breakfast the next morning was good. Would stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We didn't know what to expect with this hotel as it was an older style that claimed to be newly renovated. We were VERY happy about our room. The bed was very comfortable and the room was SPOTLESS. The entire staff was very nice and helpful. Even the maintenance men touching up scuffs in the paint stopped to offer to carry our bags! Our only complaint was that breakfast was not very good, very crowded and no one around to keep things stocked. Didn't mind much tho because everything else was fantastic. There was also not an elevator to our second floor room but we didn't mind that either. We are looking forward to staying here again very soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcurrent, General Manager at Hotel Current, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind and positive comments about our staff and hotel accomodations. I am so pleased to hear of our maintenance staff's attentive service to you. That is the culture we promote here. I was sorry to learn of the breakfast issues and I will address the miss on our staffing levels. Your thorough review will help us to be better for the future.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was appalled to discovery that a $250.00 fee was added to my stay, based upon an accusation by one of the managers that I had smoked in my room. I did NOT smoke in my room. I discussed this issue with the person in question; to no avail. I freely admit to being a smoker and that I did indeed smoke in the parking lot. I did deposit some cigarette butts in the trash can in my room, so as not to litter the parking lot and was rewarded for this, by being essentially called a liar and assessed an additional $250.00. I wouldn't recommend it, unless you're in the habit of having your integrity questioned and you have $250.00 to reward those who do so

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcurrent, General Manager at Hotel Current, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
All of our guestrooms are non-smoking and we communicate this policy on all websites, through signs in each room and at check-in when you signed the no smoking policy guidelines. We do not act lightly when we investigate an infraction. There are three people called to be witnesses to a potential infraction. The housekeeer, the supervisor, and a manager. I was personally called to your room and winessed a strong odor of smoke, cigarette butts in the trash, a large amount of smoked ashes on the white sheets, and a damaged pillow from a tobacco substance. All of these pictures were shown to you.

We certainly do not engage in any illegal or unethical practices and the fee simply covers the cost to rectify infractions because of replacement, labor, and chemical treatment. There are times when an investigation indicates a "grey area" and we side on the side of caution and discount or waived this fee. However, in your case, the investigation provided too many indicators of violations and the room had to be serviced longer and with chemical treatment to remove the odor and replace the damaged pillow.

I am sorry for your frustration and ill thoughts of our hotel, but we have the right and responsibility to ensure our rooms are ready to rent for the next guest who expects a clean a refreshed room that is of non-smoking quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Clean rooms, free shuttle, but most of all the world friendliest staff ( thank you, Christina). Loved this hotel. Was on quick getaway from OC and found this little secret spot. Shower was amazing, big and water pressure great. Bed was super comfy. Front desk booked us a free shuttle downtown and gave us few tips on dining adventures. Will be back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Current? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Current

Address: 5325 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90804
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Current 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 99 Lifestyle guestrooms featuring hand painted artwork from local artists, Hotel CURRENT has renovated its outdoor heated pool area, meeting spaces, lobby, guestrooms, and landscape. Guestrooms are provided with in-room coffee makers, refrigerators, free wi-fi, work-desk area with data ports, and hotel services of daily complimentary continental breakfast and newspaper; giving all the conveniences of home for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Current reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Current, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.