We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with consistent exceptional service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Current

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Current to your Saves list
Hotel Current
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5325 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90804   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Barstow, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Beautiful hotel with consistent exceptional service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

As a business traveler, I stay here several times a month and truly appreciate the efficient and helpful staff. They are always friendly, prompt, and offer to help in any way they can, regardless of how late I arrive. Christina on the front desk often has my keys and paperwork waiting for me when I check in---a welcome sight after a long day! The rooms are spacious, beds extremely comfortable, well maintained grounds, and the breakfast items are well laid out with many choices from waffles, breakfast sandwiches, bagels, pastries, fruit, cereal, etc. My thanks to all the hardworking staff members....they make Hotel Current a great place to stay!

Room Tip: The rooms along PCH are spacious . . . lots of room to bring a yoga mat to stretch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcurrent, General Manager at Hotel Current, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback about your experiences at Hotel CURRENT and your interaction with our staff. I especially appreciate the recognition of Chirstina at the front desk and will commend her for her service.

Your loyalty and continued business helps us to be successful! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    80
    40
    26
    28
See reviews for
79
63
19
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Absolutely great experience. The rooms were clean and nice decor, they had shuttle service to the marathon, they provided us with breakfast bags. The cost was very affordable. The staff was all exceptional. I was beyond happy with this hotel and the marathon experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcurrent, General Manager at Hotel Current, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Dana Marie,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and the services of Hotel CURRENT. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We hope you will return next year for the Long Beach Marathon. We will be here and awaiting your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel offers modern decor, lots of space in the room, good parking and a convenient location.The bed was very comfortable. However, the sink in the bathroom was not clean (crud around the drain), the shower did not drain at all (yuck), and the walls were so thin I heard every noise the people next to us made at 3:30, 4:30 and 5:30 - AM. The breakfast was ok but not anything special.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcurrent, General Manager at Hotel Current, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for leaving us a feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you have noticed the positive attributes we feature. Most importantly, I would like to apologize for concerns that arose with the plumbing, cleanliness of sink fixtures and the noise issues. Our aim is to deliver the best service to all of our guests and your experience is most untypical of our usual high standards. Please be assured that we will be looking into the issues raised in your feedback and will be carrying out any necessary actions to ensure that there are no further problems. Please accept our apologies for the unmet expectations.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,
Sheri Blackwood
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We come to the hotel in the late afternoon and waited a long time at the desk to check in. After that they made a lot of problems because we didn't have a credit card with our name on it also condidering that we have paid in advantage. After some phone calling we get to our room that was really hot even if outside was warm. The wifi was setted for just two device per room, why???? And most of all, moving one basket we found an enormous beatle under it. Horrible!!!! When we get to the reception they just said that they will sent somebody to check the room situation and avoiding a change of room. Unbelievable!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcurrent, General Manager at Hotel Current, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your recent experience at Hotel CURRENT. I am sorry for your frustrations with check-in. We will look at ways to improve communicating our policies so that these type of situations don't repeat themselves. The most unfortunate concern was the bug found in your room and the non-responsive actions of our staff. I am looking into this matter immediately to prevent a reoccurance.

Safe travels....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I decided to stay at this hotel after a rude encounter with someone on the phone at the Super 8 motel, close by on the PCH. I was very happy at this hotel. The staff at the desk greeted me with a smile, and then also recommended a Cambodian restaurant for me to try. Trying out Cambodian cuisine was 1/2 the reason for my trip. The room was spacious, and very clean, the bathroom area was also quite large with a nice big walk in shower. I would have liked a bit more water pressure, no loss of stars for that. The bed was king size, soft sheets and comfortable. Very quiet here, considering it is located right on PCH. Check on Yelp, there may be a deal there.

Room Tip: I'd suggest staying on the ground floor, no elevator. the rooms poolside were not available duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our vacation and absolutely loved the room! Very clean, very modern, and very large! Parking is plentiful and the free breakfast in the morning is great! Plenty of TV channels, great air conditioning, and free WI-fi.

For such a large room, it was a shame that they chose to put double beds instead of queens, but only a small complaint. Bathroom is very large with very modern and unique features. The shower water pressure is not very good, but it is because it is a rain shower. The water was warm, but never hot.

The snooze and cruise package is very convenient, being that the hotel is 7 miles from the pier and very few hotels outside of a 3 mile radius will take you to the pier for free.

Staff was VERY friendly!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcurrent, General Manager at Hotel Current, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We are so proud and happy that your enjoyed your stay at the Hotel CURRENT. I am especially pleased about the kind comments of our staff and the services you received. I will make sure to share your review comments to the entire staff.

Thank you, and we look forward to your future visits to Long Beach CA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Just stayed here Sun July 22 12. Very pleasantly surprised. Room was clean. Completely updated. The lobby was very modern. Most importantly, the staff was very courteous. Went out of their way to accommodate a special need.

Only one suggestion to the hotel, the bathroom area needs hooks or somewhere to hang stuff like damp towels or swimsuits. Other than that the "rain" shower was amazing!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcurrent, General Manager at Hotel Current, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for your fabulous feedback about Hotel CURRENT. It is always a pleasure to find the guest that fits perfect with the changes we made in our product.

Thank you for the suggestion on the bathroom hooks. We will add this to our future improvement plans. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Current? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Current

Address: 5325 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90804
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Current 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 99 Lifestyle guestrooms featuring hand painted artwork from local artists, Hotel CURRENT has renovated its outdoor heated pool area, meeting spaces, lobby, guestrooms, and landscape. Guestrooms are provided with in-room coffee makers, refrigerators, free wi-fi, work-desk area with data ports, and hotel services of daily complimentary continental breakfast and newspaper; giving all the conveniences of home for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Current reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Current, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.