We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undesiderable guest” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Current

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Current to your Saves list
Hotel Current
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5325 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90804   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Undesiderable guest”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We come to the hotel in the late afternoon and waited a long time at the desk to check in. After that they made a lot of problems because we didn't have a credit card with our name on it also condidering that we have paid in advantage. After some phone calling we get to our room that was really hot even if outside was warm. The wifi was setted for just two device per room, why???? And most of all, moving one basket we found an enormous beatle under it. Horrible!!!! When we get to the reception they just said that they will sent somebody to check the room situation and avoiding a change of room. Unbelievable!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcurrent, General Manager at Hotel Current, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your recent experience at Hotel CURRENT. I am sorry for your frustrations with check-in. We will look at ways to improve communicating our policies so that these type of situations don't repeat themselves. The most unfortunate concern was the bug found in your room and the non-responsive actions of our staff. I am looking into this matter immediately to prevent a reoccurance.

Safe travels....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    79
    37
    26
    27
See reviews for
75
62
19
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Imperial Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I decided to stay at this hotel after a rude encounter with someone on the phone at the Super 8 motel, close by on the PCH. I was very happy at this hotel. The staff at the desk greeted me with a smile, and then also recommended a Cambodian restaurant for me to try. Trying out Cambodian cuisine was 1/2 the reason for my trip. The room was spacious, and very clean, the bathroom area was also quite large with a nice big walk in shower. I would have liked a bit more water pressure, no loss of stars for that. The bed was king size, soft sheets and comfortable. Very quiet here, considering it is located right on PCH. Check on Yelp, there may be a deal there.

Room Tip: I'd suggest staying on the ground floor, no elevator. the rooms poolside were not available duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our vacation and absolutely loved the room! Very clean, very modern, and very large! Parking is plentiful and the free breakfast in the morning is great! Plenty of TV channels, great air conditioning, and free WI-fi.

For such a large room, it was a shame that they chose to put double beds instead of queens, but only a small complaint. Bathroom is very large with very modern and unique features. The shower water pressure is not very good, but it is because it is a rain shower. The water was warm, but never hot.

The snooze and cruise package is very convenient, being that the hotel is 7 miles from the pier and very few hotels outside of a 3 mile radius will take you to the pier for free.

Staff was VERY friendly!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcurrent, General Manager at Hotel Current, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We are so proud and happy that your enjoyed your stay at the Hotel CURRENT. I am especially pleased about the kind comments of our staff and the services you received. I will make sure to share your review comments to the entire staff.

Thank you, and we look forward to your future visits to Long Beach CA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Just stayed here Sun July 22 12. Very pleasantly surprised. Room was clean. Completely updated. The lobby was very modern. Most importantly, the staff was very courteous. Went out of their way to accommodate a special need.

Only one suggestion to the hotel, the bathroom area needs hooks or somewhere to hang stuff like damp towels or swimsuits. Other than that the "rain" shower was amazing!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcurrent, General Manager at Hotel Current, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for your fabulous feedback about Hotel CURRENT. It is always a pleasure to find the guest that fits perfect with the changes we made in our product.

Thank you for the suggestion on the bathroom hooks. We will add this to our future improvement plans. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELLMORE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Great place to stay, quiet and comfortable and not too expensive either. The staff is very friendly and they provide a shuttle around the area within a 5 mile radius. It's a little out of the way from a lot of the things that I wanted to do and that is really my only complaint.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcurrent, General Manager at Hotel Current, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for you valuable feedback and the time you took to let others know about your stay. You are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

I am currently staying at the Current. This was a last minute trip and couldnt find a hotel in the vicinity where Im conducting my business. The hotel looked decent from the website and the price wasnt bad at all.
My major complaints are the pool area and the HORRIBLE service from the front desk workers.
The pool area was filthy and I didnt go in the water because of the 100s of dead bugs just floating around. Apparently no one cleans the pool nor the towels which were almost all stained or maybe just dirty.
The pool could use some supervision in addition to a good cleaning. There were tons of little kids running wild and causing chaos. After complaining to their mothers numerous times i had to just get up and go. A nice California tan is not worth the price of ruining my cell phone or ipad due to kids splashing around and diving into the pool.
After calling the front desk and speaking to a total imbecile I saw what kind of service the Current provides... horrible service. She told me they are not responsible for the amount of kids in the pool (understandable) and not responsible if my phone or ipad got ruined due to no one supervising the area (not cool IMO).
Thats very poor service to me and she should have at least apologized or offered to send someone out to control the animals.
As much as she said they will not pay for a water logged call phone, trust me they will be getting the bill if it starts acting up tonight.

Never again will I stay in this sh1thole !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcurrent, General Manager at Hotel Current, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We are sorry we did not meet your expectations when visiting Hotel CURRENT. I did want to let you know that your concerns have been heard and we have done some additional training with our staff about pool protocols.

The dates you were here did have a lot of families and we will work harder to anticipate better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at Hotel Current while attending a conference at CSULB and the location was perfect. Based on the reviews and advice from others on Trip Advisor, I requested one of the upgraded/renovated rooms and was so glad that I did. My room was newly renovated and was VERY comfortable and clean. Not all rooms/areas are equal in this hotel. The lobby and pool area are very nice but some parts of the hotel seem a bit run down and the concrete in the halls leading to the rooms are filthy and sticky in some areas. They really should power wash or at least rinse off the walkways. The breakfast was okay if you have kids....lots of carbs. Waffles, cerel, etc. The hotel is a very good value. For the price you get an excellent location, a comfortable room (if upgraded), and a decent breakfast. It's perfect when traveling solo for business or for a family on a budget. I wouldn't recommend to couples looking for a romantic weekend.

Room Tip: Choose a renovated room that is upstairs for less noise. There were lots of families with young chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Current? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Current

Address: 5325 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90804
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Current 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 99 Lifestyle guestrooms featuring hand painted artwork from local artists, Hotel CURRENT has renovated its outdoor heated pool area, meeting spaces, lobby, guestrooms, and landscape. Guestrooms are provided with in-room coffee makers, refrigerators, free wi-fi, work-desk area with data ports, and hotel services of daily complimentary continental breakfast and newspaper; giving all the conveniences of home for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Current reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Current, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.