We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel
6285 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90803   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Tainan, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Hotel rate are equal to the service. Food are good. Service also nice.Only the location are little bit far from the beach if you don't have a car. But it nice place to stay and release for a vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    92
    51
    22
    18
See reviews for
78
68
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Bluff, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel has a big beautiful pool and grounds, the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was excellent in a restaurant setting on the marina. This is a very well kept hotel and my boys had fun chasing the little bunny who lives under the big beautiful Gazibo..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This year Catalina Express has a free "Birthday Pass" on your actual birthday. The morning drive down to Long Beach from Santa Barbara would be stressful, so we drove down the night before and stayed at the Best Western Golden Sails Hotel. As I swimmer I look for good places with good pools.. The pool here is incredible, staff fabulous, and hearty breakfast with wonder staff service wonderful! Go!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here because of the positive reviews, but was a bit disappointed, which I shouldn't have been considering the reasonable price. A decent value for a budget traveler (I've heard that in the other reviews). I usually stay in slightly more upscale hotels, but I'm not a snob. This place was clean enough and the old hotel has been renovated. But, styling is very retro and not good retro. Carpets were new in the rooms and fresh paint everywhere. In fact, the renovation seems mostly just a paint job. Kind of crusty bathrooms (which I use as a gauge for quality) and old windows. Had that old motel feel and smell. But, really, it was clean. View out our window was of the courtyard, which was nice. But, old style. The hotel is on the busy PCH, so don't expect a quiet harbor marina experience. Desk staff were very friendly, but a bit too crude. I'm not really fond of being called "boss", which usually reminds me of someone trying to take me for something. Overall, just a decent place and nothing more.

Room Tip: Probably best to get in the "tower" attached to the lobby. The other section seemed like i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel needs to be updated -- the outside, pool, lobby and landscaping are fine, but the interior rooms are dated. Ice machines, hot and cold water in rooms, and air conditioning do not work properly. We stayed here because of the close proximity to the cruise port, which was 20 minutes away, regardless of the 7 miles distance. Breakfast was mediocre and we were charged for a few people in our group because the reservation was made through a travel agency and their system doesn't work well with BW's system and lost a few of the reserved people. Rooms are drab, beds are old, carpet is old, but rooms are a good size.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is great for a budget traveler. Family friendly. You get what you pay for and its true. I say that with respect. It was clean. Decor was old and outdated but still reasonable. Good customer service. Location was okay. There is a PCH restraunt located next to the hotel. Dinner was good but breakfast was just ok. There is an outdoor pool located in the courtyard. The pool area and courtyard are very nice for families. There are sliding glass doors to the courtyard that were nice for families to socialize easily at the pool area and easy access to the room. Not all the rooms were located around the courtyard. Some rooms were located upstairs in the the main hotel area near the lobby. The rooms near the courtyard are set up like a motel with direct access to outside. The front door having access to the parking lot and the back sliding glass door having access to the pool courtyard. There was no centeral air conditioning in my room in the courtyard it was a wall unit. As for amentities the shampoo and bar soap were not of quality. There was no hair conditioner only shampoo. As for a business traveler the accomodation was ok. There was complimentary wifi but the broadband was limited making it hard for me to connect the my vpn. I did not like the location of the gym as it was open for everyone to watch in the lobby area. I would have prefered a more private gym. The business center was very small and only had 1 computer and it was occupied. If your looking for a more luxury accomidation this is not your spot if you looking for budget this is your spot but I believe there are other places with nicer accomidations more amenities around the same price. The best benefit for this hotel is for family accomidation.

Thank you,
SampsonTravel.com

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmel valley, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you want to sleep after 10 pm this is not the place. Parties going on Fri and Sat nights in buildings owned by hotel adjacent to hotelDeadbolt on our door did not work. Could not get anyone to help us with our bags upon check out.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel

Address: 6285 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Best Western
Best Western Golden Sails
Best Western Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.