We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel ever! Location, service and quality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6285 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90803   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best hotel ever! Location, service and quality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

My husband and I just got married in Eisenhower Park in Long Beach. We are from Kansas City and had family and friends fly in. We only had 30 people, but they were extremely accomodating. We reserved rooms a year in advance as we knew our wedding was April 16, the same weekend as the Long Beach Grand Prix and we knew the hotel was going to sell out. They were very good about keeping everything in order. Check in and check out was so easy.
i have to rave about the location - wow! This is on PCH which is a main street , but there was practically no traffic so it was quiet and easy to get in and out of the hotel. Schooner and Later and the Crab Pot are two of my faves to eat and they were both less than 2 miles away from the hotel. Not to mention Eisenhower park in Seal Beach was 5 minutes from the hotel. it was really perfect. Location was so important to us as so many people were coming in from out of town. Also this hotel is even distance from SNA and LAX and 5 miles from the Long Beach airport.
Club PCH is the hotel bar and they had a Grand Prix party Saturday night with live music and a $10 cover. Next to Club PCH there was the room where they held the breakfast buffet and the room overlooked the ocean. For large hotel parties they gave out free buffet passes at the front desk. The food was not the best, but it's edible.
The GASLAMP GRILL shares the parking lot with the hotel. This place is FUN! The drinks were a little pricey, but we had a lot of fun. They had live music and dancing and a huge patio to sit outside. Not to mention walking distance from the hotel. This bar changes hands ever 6 months to a year and each time it changes completely - last year it was a biker bar and this year it was a fun bar with dancing and karaoke!
Overall we could not of picked a better hotel for our event. I recommend it very highly. Each one of our rooms had a balcony with chairs so u could sit outside -- pretty cool. Price was good too - just $100 a night! The rooms had small refrigerators and were very clean and roomy. Additionally they had a very nice pool and a gazibo outside that looked very well kept and very clean. This would probably be a very good place for a small wedding. This hotel ROCKS!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    113
    68
    23
    19
See reviews for
97
81
30
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

This was our third time staying at this hotel the outside paint job is new more inviting, instead of battleship gray. The service was great I was able to get a king no smoking when all they has was a king smoking. I also had breakfast buffet, sack lunch, dinner and 2 drinks per day included in the price for 2. The bed was comfortable we were able to sleep no back pain. The grounds were clean, inside the room was a frige we usually have a microwave I guess it was broken. There is a bar and a main dinning room(clean) pool, hot tub. If you like to eat out, In and out burger on the corner, Ralphs and whole foods, CPK , Joe's crab shack, AMC movie across the street. Hot spots 15mins away in downtown Long Beach. I will return again this is our favorite hotel and we have stayed at a lot, we like to travel. The room was spacious this was our first room in the main building, We usually have a room with a hot tub.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Room was clean and quiet. Pool and hot tub were great.
Special mention to the friendly and helpful front desk staff.
Alicia, Brenda,Erika,Carolina and Leo.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

We stayed there for a regatta in long beach and thought it was a very clean hotel with a great staff. We normally don't stay in anything less than 4 * but wanted to try this because of location. Rooms were cleaner than some of the more expensive resorts we have stayed. Breakfast was a full cooked breakfast for free! Staff helpful and kind for the entirety of our stay ! Will definitely stay again when we come for our daughters' regattas

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

The Best Western Golden Sails is a good value for the money. They are currently undergoing a renovation to fix a little wear and tear, but overall the room was comfortable. The service was great, the restaurant food was a good value, and the bar provided a comfortable area to talk with friends after work. The swimming pool and the grounds were well kept. What makes the difference is that the folks here made sure that your stay was the best they could provide. They treated us like family. They provided a welcoming party with drinks and appetizers. They gave us sack lunches etc. When I checked out, I had left an expensive item in my room which had been found by housekeeping later that day. The hotel staff worked with the folks from UPS and returned the item to me in Tucson in just a couple of days. This kind of service is rare these days. This type of service makes the Golden Sails a good value. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and have found it to be one of the most comfortable and welcoming establishments. After working or vacationing its easy to come back to the hotel and relax either in the room or in one of the facilities (restaurant or bar) and rest. I have recommend this hotel to many colleagues and have met colleagues at the hotel that have also found it to be hospitable. The room are always accomodating and clean.
This hotels service is all due to its very polite very friendly and extremely accomodating staff. I've never been more pleased with the staff of a hotel. If there is ever any need to move rooms, request a replacement toothbrush or have a wake up call, even down to requesting a microwave, the staff will help out. You will be greated with respect and appreciattion by the front desk staff who are friendly and inviting. If you're in town and have the opportunity to stay at the Golden Sails don't pass up the opportunity.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beni Suef, egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

I'm giving this a 4 only because the rooms and food weren't much to write home about but what really stands out with this Best Western is the service. It's really what you would expect from a high-end boutique hotel. They are extremely friendly, helpful, and you get the feeling the staff are like a family. The hotel building and grounds feels like a relic from the 1960s but it's so well-kept that it's really quite lovely...it's obvious that the staff takes pride in keeping the place up. I really highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel

Address: 6285 East Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Best Western
Best Western Golden Sails
Best Western Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.