We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good best western; value varies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   517 E 1st St, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #7 of 58 hotels in Long Beach
New England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good best western; value varies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is everything you'd hope to have at a best western, clean and well maintained and good, friendly service, if not always professional. The internet works most of the time and is free. The breakfast isn't great, but it's free too. The location is a bit of a walk to the convention center--the main entrance for meetings is around by the Hyatt--but that gave me some needed exercise. The immediate neighborhood is really nice--interesting local shops and food, making me wish I'd had more time to sample them.

My only caution is that the rates range from under $100 to over $300, depending on demand. At near $100, it's a great deal; but if the price is much higher, you might be able to get something nicer or closer to the convention center for a similar price, particularly if your meeting has a negotiated price with one of big hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    80
    23
    7
    15
See reviews for
55
72
24
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topanga, California, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I prepaid for this romantica stay online. When my girlfriend and I drove all the way down there, Joanna and co-worker insisted I didn't pay & refused my check-in. I want my money back AND compensation

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_Santos, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi Michael,

I’m very sorry to hear that you were unable to check in during your romantic getaway reservation, it would have been our pleasure to have you stay with us. I have reviewed your reservation and confirmed with Best Western that your reservation was not charged to your credit card prior to arrival, upon check in we do require for guests to establish a line of credit for the room payment and incidentals with a valid credit card. I can assure you sir that you have no charges from our hotel, if for any reason you were to find any charges to your account from us, please forward this information to us so that we may assist you in resolving any financial discrepancies. We appreciate your feedback and we hope that we may have the chance to have you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed for a convention end of January and was pleasantly surprised. Husband disappointed though 'cause he thought it had a water view, closer to convention center and "balcony" overlooks courtyard between hotel and apts. next door. Breakfast nicer than average with eggs, waffles, etc. and beats the usual fare of donuts, boxed juice and coffee. Room was clean. Bummer we had to pay for parking. Husband had bad back and I had bad knee so walk to convention center was a little too much for me -- it's not as close as the hotel description leads it to be especially if you're tired/injured/not feeling well after working a trade show -- he had to go get the car and pick me up on return trip 1st day. Enjoyed the sun though!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I reserved a room at this hotel on Hotwire and was pleasantly surprised! The grounds around the hotel were exceptionally clean. In fact, they were cleaning the floor of the parking garage when we checked out the next morning. The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating! Although this hotel was rated a 3 star property, It was as nice as some 4 star properties I have stayed at. The room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Although our stay here was just a stopover on our way to San Diego after a late flight into Los Angeles, the location of the hotel seemed to be ideal for visiting Long Beach. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Long Beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center

Address: 517 E 1st St, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Los Angeles and Orange County Airport, The Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center is renowned for both convenience and its beautiful location. In the heart of the East Village, Long Beach’s art community this Best Western Plus hotel is less than a third of a mile from the beach, as well as walking distance to the Long Beach Convention Center and a few minutes to both the Aquarium of the Pacific and Long Beach’s Carnival Cruise Port. Our location and amenities make our hotel the perfect place to stay for your next visit to Long Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hotel At The Long Beach
Best Western Long Beach
Long Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.