We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is my favorite affordable local motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Motel

Colonial Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Colonial Motel to your Saves list
Colonial Motel
1.0 of 5 Motel   |   802 E Pacific Coast Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90806   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This is my favorite affordable local motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011 via mobile

I love coming here. The family that runs it are cool. The rooms are pretty clean. Every room has a variety of mirrors. The air conditioner works great and they allow pets. They also have a big swimming pool and jaccuzzie thats hidden, not to many people know that. I come here two to four times a month

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    1
    2
    17
See reviews for
5
2
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

I was in Long Beach for the Scottish Rites music festival and thought this place looked nice with the heart shaped spa. I arrived when it was just getting dark and I was tired from driving all day from the Bay Area. I could see when i arrived it wasn't a place I should stay alone.
I had already booked my reservation so i have it a try. The people who live there were intimidating-Someone banged on my door after I was done unpacking. The people who live there are up at all hours...The heater was broken. There was hot water though too take a shower after a long day of travels. There was a incense smell in the bathroom. When I was up studying early in the morning reading a play for my acting class I was in I could hear a couple which was bad...
In the morning I heard a lady screaming having a fight with someone...
The pool was not open all year and was dirty after the storms...
The Female owner was nice but the Male owner was rude...
They have nice snacks in the lobby in the morning...
he place needs to move to a better location...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

This place is a dump - their main source of review is from homeless shelters. Ladies of the night line the front at night, the rooms are dirty and have bugs, they never clean your room. They have a no refund policy.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

please do your self a favor stay somewher else cheaper is not always better, semen stains on the bedding need I say more management horrible.
Michael- Oakland

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

I stayed here for 3 days, 2 nights on a quick visit to Long Beach. I went to Cal State and wanted to go visit friends for a weekend trip and when I booked I didn't really pay too much attention to the location. When my friend picked me up and we started driving there I quickly realized I had made a mistake by not checking the address! It is in a bad part of Long Beach, by Poly High School. When checking in the "couple" in front of me were only paying for an hour, that was my 2nd sign that I did not look into this hotel too much before booking! The room was small, cigarettes burns on the comforter, no toiletries, half a role of toilet paper (the toilet also ran every couple minutes), stained towels (all mixed matched!), fridge wasn't cold and no trash can! I would not sleep on the sheets so I asked a friend to bring me some from his house, who knows when the were last washed :( I tried to only sleep and get ready there, as little time as possible was best!

The icing on the cake of this hotel was being woken up at 5:55am to a woman yelling at the front desk worker (yes I could hear it all the way on the 2nd floor!) to tell her where her cheating husband was! WOW!!

  • Liked — Nothing!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Disliked — Everything!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

I Booked this hotel from Hotels.com. The name and features sound good and the web pictures are nice but in reality this is a hotel with rundown rooms in a medeocre part of town. I stayed 2007 Labor day weekend and had cancellation cost so unfortunately I stayed 2 days:

Here are some specific issues I encountered:
1) Room not made up (was out the whole day and came back to room at 10PM & room was not made up)
2) Severe Black Ant infestation
3) Broken Lamp Bulb (fluorescent bulb so toxic mercury vapor prossibly still in room)
4) Several broken fixtures and non functional wall plugs
5) Sections of bathroom floor visibly not cleaned in very long time

Talked to hotel manager upon checkout said he would fix everything but when I asked to be compensated primarily for issue 1) he gave me the following answers to my complaints:

Item 1) "You did not put the 'Make up room sign'"
Item 2) Bug spray is available at the lobby
Item 3) & 4) An electrician was available 24 hours a day

My advise is stay clear of booking rooms on the net at hotels that are not part of a hotel chain . You have few avenues of recourse when things go wrong.

  • Liked — Spartan but OK breakfast
  • Disliked — Dirty Room, Broken fixtures
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quillabamba2
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2007

First time in Long Beach, this Motel is located at an area that after 5 pm, is hard to walk with out encountering people drinking and just not safe.
The place needs a total renovation.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Motel

Address: 802 E Pacific Coast Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90806
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Colonial Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Motel Long Beach
Colonial Hotel Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.