We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chateau Briand, when it's good it's very, very good; and it was!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Winston's

Sir Winston's
1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802
(562) 435-3511
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sir Winston's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 996 Restaurants in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Long Beach Passport, Route C.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Chateau Briand, when it's good it's very, very good; and it was!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We dined at Sir Winstons after spending the day visiting the Queen Mary. It turned out to be an excellent choice, in truth better than I was expecting.
The atmosphere was comfortable and relaxed, the service was outstanding, the ambiance perfect.
A friend and I shared a Chateau Briand and my wife had duck, both of them were outstanding. Prepared and cooked to perfection. Our meals were preceded by refreshing sorbets and followed by chocolate coated strawberries.
When cooked properly a chateau is a woderful dining experience and something to be savoured. I loved the service, not intrusive but water, bread, drinks and whatever else we needed arrived when we needed; them with no fuss or need to ask for them. The staff just knew when to be attentive and when to leave us alone.
As I said, a wonderful dining experience!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at Sir Winston's, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Grumley3 -

Thanks for your feedback and for the five stars. We are THRILLED you had a wonderful visit to Sir Winston's and to the ship itself. This is the Queen Mary experience - a day of touring and learning her wonderful history then an evening of five-star dining at Sir Winston's.

We are so glad you had a wonderful visit to the Queen Mary!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    45
    18
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Extravagant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very good and very expensive! I can highly recommend the duck and the scallops! Service was excellent and the decor and views were beautiful. We had 4 people in our party and everyone was very happy with their dinners and the whole dining experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at Sir Winston's, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Debra H -

Thanks for the feedback and we are so thrilled you had a wonderful experience at Sir Winston's!

We CANNOT wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Steak overcooked..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

View is nice on Queen Mary. Service is slow. Overcooked my beef wellington. Lobster bisque ok. Lobster is good. Chateaubriand was over done. I had better grand Marnier souffle somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at Sir Winston's, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
WineConn -

Thanks for the feedback. Apologies on the slight over cook. Sounds like you had an amazing time and we cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My reservation was at 8:30 p.m. on Christmas Eve. I decided to propose to my girlfriend on the Queen Mary and then have dinner at Sir Winston's for our celebratory dinner. Everything was going right until we walked into Sir Winston's.
Our reservation was delayed by 40 minutes. The hostess seemed indifferent to the wait and did not provide an explanation as to why our reservation was being delayed for that long. When we checked back with her after waiting for 30 minutes she said that she apologized but that there had been a large party and the tables were now being broken down.
10 minutes later she escorted us to our table. There were people all around us and some had just gotten served while other were well into their meal. She lied...there was not large party.
We waited for another 10 minutes after we were sat and no one came to greet us or offer us water or take our order. We decided to leave and were about to file a complain but the hostess was nowhere to be found.
Needless, to say it was extremely disappointed!!!
For a place that claims to offer and experience like no other and for such an above moderate priced menu the service needs to be worked on because currently a McDonald's practices better customer service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at Sir Winston's, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Ernesto -

Saw this review on Yelp as well...will respond the same way...how many websites do you plan on visiting? :)

First of all - congratulations on your engagement - and picking the ship of romance to pop the question...what an awesome idea. In regard to Sir Winston's - we do apologize for the inconvenience - as you can imagine - during the holidays all restaurants tend to get busy and booked solid! We advise our guests to head over to the cocktail lounge at Sir Winston's until their table is ready. We are disappointed we were unable to serve you the way you wanted on one of the biggest nights of your life. We definitely would have made it special....

We hope to see you aboard the ship again very soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was a very expensive meal for a so so dinner. Dinner was o.k. (steak) We had to ask for extra bread and butter and for water refills. Dress code was NOT adhered to, it felt that they really needed the money to allow anyone to dine.
Dessert was good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at Sir Winston's, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Jacqueline H -

We don't have a dress code - per say - we do encourage our guests to avoid T-shirts and Tank Tops and what not, and for the most part - our guests follow that. We are an upscale restaurant with five-star quality food, a beautiful view and wonderful location and a great ambiance that just screams first class!

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sir Winston's also viewed

 

Been to Sir Winston's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Winston's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.