We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Winston's

Sir Winston's
1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802
(562) 435-3511
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sir Winston's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 986 Restaurants in Long Beach
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Long Beach Passport, Route C.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate here while staying on board the Queen Mary. It is truly a fine dining establishment, so more expensive, but very worth it. The decor & ambience are casually elegant. The views of the harbor are great. Our waitstaff was attentive and efficient. The wine list was good. The food was delicious. Definitely a place to go for a romantic evening or special occasion!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at Sir Winston's, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
mommyinmotion -

Thanks so much for the feedback and so glad you had such an awesome experience. We hope you think of us next time you are visiting Southern California.

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    41
    16
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a very fine meal at this classy restaurant. From the moment we arrived to our night cap in the piano bar we were made to feel very special by all the staff. One of our friends was celebrating her birthday and she received a special cake to mark the occasion. The quality of the food and wine was first class. The setting is wonderful and we had a table with great views across to Longbeach. A great place for a special occasion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at Sir Winston's, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Johnltpne -

Excellent we are thrilled you had such a wonderful experience at Sir Winston's!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“sir winston, i presume. QM1 long beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

manager rocks. food is great. service is very good. atmosphere is serene. dessert, devine. never a bad meal at Winston's. sorry, doesn't appear to have wheelchair access. that is the only bad thing. i may be wrong about this, in which case i will submit a correction, but i don't think so...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at Sir Winston's, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Trixie D -

Thank you so much for the feedback. We do agree with you 100 percent on your assessment. And unfortunately, you are correct - due to the historic nature of the ship, there is no wheelchair access to Sir Winston's...

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“1st Class Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Let me begin by stating that they serve one of the most tender pieces of meat I have every had. My husband and I shared their Chateaubriand for Two. No steak knife was offered, because you can cut this meat with a butter knife. The service, the food, the drinks, the atmosphere is First Class all the way. You have to be able to walk upstairs as this is on the Queen Mary and the restaurant can not be reached by elevator. I would not bring children. Definitely a place for a special meal. Be prepared to spend some money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at Sir Winston's, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Diana Q -

We are so glad you loved Sir Winston's. Sounds like you had an amazing meal. First class all the way!

We cannot wait to play host to you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farr West, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ghost hunting dinner and tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a blast on the ghost hunting tour and the pre tour dinner was fabulous. The price was quite high though.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at Sir Winston's, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Vicki-

We are so thrilled you enjoyed dining with the spirits, one of our most popular attractions, filled with delicious bites and scary frights! Did you see anything? We love a good ghost story!

We cannot wait to see you aboard the ship again soon!

-the Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sir Winston's also viewed

 

Been to Sir Winston's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Winston's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.