We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queen Mary Fossil” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Winston's

Sir Winston's
1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802
(562) 435-3511
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sir Winston's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 891 Restaurants in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Long Beach Passport, Route C.
Anaheim Hills
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Queen Mary Fossil”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I took my wife to Sir Winstons for her birthday. I used to bring customers to Sir Winstons back in the 1980-1990's. The view still impresses me, and the food was excellent, just as I remember.
The only hiccup is that the dinning room seems very worn out. I am sure the decore is maintained from the days when the QM was an ocean bound vessel.......I like that idea, but it used seemed worn out. The curtains had cobwebs, and the windows were dirty, obsecuring the view.

Still it was a fun evening, my wife enjoyed the evening....so what can be better?
AH Ducati

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    47
    18
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hunter Valley, NSW
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Superb Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had the pleasure of dining at Sir Winston's recently while staying onboard the Queen Mary for a couple of nights. This restaurant deserves its reputation as one of the best - everything was superb from the food to the service to the atmosphere. We will most definitely return on our next visit to Long Beach!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Always a great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I have been to Sir Winston's three or four times and we have always enjoyed the experience. We recently re-visited Sir Winston's and we were not disappointed. The Beef Wellington was very well done and we highly recommend you pre-order a souffle when you are seated.
The atmosphere is nice and quiet allowing for a pleasant dining experience. We try to avoid loud restaurants as we actually like to have conversation over dinner.
The cost is pricey but its really worth the cost once in a while to treat yourself to a great dinner with a great view of Long Beach.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Wyoming
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good but pricey, great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great food served well. Classic atmosphere, nice and well run. Good wine list. Don't come if you are on a budget Pricey! $100+/person (w/wine)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A Special Occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was a treat to be able to enjoy the quiet elegance of this restaurant. Our server, Russ, was excellent and the dining experience was well paced. I felt as if we were in another era.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sir Winston's also viewed

 

Been to Sir Winston's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Winston's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.