We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so so nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Winston's

Sir Winston's
1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802
(562) 435-3511
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 951 restaurants in Long Beach
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Long Beach Passport, Route C.
Tollhouse, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“so so nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

would definitly recommend this restaurant. We went for our anniversary and felt like we were royalty. The waiter was remarkable. The food was oh so good. We were treated so well. We got dressed up and I felt like a princess. The price was pricey but we didn't mind. The decor was oh my gosh, out of this world. What a wonderful experience. Love love loved it.!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    70
    24
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Wow! Where do I begin! Yes, it's expensive but it is so worth the price. I have several food allergies and they are always a problem when we go out ... I have never, ever, had such helpful service! They told me to pick out something I would like and they would remake it so that I could actually eat it! I have never had such a wide door opened for me! I chose the sea scallops and wanted to spend the rest of my life eating it! It was that good! We had an amazing waiter and my compliments to the chef! Would definitely go again! Thanks for making our stay at the Queen Mary so special!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A special evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great service and food, worth the price for a special evening. Even though you're not in the actual original space, it feels historic. Lovely views if you get a window table.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“excellent food in lovely surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I loved the food and the standard of service.

I did not like having to climb a flight of stairs as I am disabled and was not advised about the stairs when I booked the restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inland empire, ca
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Old Style Fine Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is the signature restaurant on the Queen Mary in Long Beach, CA. Our party of four had reservations for 7 pm., but we finished our tours by 5:30 and walked in to see if they could accomodate us. The manager was extremely pleasant and had us shown to a window table overlooking the fantail and Long Beach harbor.
The restaurant is beautiful. While it was not a restaurant when the ship was in service, it is in keeping with the grand style of cruising from the 30's: deep pile carpeting, lots of wood and tables spaced to allow for lots of movement.
Service was top notch. Our waiters Drew & Ben were friendly and on the spot without being intrusive. Water glasses were kept filled and plates were cleared promptly. Drinks were served as ordered and were not overly expensive, given the location. The wine list is adequate, but not huge.
Food was very good, but not perfect. French Onion soup was superb, as was the caesar salad, complete with anchovies. The ladies shared a chateaubriand, which was done medium rare as ordered and tender enough to cut with a fork. However, the men's steaks were slightly overcooked. Still tender, but mine was medium instead of medium rare and the other was medium rare+ instead of rare+. The servings were generous and included vegetables and mashed potatoes.
Desserts were very good, and because it was a birthday, Drew brought out an extra dessert as
well as chocolate covered strawberries.
As we left at 7:30, we peeked into the bar. It was deserted, only a lonely piano player and the bartender. However, this was true dining, a 2-hr. meal that never felt rushed or boring. And we were entertained as we overlooked an evening outdoor wedding out our window.
Will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sir Winston's also viewed

 

Been to Sir Winston's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Winston's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.