We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Leabonese” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Open Sesame

Open Sesame
5215 E 2nd St, Long Beach, CA 90803-5316
+1 562-621-1698
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 963 restaurants in Long Beach
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Leabonese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

First there are two locations - open on the corner and one mid-block. We went for lunch and sat outside watching the activity along 2nd Street. Everything is fresh and wonderful. The wait staff is friendly and efficient. But it is the food that is so wonderful - all your favourite mediterranean dishes are here for an excellent price. It can be busy at lunch with limited seating, but if your timing is right this is a great Long Beach location. Just blocks from the beach and in the center of Long Beach's 2nd Street.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    108
    60
    22
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favorite Mediterranean spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Try the potatoes on the app list as well as our guarantee dish of chicken tawook . Wait staff knows how to treat customers well!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“So popular they opened a 2nd one just a few stores down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Yes there are two just a few feet apart - that's how good it is! Food is simple but delicious. Always busy so be prepared to wait.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Lamb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Their lamp chop entre is outstanding. The lamb is incredibly tender and flavorful. My mouth is watering just thinking about them. My husband likes their Chicken Shawarma.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lamb chops!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I recently had dinner at Open Sesame with two co-workers, one from Lebanano. The food was freshly prepared and very good! We started with a vegetarian sampler as appetizers. It comes with hummus, baba ghannouj, tabouleh and a couple of falafel patties. We all agreed that the baba ghannouj was the best but none of the choices were disappointing. I had the Sultan's Platter for the main course. The lamb chops were outstanding and the filet mignon was also very good. I'm not a big fan of shrimp in general, but these were also very tasty. I think it was just too much of a good thing after the appetizers!
We will definitely be back on our next trip to Long Beach.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open Sesame also viewed

 

Been to Open Sesame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Open Sesame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.