We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Cruisers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect for Cruisers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This boutique type hotel was very nice. We stayed here one night before our Carnival cruise and got a discounted rate for the Park and Cruise Package. The hotel is nicely decorated and clean and had a very nice water view from the room. The only complaint I would have is that there were 3 different weddings going on at the same time so some of the outdoor amenities were not available. Other than that this was a very nice stay. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thanks for the perfect comments! We are glad you enjoyed it. We do host many weddings at the property especially during the summer but we try to make sure we minimalize disruption to guest amenities. Hope to see you back here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    334
    128
    72
    36
See reviews for
239
308
41
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Staff Members at the Maya Hotel Long Beach were very nice and helpful!!! Anything we needed, they were there to help! Perfect location for our trip to Catalina Island !!! I would highly recommend this Hotel to everyone!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thanks for the great comments and hope you enjoyed your trip to Catalina as well. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The staff was very friendly and professional. The grounds and room is very well maintained. I love that they are a pet friendly hotel! We had a very relaxing little get-a-way and would enjoy going back some day! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
So glad you loved it and were able to relax on your weekend getaway. Getaway again soon with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel has a nice pool and a nice restaurant but the images on the website provide an aura of 'resort' that the hotel does not stand up to. Some if the newly remodeled rooms are very nice, but you can get an old king ocean view with old carpet if you dont pay attention!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for the feedback and your perspective as it is always good to compare different opinions. thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I spent 13 nights in this hotel from the end of May this year in association with a group study tour from Australia and attending a conference and loved it!!!!

At first I thought the location and somewhat dated appearance of the place was going to be a problem but it was not. The room I had was quite large, very clean and well looked after with a great view over the river to Long Beach.

The hotel had more of a leisurely resort feel rather than your normal high rise hotel which was much more comfortable and relaxing. It was always well maintained and looked after. The staff were also very friendly and always willing to provide assistance when requested. The food and refreshment service was great.

Location wise, being on the other side of the river to the main part of Long Beach did not turn out to be an issue. There was a very frequent, free bus service located nearby and a good boat servicer on weekends. Also, it was a nice walk back to the hotel from town at night which was probably a good thing after a big dinner!!!

Overall a very pleasant and enjoyable stay and I would recommend the establishment.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for so long and we are so glad you enjoyed it. We are a home away from home for many of our business travelers and we truly try to make everyone comfortable and relaxed. Thanks again for the great comments and come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

You asked, so here it is. This hotel is in need of a makeover--facility and personnel. The room carpets and furnishing were dirty--not from not being cleaned, but from age and use over many years. Popcorn ceilings, stained wallpaper, 1960's cooling/heating unit, marred walls and trim, all give the overall impression that this hotel was nice 10 years ago. Aside from the woman who checked me in, who was a ray of sun in this cloud, the employees were robotic and detached. I wanted a cup of coffee in the morning on my way out the door to a meeting. Most hotels, from Hampton to Hilton and Fairfield to Marriott, have an urn of coffee in the lobby for early risers. No such guest focus at the Maya. I asked the front desk clerk if there was any coffee, and he looked at me like I was an idiot, and told me, "In the restaurant, but it doesn't open until six." Thanks. When I did eat breakfast the next morning, the wait staff was again detached. I was not greeted, but a waiter waived his hand in the direction of some tables. The only words spoken to me in the entire time I was in the restaurant were, "Coffee?" It was a nice morning, and another guest wanted to sit outside, but was told that area was closed because it wasn't set up yet--this was about 6:30. She sat at her table for a moment, then decided she wasn't going to let some jerk ruin her morning and took her breakfast outside and enjoyed the view. Good for her. I wouldn't come back to the Maya if you paid me.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your honest review of our property. New perspectives and insight about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. We understand your concern about the lack of coffee in the lobby and please feel free to share any additional comments or suggestions with us any time. I will follow up with the Fuego staff and review cameras to see exactly who you interacted with so that we may use this information for training and to improve our service. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

In all my travels I don't recall a hotel like this where absolutely every one of the staff had a giant smile on their face and an amazing attitude to match. I had not planned on being at the Long Beach property for the 4th of July but due to the weather on the East Coast decided the day before to drive down to Long Beach. Booked the hotel with the Hilton Phone App, picked up a rental car and was on my way. The location was brilliant, 10 minute walk to the Queen Mary, fantastic water front location, Aqua Bus at the door, absolutely perfect for a few days get away. It was however the staff that made this brief stay so memorable, July 4th, very busy yet everyone was cheerful, friendly and helpful. The atmosphere in the hotel was like a tropical resort, waterfront alfresco dining area and a sandy area complete with fire pits for when the evenings cooled off. Rooms were quiet, well maintained, perhaps a little dated. I highly recommend this hotel, just settle in on your balcony overlooking the harbour, enjoy the delicious room service and relax.

Room Tip: Water front Tower 4 are furthest fro reception and closest to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for the review and for making us have a big smile too. We are here to make our guests happy and to hear we succeeded makes our day especially over the busiest weekend of the year for us. We are glad you decided to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.