We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #11 of 58 hotels in Long Beach
Garden Grove, United States
2 reviews
“We loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This Hotel is an amazing! You almost feel like you are on an Island someone where. We had an Ocean view room with a beach area to lounge at just a few feet away. Our friends really enjoyed the visit. Very Romantic setting as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
and we love you too!!!! So glad you loved your stay with us. As you live not too far away, we hope you come back and visit us again soon! We make the perfect staycation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    250
    106
    51
    29
See reviews for
183
235
34
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stay here October 5th night before our cruise. All girl vacation started off perfect thanks to Hector the pool bartender. He was friendly, fun, and a great drink maker. Our room was clean and with a cool vibe. We had appetizers in the bar in the restaurant. Yummy yum and my kids wanted room service so we had bacon, fruit and the best vanilla ice cream I ever had (lol go figure). The only downside was I could hear construction or cranes next door. I am a light sleeper and it did stop around midnight. I would stay again in fact I will only stay here next time I cruise. And the fresh bake chocolate chip cookies were awesome. Thank you also to all the friendly staff

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Sounds like a fun girls trip...I will pass along the comments to Hector as well. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Came here with my family (3 sisters, dad, and grandparents). We booked two rooms balcony Water-view. The rooms were identical, the "water-view" was more of a view of the pool, but not bad nonetheless. We were also first floor which made for each access. The hotel is very beautifully kept, everything is impeccable. We observed two weddings during our 3 night stay, and for good reason, the grounds are very pretty and ideal for a wedding. We also dined at the restaurant for dinner one night, and while pricey, was very good. Overall this was a pleasant stay, certainly very good for the price point.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
So happy to hear you had a great family stay. We do tons of reunions, big and small as the hotel is perfect for socializing at the fire pits and couches throughout the property. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I really liked Hotel Maya! I visited for the night before my wedding and the early part of my honeymoon and we were given a room upgrade with ocean facing view. It really was beautiful! The décor of the hotel is very different to the standard Hilton fare and we found it extremely refreshing. Even the bathrooms have North African themed wallpaper rather than typical tiling etc. The grounds lend themselves for numerous photo opportunities and there are sea lions within touching distance.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room that faces the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for the great comments and we are happy you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My family & I stayed here for 1 night b/c it was the closest hotel to the port of LB where our cruise was departing from. The stay was absolutely lovely. The rooms were great with a spacious balcony facing the water. They have fire pits and lots of lounge space out doors for lounging. The restaurant & bar was absolutely great. The pool area have cabanas and it was just an awesome stay for us and our children. We all had a wonderful time & the next time we are in the Long Beach area we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for the Great comments. We are so glad your family had an awesome time at the pool and property. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

If not for the very loud and ineffective AC units, this would be 4 stars. Fine room, very clean, great view. Hotel was full but no noise from other guests. Pet friendly (although the "deposit" is non-refundable, so is a fee, not a deposit).

But the AC units are horrible. And it's no excuse (as the manager has stated elsewhere) that the problem is they are window units, as if that explains and excuses all. I've stayed in Motel 6's with better units. I've stayed in 300 year old Turkish hotels retrofiitted w/ window units that worked great and made minimal , and steady, noise.

The AC unit goes from a soft roar to a loud roar as the compressor cycles, which it does about every 10 minutes. When sitting on the deck you literally have to yell to be heard over it. If it would stay at one level we could have slept , but the constant change is jarring. But worse yet is it doesn't cool well. It was a very pleasant night, so we tried to just open the patio slider. Now we hear our neighbors units roaring off and on, and no way to move the cool air into the room so only the bed by the slider was comfortable. All the units on our end of the building (Bldg 1, level 4) were very loud, so certainly not a matter of ours being defective.

Toiletries were skimpy (1 small shampoo for 2 people). The room included buffet breakfast, so front desk should have handed us the required vouchers rather than making the waiter explain and us having to go back to the desk. Should be handed to us with the room keys. Breakfast was very good but I'm glad we didn't pay full price. Parking at $20 / day seems high, but could be ok for the area.

If this were a less expensive hotel I'd not complain, but for the price they need to invest in some good quality AC units. Because of the bad AC I would not recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Bldg 1, 4th level had great view of bridge and aquarium. Very quiet except for the old AC units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks for your feedback and agree that it is not an excuse. We would love to hear what brand of AC window units you have experienced that are quiet as we have tested many models and in general they are just louder than non window units. We plan to replace about 32 rooms with a differert system in the next few months to see if a ptac will work in our rooms. Thanks again and come check it out once they are installed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Overall I thought the hotel was great! The rooms facing the waterfront are the ones to stay in. I loved all the lounge chairs, sectional sofas, umbrellas, fire pits and tiki lights. The ambiance was great outdoors with all that and all the people traffic walking on the waterfront pathway. I think hotel should put more foliage so the "garden" view rooms have a nicer view. The only other problems I had was the air conditioner was very noisy and the pillows were too big and uncomfortable so I didn't get a very good night sleep. However, I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Very lively on weekends. Many people hanging out with cocktails around fire pits at night. And there is as restaurant named "The Reef" within walking distance that has wonderful food and great view of all the waterfront.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thanks for the great comments and good suggestions on the garden rooms. I will review with our landscapers. On your next stay, please let us know as we have several different pillow types available upon request. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.